We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and great for families”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and great for families”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in the 2 room family suite for 3 nights. It was great having the kids in their own room so that we could have our privacy in the evening. The hotel was close to all the main attractions including Cannery Row and the Aquarium and not far from the hiking trails either. The pool was heated and private so the kids had a great time swimming and we had fun napping poolside. Also the beach was within walking distance. The one complaint we had was that the rooms were a little warm and stuffy at night, but the front desk provided fans for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    229
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
119
196
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We felt at home directly. They have really done "the extra" for making their guests feeling good. Really good located near the Pier.
Monterey is really pretty!

Can really recommend this to everyone travelling along the beautiful highway 1!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed this March and had a really lovely time. Short walk from the main pier and maybe a bit longer to the main town. Really good value for money. Nice pool and hot tub and you can enjoy a nice glass of wine on your patio should you stay on the ground floor.
The only downside is the rooms could do with a freshening up and the bed linen was a bit worn. New bed linen, lick of paint and maybe new carpets and the place would be perfect. But that was our only issue.

Overall, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BpJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Hill, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Trusted trip advisor in staying here and we are glad we did. Rented two rooms for one night as we were passing through. Perfect location by cannery row, giant pond, restaurants and close to freeway. Staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were good size and clean. Bedding is outdated but everything worked well and the $150 a night per room is great for peak season in monterrey. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcaldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We loved our stay here! The rooms are very cute, extreamly clean, and perfectly peaceful. The beds are so comfortable the shower is refreshing and it is located near everything you will need or want to do in Monterey. My only grievance is the Internet connection was not reliable at all, very annoying when you are trying to slip in some work while you play (must have been a sign). I highly recommend this place if you want a great place with basic amenities that is close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callnkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were travelling the Pacific Coastal Highway from LA to San Fran so just stopped at Monterey for a night and walked into this hotel. We were given a good rate equivalent to the internet, the staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended good places to eat. The room was tasteful and albeit no air con the ceiling fan was sufficient. The location was great you could walk to the Pier and had dinner at the Sand Bar Grill and Inn as recommended which was a great restaurant and we had a lovely meal. The lake across the road was charming and overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This MOTEL is very close to everything in Monterey. Walking distance to Fishermans Warf. The trolley picks up nearby. 17 mile drive is only about a 3 minute drive away. Del Monte beach is literally right across the road. The room was clean but a little on the cramped side. There is no air conditioning, and while Monterey can be cool, the air condition would help take the humidity out of the room. Our next door neighbors had a penchant for smoking small cigars on their patio so we were forced to keep our screen door closed most of the stay.The pool area is a little oasis surrounded by flower plants and glass walls to keep the sounds inside. My children really enjoyed the heated pool. Vince and Larry at the front desk were very helpful, especially Vince. On our last night my son and I walked across the street to beach to visit the ocean one more time. As we walked through the dunes to the water we were surprised to find a group of local youth having a clam bake. What a way to end a wonderful stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likesadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing