We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soul-less and expensive for whats on offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Soul-less and expensive for whats on offer”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I will start with what I liked, the reception area was nice, the sports bar had a good atmosphere, the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
The negatives - the extra $22 dollars for parking and Wi-Fi was excessive when only one other hotel we stayed in while in Cali charged for either. The cost of food was also quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    1,139
    726
    313
    191
See reviews for
912
1,046
97
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The property generally is old and smelly and generally in need of a refit. Located right on a highway this is not your average Hyatt. The rooms are small with no central a/c and overpoweringly smelly. The corridors and elevators are just as bad. When this was mentioned to staff and questioned whether other guests found this to be a problem, the weather was blamed. No outside furniture on the balcony so old office chairs were supplied. This is supposed to be 4 stars. It is no where close.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Britchiccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel for staying on the peninsula...great location and setting. Only problem was in room dining. Wasn't up to the Hyatt standard and the reason why not 5 star...over prices for the amount if food, and the portion served...slow delevery which could be from the property being so spread out...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed this hotel on our brief (2-night) family stay in Monterey.
The hotel comprises three-storey accommodation blocks spread across a large plot - looked like there was a big conference center on-site.
The room was a decent size and had a fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The only negative with the room was the a/c, which didn't seem to work very well. No matter - the window opened to get fresh air that way.
The hotel grounds are excellent - the adjacent golf course is a pretty back-drop (if not a particularly grand course) and the gazebo / fire-pit / table tennis / pool courtyard area was a lovely space in which to relax at evening time.
The hotel is fairly close to the route 1 highway, which makes it a convenient location and only a short drive into town for the main attractions.
Good service throughout our stay. Free wifi was appreciated.
Would definitely stay here again if in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overnight stay at this hotel whilst en-route from Los Angeles to San Francisco because we want stay a day at the Monterrey Bay Aquarium. There is a deal with this hotel which give two adult aquarium 2 days tickets - which save us some money.

Check-in was quick and courteous, the room was clean and modern but not luxurious - since we were only staying for 1 night, it was okay. We had a room over-looking the golf course, which I think was worth the extra money. After the long drive, we decided to eat in the TusCA Ristorante and enjoy the hotel surroundings and facilities. The outdoor firepit and ping-pong were great additions to the hotel, we only wished we could spend more time in the hotel and enjoy the swimming pool as well.

I got some staff attitude when i was checking out the Knuckles Sports Bar, hence 4 stars instead of 5. The service, wine and food in the TusCA Ristorante were great, we like it so much that we decided to have breakfast there as well, which was just as good.

Room Tip: Higher floor room overlooking the golf course and close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel we've stayed at for decades - with babies, toddlers and teens. It's consistent, predictable, and best of all it's strategically located. It's right off of highway 1, which means you're minutes from the Carmel/Ocean exit, 13 minutes from Point Lobos State Park (a must see), minutes from the aquarium, Cannary row, the wharf, and quality restaurants in every direction.

My tips for this hotel are simple: first if you have kids between 8-15 years old, I recommend requesting a poolside room on the ground level (main pool). The rooms have sliding glass doors and patios, and the ground level rooms allow easy access to the pool and hot tub (both which are nice). It also allows you to watch your children, and if they need help you can be there in seconds. Second, it's a large property, built to host conferences, etc. If there's not an event at the hotel, there will be plenty of rooms. You MUST negotiate the price, hotels make nothing off empty rooms. They would rather pay the service employees overtime, and have a room filled, rather than the other way around. Don't be afraid to ask for a better price, and more importantly learn tools like priceline. The only time I've paid retail is during the holidays or penensula event weekends (PGA Pro-Am, etc.). If you learn the hotels, and bid it properly you will always be bidding for Hyatt rooms (if that's what you want). Those who do this know what I mean.

Many tourists aren't aware, but the Carmel Peninsula is extremely dog friendly, and if you have a pooch, feel free to bring them to the Hyatt. There is a charge, but it's reasonable. Most restaurants in Carmel/Monterey which have outside seating, and there are many, allow dogs, and even provide water. This is not a new thing, Doris Day has long owned the historic 'Cypress Inn', know as the pet friendliest hotel, in the pet friendliest town (Carmel). Most people don't even notice it, because the dogs blend in everywhere. They are extremely welcome on the beaches as well. My dog loves it! Note: the hotel loves dogs, but don't bring them in the pool or spa!

I've traveled the country extensively on business and pleasure, 17 mile Drive and the associated beach accesses are arguably among the most beautiful locations in the country, if not the world. The entire Big Sur area and drive (Santa Barbara through Monterey) is simply breathtaking. If you haven't been here you must come, if you've been, you know how beautiful it is. Make it an annual pilgrimage, that's what we do, and we love it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The two rooms we booked were excellent, the bathrooms, we loved. Lovely location. Afraid we eat in the Wharf so can't comment on the food except breakfast was very good and service was excellent. Very impressed with what we experienced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing