We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We drove down from Napa for an overnight stay during our trip to California! The location of the hotel is in close proximity to downtown, about 6 blocks from the beach. The hotel has a lot of great amenities and the rates were reasonable! The hotel and room was very clean and the service was good. The bathrooms have been updated but the rooms need to be done as well at some point! Overall, a very spacious, clean and enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracystefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    1,198
    776
    324
    202
See reviews for
1,012
1,106
104
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is so beautiful and well-cared for. This is my second time, and I was thrilled once again at everything about it. Rooms very nice, refrigerator for us with coolers in our car, comfy bed, and a wonderful view from many rooms. The restaurant is great, as well as the bar, and fireside lounge. A cozy and friendly place to be. I had the treat of attending a cooking class given by the head chef there, and it was FABulous! The employees are all really nice and friendly and very accomodating. Can't say enough good stuff about this place!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room--only goes to third floor--overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
Green Features: They're so environmentally friendly that the waste containers also provide a place for recyclables. Perfect!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 809RobinjoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel, like really awesome. I really have nothing bad to say about this place and I would stay here again.

If I have to be critical of this hotel for in this review, I would say that I feel the parking situation could be improved. During my stay I believe there was a military related gathering and the parking was pretty bad.

However, the room was clean as can be, well organized and write large. The bed was comfy and the hotel has great curtains to keep the sun out if you are a late sleeper like my myself.

The staff was very sincere and helpful and the bar which is adjacent to the check in desk looked amazing although I didn't get a chance to sample a drink.

Absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olusegun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at they Hyatt Regency Monterey (first stay was in 2011). We enjoyed the hotel the first time and were excited to return. I am picky about what hotels we stay at and just do not understand some of the negative reviews the hotel has received (guess some people just like to complain).
We had a standard room with two double beds (facing the 'parking lot'). When we checked in I made sure to ask for a room either close to the pool or to the main building and was given two options. I chose the room closer to the main building (I believe Building 6). As others reported there are portable air conditioners in the room and a ceiling fan. Between both we were able to keep our room very cool. Plus it's Monterey, it does not get very hot so it was easy to keep our room to a comfortable temperature.
We traveled with our two young daughters and we all enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. Very relaxing. There were quite a few other families and children at the pool but not overcrowded. There is another pool at the other end of the property but we did not visit that pool.
We had dinner at Knuckles Sports Bar one night and it was very good. Our girls enjoyed the complimentary popcorn!
The hotel sells s'mores kits for the outdoor fire pit which we were going to purchase then we found out the hotel offers free s'mores on Friday nights (I believe for one hour). We just happened to luck out and walk by as that was happening.
We also enjoyed the outdoor ping pong tables and shuffle board (did not get a chance to play the oversized ground checkers).
Both nights of our stay we enjoyed the live band in the lobby bar. We had some drinks while our daughters enjoyed eating ice cream.
The hotel is not walking distance to anywhere we went, but everything is a short drive away (Cannery Row, Old Fisherman's Wharf, etc.). Carmel is a short drive away as well.
Once again we had a great stay and will return. ** I wish the hotel would do away with the $22 resort fee (because I do not feel like we benefit from anything they advertise that includes).

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed for two nights - Sat and Sun. We didn't use the conference facilities, don't play golf or eat here.
This is the fourth hotel we've stayed at in 10 days so comparisons are enviable.
We found - rooms smallest, no bath - just shower, pools very small given size of the hotel and layout too spread out for convenience.
Staff were OK not overly friendly or helpful. Little things let this hotel down. We had to ask for enough shampoo and soap and coffee. Also there's a large portable AC in the room which is VERY noisy. So you choose - little sleep as you're too hot or little sleep because it sounds like 747 is taking off next to the bed! Not a huge deal but ...
Maybe if I was a golf-ist or wanted to hear how my company was doing I'd have a different opinion but as a family paying for their room I expect more. A good base to see this wonderful town but we'll be trying somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trecynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in a king suite and had rollaways brought in for our children. It was a very nice room with lots of space. The only thing that we did not like was the standing in-room air conditioning unit. It was impossible to maintain a comfortable temperature. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view in buildings 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed four days for a conference. The hotel does not seem to be typical of the Hyatt Regency chain; more like a Renaissance Inn with some superficial upgrades. It is about a seven minute drive from the airport (a $13 taxi ride).
The rooms are located in several three-story wooden buildings spread out over the premises connected by passageways, with vehicle parking adjacent (like a motel). Many of the rooms face the parking areas or nearby road, although others face a golf course or pool area. The third floor room that I had overlooked a pool. The room itself was quiet and a nice size. The bed was a little too soft (and why do all hotels now have comforters rather than blankets?). The bathroom was fine with a combo shower/bathtub. The major problem that I had with the room was that it was, for some unknown reason, too hot even with the window open (the outside temperature during my stay never rose past 73 degrees). The room had a portable heating/air-conditioner which was a little noisy and a ceiling fan.
The lobby is small but there is an adjacent seating area with a fireplace that looks out to the golfcourse. The setting there and outside is very pleasant. The hotel has facilities that can handled large conventions or business convocations. It also has a decent sized workout room. There's a spa but I didn't try it.
Ate lunch once at the hotel restaurant and it was good and reasonably priced. There's also a sports themed bar/restaurant with free peanuts and freshly popped pop corn. The hotel also has what is called it's "Regency Club" which costs $25 more per room per day. If available, it entitles you to a room upgrade (maybe that's why my room didn't face a parking area) and access to the Regency room which had a limited breakfast in the morning, small snacks available at lunch, appetizers in the late afternoon and some desserts between 8:00 and 9:00 at night. Also there's free water, softdrinks, juices, fruit and yogart at any time. If there's two or more of you in a room and you are not interested in eating gourmet food all the time, you might look into it.
The hotel is not located on the beach or even near the town of Monterey. But it's an easy 1.2 mile walk to the ocean or a 3 mile walk to the Monterey Acquarium.
Some last points, the hotel staff were uniformily friendly and helpful. The hotel charged me a $10 a day "resort fee." You might inquire about that when you make your reservation. In the end, this hotel falls in between a three (average) and four (very good) rating. The facilities fall within the former but the service within the latter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel does have environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resipsaloquitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing