We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodside, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place has a real 70s vibe and it doesn't really feel like it has been updated much since.

We laughed when we found that the in-room "air conditioning" was a free standing unit like you can buy at Home Depot, which a pipe which goes through the wall to the outside.

Other furniture in the room was old and wearing out. The TV stand was battered and scratched, and the power sockets on top of the desk, while functional, lifted clean out of the desk when you tried to lift the lid, which didn't feel very safe.

Some of the light switches are installed upside-down, briefly confusing, and the control for the overhead fan goes from "1" to "5", but "1" is the fastest and "5" is the slowest. Baffling.

Surprisingly there appears to be no lock on the bathroom door.

On a positive note, the room was clean and the front desk service was fast and polite. Our room had a view of the golf course, which was pretty.

It was hard to find a parking spot in the evening, most were taken so we could't get one near the room. Valet parking is apparently free though we didn't try it.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the golf course have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    1,173
    756
    318
    196
See reviews for
962
1,083
101
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is absolutely wonderful, which more than enough makes up for the age of the complex. Give it a try, you will not be terribly disappointed. The location is far enough away to be somewhat quiet, but close enough to get to the beach for a little fun.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donnyleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hyatt Regency was known for great places to stay. Some improvements in the rooms and an awesome staff made up for this property that over the years had one got aged. The staff made the stay as they were very helpful and friendly. Got aquarium tickets for two days of use for one day price and did not have to wait in lines to get tickets. Grounds were clean and room had a nice bathroom. Air conditioning unit was noisy but appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleGuy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear SimpleGuy145,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. It will be a pleasure to relay your comments to our “very helpful and friendly” staff. I am glad we were able to assist you in making your trip to the aquarium a more convenient experience. I hope we are given the opportunity to host you and your family again soon.
All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review as being a 5 year diamond member of Hyatt, so I have seen lots of their properties. Main downside is: NO AIRCON. They provide standalone models, where only some of them work properly. The standalones are also so noisy, that you have to turn them off at night, turning the room into a sauna within minutes. Keeping the doors open is also not an option, as then the people walking by at night will keep you awake. Hiding such a fact is not at all acceptable at a property charging such high rates.

On top: if you tell them at check out about the problems you had during the stay, they just don't care. An experience I didn't have before, at least at a Hyatt.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bho06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Bho06,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. Its comments like yours that help us to continually improve our property. Like most of the hotels on the peninsula we were not built with air conditioning due to the generally mild climate. We are currently experimenting with freestanding air conditioning units. I have relayed your concerns to our team and I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.
All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Woodland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am a very frustrated client due our experience (me and my wife) during recent and second visit at Hyatt Regency Monterey. First, were put in a hot, humid, stuffy room without an Air condition system overlooking a busy street (actually it was roon 2128). We were rudely shocked by the way the attendant/receptionist (by the name Andrew) approached us like we were lost and didnt deserve to be there. He casually walked towards us and askes us in a cold vibe "how can i help you" which is ok, but his tone and approach left so much to be desired. Honestly we felt profiled!!! Then he checked us into that homeless like shelter room without AC and when we checked into the room and found out that it was a room with a double bed, I called the reception only to be told that he cant help us and that we were supposed to be in a double bed room. I didnt want to argue coz it is not in my nature to argue. We sat in the room for about 15-20 minutes trying to figure out whether we should leave and go look for another hotel nearby of just go home and forget about our anniversary. Luckily, my wife gathered her wits and guts and called the reception again and time they told her that it wasnt possible and that they will get us a fan to cool the room. After a few minutes, a very courteous guy in blue uniform walks in to our room with a fan and in utter shock he offered and suggested to open the sliding door and the cool breeze filles our room with cool air. After a while my wife calls again and we were told that we could be moved to a disabled room with a king bed sisnce we had booked for a room bed. Eventually we were moved to room 712 which was much better and overlooking the golf course. Then came the check out date, i met another kind and reasonable receptionist by the name Donald-an elderly guy (luckily Andrew was not there)...and after i told him of our ugly one day ordeal, he told me he would give us a $22.00 credit. Before i forget, we were also offered a free breakfast which we turned down and didnt show up for coz we felt like it was an insult. I remember Mr Donald asking me if we had our free breakfast and told him not and the reason why. Then as if the drama was not over, four days after, i learn that i had been charged twice and i call the account department. I spoke with a guy who identified himself aa ben who denied seeing one transaction in question for over $ 160.00 and told me to contact my bank. I contacted my bank and the bank agent called the accounts dept who kept us in hold without picking up the call. Currently, we have a claim pending. This was my secind time here and to be honest, i went back for a second time coz of the experiene i had the first time i went there. It was a great experience especially the spa which i also visited this time, my son loved the swiming pool and all...However, it was the second n possibly the last visit that left me baffled. As an events organizer in my church, this hotel was the first choice for our upcoming summer vacations-getaways, but now that seems like a bad,terrible, scary idea. You guys really dampened my spirit :-( :-(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

once we found the hotel all was great. We paid extra for the regency club access and our room was just along the corridor from this. This means inclusive soft drinks, hot beverages, reduced price alcohol between 5-7.30 and a good continental breakfast, snacks and a good selection of nibbles and desserts.
the room was very comfortable and the pool area was right outside our room. there were quite a few families staying there, so may not be your thing.
the fireplace lounge has live jazz playing on Friday and Saturday evenings and serves lighter food but it was a bit lacking in atmosphere to my mind.
You will need to drive into town, nothing in immediate area. You are very near highway 1 but we were in block 5 and were not troubled by any noise.
Overall a good choice. I also used the spa where Candie did an excellent jobs on my nails.

Room Tip: blocks 4 and 5 , near pool and main hotel restaurants etc and away from highway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Making efforts to conserve water and recycling bins in rooms but lots of paper cups rather than a reusable glass
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

As we drove in I noticed building after building of rooms. When we walked into the lobby we were greeted warmly and the staff checked us in quickly. When we walked out back to looked around I was shocked to see lots of people in a small fenced in pool area. Just like a motel. I could not believe that they were calling themselves a Hyatt Regency! We go to look at our rooms which on the way there I noticed that some of the doors are facing the parking area just like a motel. The rooms were no surprise by then. They looked like a motel room! I was shocked that they would charge over $100 per night for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 55 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing