We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and Oasis in the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location and Oasis in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I just recently stayed at this location while my husband was on a business trip to Monterey. I found the rooms to be clean and spacious. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the housekeeping staff more than accommodating. The property is older, but they have managed to keep up paint, cleanliness and gardens as if they were new.
Even though I was on business, I think this hotel would be good for families because of the large grounds and the location.
The property is not on the beach, but only a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive. Big Sur and Carmel are minutes away by car as is the 17 mile drive through Pebble Beach.
I did eat at the restaurant for breakfast and one dinner. They have an intercontinental breakfast for 15.00 which can't be beat. They offer a hot portion and menu items as well. Dinner was good also.

The pool facilities were nice enough...nothing fancy but will do the trick if you want to swim. They also offer a Jacuzzi. They did say a steam room was offered but when I asked to use it there was a hefty charge.
I would certainly go back

Room Tip: Choose a room with inside doors near the main check in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    1,089
    698
    300
    188
See reviews for
876
1,009
91
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hyatt Regency is a great place for those visiting the Monterey / Carmel area. It's a resort, but also a nice "hub" for those who want to explore the Peninsula.

The Good
- Lots of resort type amenities: golf course, spa, pools, fire pit with s'mores kits, giant chess board, table tennis, etc.
- Nice restaurant and lounge
- Great staff
- Great for families
- Convenient location - exit to highway 1 is 2 minutes from hotel

The Not So Good
- I can't think of one.
- Not "ultra luxe" compared to other offerings in Monterey, but definitely above average.
- Room service is just ok

Room Tip: For families, ask for a room in Building 5 by the pools. For the rest, ask for a room overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninja1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are searching you will know that while the Monterey peninsula is a major tourist destination, there are really not that many large "chain" properties in the area. Most of the accommodations in the area tend towards the "quaint B&Bs", "strip motels" or "high end boutiques".

This Hyatt is one of the exceptions and is a nice large Hyatt property not that far from the main attractions. Good typical Hyatt standards, sprawling grounds, easy access/parking and a general high level of service. Sometimes I prefer to stay with a large chain just because I know the service levels are predictable and also in the event of abnormalities (like late arrival), they will take care of you.

Rooms are large/generous. The hotel, while central, is set back from the road so not noisy at all. Grounds allow for peaceful stroll. Spa facilities are nice and worth a visit. There is a nice lobby area with mini wine tasting.

Get a room facing the golf course if possible. Nice view and peaceful and calming.

Room Tip: Room facing the golf course is a major plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SometimesFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for an overnight trip to Monterey. I will admit that we used a website that had a "secret" rate. That being said, when it's a secret you don't know the name/location of the hotel until booking. Well, I now know why we got a great deal.
The "hotel" grounds are nice and private, even though you're right off the highway. The bellman and valet were nowhere to be found upon arrival. Once we were greeted, we went inside. The lobby is nice, but not what I expected from a 4 star "hotel". And by now you're probably wondering why "hotel" is in quotes.......well, this isn't really a hotel. It's more of a motel, with several different buildings spread out along the property, as the rooms have entrances on the outside of the building (at least in the building we stayed at). I was glad we got a deal.
The rooms were nice, but loud. As we could here our neighbors breathing and not to mention the weed wacking/lawn mowing going on at 7AM on a Sunday morning. We even had a visit from the people downstairs asking us if we were moving furniture at 9PM, um no, that's the people next door, they were rearranging the patio chairs.
I'm sure if you go for a conference and your company is footing the bill this would be a great place. If you're here with your family for a weekend, not so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear NYer32,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback online. I’m pleased you liked the rooms, but am disheartened to hear that your welcome was not as it should have been. I have spoken with our Bell Staff to ensure there are no such future reoccurrences. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

All my best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a trip down the Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco to Los Angeles this was our second stop. The hotel us very nice, the rooms are huge and well equipped. The resort is very quiet so you can be assured of a peaceful nights sleep. There is a good selection of dining options, we opted for the sports bar, the food was good value and served quickly. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and there are plenty of nice communal areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My favorite saying used to be "my idea of roughing it is a holiday inn, because I prefer a Hyatt." Going to have to find a new hotel that signifies excellence. The devil is in the details for me. It was clean but warn. The white privacy drapes were yellowed and beat. My biggest complaint is the glass bathroom door. When my husband got up during the night...so did I...because the light from the bathroom lit up the room! Ok worst of all, you could hear everything the person in the bathroom was doing! Seriously the most ridiculous set up I've ever seen!!! Some designer is cookoo!!!! Close to town and the grounds are beautiful, if noisy from nearby freeway. I gotta believe there are better places for the money.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the golf course view. First room they gave us had a balcony overlooking the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annf5624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. At our arrival the staff at the reception seemed stressed and was not firendly at all. Our room was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and a really nice bathroom. We had dinner at the sports bar where great food is served. Later that night we had a glass of wine at the fireplace lounge which is located right next to the reception area. Except from the staff at the reception the personnel was really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing