We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed just one night here on our trip but it was extremely comfortable. Very clean and modern. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious. Beds large and very comfy. On site parking is convenient.
Staff were very friendly and local amenities are in easy reach.
The pool and surrounds were very good. Monterey can be cool on the coast so the pool was heated.
Only disappointment was that there was a nightly room fee of 30 dollars that includes wi-fi. What a rip off. I expect the room price to cover what you need for the night.

Room Tip: it is a quiet hotel but you could ask to be further from reception if you want a bit more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    1,138
    725
    313
    191
See reviews for
912
1,045
97
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stay at Hyatt hotels all over the world and am a gold passport member. This hotel is more like a expanded hotel that has been fixed up. Pool was nice but crowded and they were out of towels. We were placed in the regency club area which was a total hassle to get to with only one elevator for 3 buildings and the club not only charged members at happy hour but was messy and out of everything half way thru. I would say more like a 2.5 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furnman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We only stayed at the Hyatt for one night and I have to say I was glad to leave. The rooms are located in a series of dated green wood-clad blocks separated by the resort's car parks. In places the only attempt at landscaping were some patches of artificial grass and the whole feel is dated and slightly unpleasent. There was also considerable road noise from the nearby freeway.
However to be fair the standard of interior of the rooms was high apart from the free standing air conditioning unit which really stood out and which was also too noisy to leave on at night. Our view was rather uninspiring and consisted of some foliage and a part of the tennis court. The room was also pretty dark and I think this would have made a longer stay less of a pleasure.
We tried one of the two pools and it was fine with towels available. We arrived late in the day so we ate at "Knuckles" the resort's sports bar. The menu was incredibly limited and the food was okay rather than being great. The dining experience was made better by the cool TVs at every table. We also went for the breakfast buffet which was pretty reasonable for the price.
I must say that the staff we met were first rate. From the doormen to the check-in staff, everyone was friendly and welcoming. This along with the standard of the room lifted the resort's score. However we would be unlikely to chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFCollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We planned a romantic getaway in the beautiful Monterey & Carmel area. Have not been in the region for a while. At a first glance, the hotel & amenities presented looked amazing. However, I have to say at the end of the stay we couldn't feel otherwise but disappointed. Location is great, very convenient to Monterey downtown - Fishermen's Warf, Beaches. If you are planning a golfing trip, that's your place. Also family friendly. There were many, many international people there with their entire family, kids and all. The room staff is very friendly and helpful. Not so much about the front desk, where they employ co-op students majoring (I guess) in hospitality, who are not always aware about all options, and do not know all the details about the venue.

And now the not so nice part...

Very noisy - all the time!!! Looks like the hotel has an international package that offers both to Europeans and Chinese alike. Lots of kids (again, we were hoping for a romantic getaway just the two of us, my wife and I, away from the rest of the family.) Many groups of very loud, noisy and unaware Chinese tourists arriving late in the night and taking off for activities very early in the morning. Also everything else you would expect (or get already used) from a good hotel is extra and VERY expensive i.e. Internet is extra and expensive per day (really!!???), there is no breakfast, there is no variety of food & entertainment around the property with the exception of the on-location (high end, very pretentious restaurant & bar.) Will we go back ever??!! Absolutely not!

Room Tip: Facing the golf course... They are the quietest. Otherwise you will have traffic and loud groups com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Not sure why there are so many average/bad reviews of this place. If you are expecting a fancy high-rise hotel, this is not your place. But if you want to see beautiful landscaping, have a great room, and enjoy Monterey, then this is for you! The only negative we had - they gave us keys to a room that was already occupied -oops! Then the next room was in a section with exterior doors, and felt really warm inside. 3rd time was the charm - great room, great beds, and nice and cool. Our view was the parking lot and another building, but it was very quiet at night. We loved the outdoor hot tub. Our room had a "mobile" air conditioner, but it kept our room very comfortable. Plenty of places to plug in our electronics and nice fridge for drinks. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway, and interior hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tblakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our second time here. We were able to use more of the amenities than the last time we were here. This hotel has all the standard services you would expect at a 4 star hotel. Location is what makes this property stand out. The Hyatt Regency Monterey has more of a resort feel than a business hotel. The conference facilities are more modern than the rooms themselves. The spa has changed names, Marilyn Monroe Spa and decor. The Hyatt website does not reflect that change, at least with new pictures of spa. Also the tennis shop is going through renovations. There is a fun shuffle board court, ping pong table and outdoor checker board. The fireplace gazebo is only open till 9 PM. That is very early, but I believe nearby neighbors have made an agreement with hotel that it must close early due to past noise complaints. Diane, our concierge was very helpful getting us reservations for lunch away from the Cannery Row tourist crowds. She was helpful also giving us sightseeing recommendations away from the Monterey Bay Area. I also agree with the other reviews about the air conditioning units. They are loud, good thing I travel with ear plugs. We also used the Regency Club room. The food variety and service there were very good. The hotel needs to hire another attendant though, because the current attendant must work split shifts to make sure the room is staffed to a minimum level. She is overworked. I know that management reads these reviews. As a former hospitality worker, please treat your workers fairly. They are as important, if not more important than the physical product being offered. I found the web check in not very guest friendly. There should be a separate kiosk for guest who used web check in to get there room keys.

Room Tip: Rooms facing parking lot have no views, except of the parking lot, which almost ran out of spaces, t...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's too bad hotels still use single use bottles of lotions and shampoo. Otherwise there are recycle bins in room. I hope that hotel donates partially used bathroom amenities to homeless shelters.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there with my husband and 3 kids in 2 interconnecting rooms, 1 king, 1 2 doubles. We were on a road trip of California and were delighted with the Hyatt Regency. I was concerned about all the bad reviews this hotel had been getting but were so thrilled when we arrived. We stayed in July and I had rung ahead in May and requested we be put in a block near the pool. We were in block 3 which is perfect. Blocks 3,4 or 5 are the nearest to pool area and only a short walk to bar/ restaurant area. It has a giant checkers board by the pool, 3 covered gazebos and plenty of sun loungers. There was also 2 table tennis tables nearby in addition to a fire pit where you could toast your marshmallows for S'mores. Only downside was the fire pit area closed after 9 pm each evening which was a little early - 10 pm would have been perfect. I had dithered about booking a hotel along the wharf in Monterey but was glad we settled on this hotel overlooking the Del Monte Golf Course. You would need a car as a 5 min drive to Cannery Row & the Wharf itself. Wifi worked great in our rooms. Yes air con was noisy but we were happy with just the ceiling fan on and if in room we opened sliding doors (they had mossie net screens) to allow fresh air to circulate. Bedrooms were recently refurbished and the best of the 5 we stayed in on our road trip. Bathroom beautifully tiled with double sized shower (no bath). Fridge & coffee machine in each room. I did dispute the resort fee which they were going to charge us for each room even though we were a family and rooms interconnected - they waived one set of charges. Really can't find any downsides to this hotel. If you have a family stay here it's perfect for all your needs.

Room Tip: Book in a block near pool and away from road. Block 3 is best but either 4 or 5 good for families al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Suks,
I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience. I glad that you enjoyed the pool and fire pit. The next time you stay with us please note that we have two fire-pits one closing at 9pm and the other at 10pm. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing