We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful
However, rooms were very stuffy on a warm day with no air conditioning. The room cooled down at night with the windows open but then the road noise was a factor. This noise was eliminated by closing the windows as they were double glazed.

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    225
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
115
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Peeling paint, tired room,, and what really prompted me to write review---the droopiest, softest, collapsed mattress I have ever slept (or tried to) on. Can you say back ache in the am? For $100, this place would suffice--okay pool, clean enough. But for almost twice that---go elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I needed a room for one night and this fit the bill! Larry checked us in and he was very quick and friendly. Room was only $99 plus tax. It was very clean, bed was comfortable and was a 10 min walk to fishermans wharf. What more coul we ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We booked just one night, 15th August, at the Monterey Bay Lodge. I agree with some previous reviewers that the photographs are very carefully taken. Close up, the place looks a bit worn and tatty. However, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was nice to have the sliding door at the back. It was good to be able to sit outside on the shared balcony in the afternoon, although that could have been a very unpleasant experience if other guests had chosen to avail themselves of the ashtrays. Why on earth have non-smoking rooms and then allow people to smoke just outside? It was fortunate that nobody did.
The motel is in a very convenient spot. It took about twenty minutes to walk to town and there were lovely paths along the sea front area. The price (we paid 189 dollars) seemed a bit steep compared to other places we had stayed in California, but comparatively reasonable for a stay in Monterey. It was certainly an improvement on our accommodation in Big Sur and would be a good base for visits to other places in this part of California.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs; this was probably quieter than a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Monterey is very expensive, but this option is decent if you want to save a few bucks and be close to the Wharf and downtown. It seems to be an older motor lodge that has been updated by new owners. The bathroom was very modern and the amenities therein were nice (soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). The room had a refrigerator, cable TV, dvd player, fireplace and king bed. Decor in the room could use some updating but typical of a motor lodge or motel. We walked to the wharf for dinner but had to drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Also close to the restaurants and bars downtown. Gas station and convenience store right next store was great. If you are traveling up the PCH and want to stop in Monterey for a night this place is affordable, convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigglesandGaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wendover, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Nice older hotel with a pleasant staff, perfect location near the beach and about 150 yards from the Dennis the Menace park.

My wife compared prices online and we saved well over $100 a night compared to other hotels in the area. Conveinence store across the street was handy. Solid value for the money. Other area hotels seemed to want to exclude kids. My little ones were welcome here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We decided to take a final vacation before the summer ends. I made reservations about 1 week before we were to travel, and there was limited availability at other places. We decided stay here because the management here indicated it was a "dog friendly" and there was a family suite which had a main room with a queen bed, and a separate room with bunk beds. Here's a summary of the place:

PROS
1) Close in proximity to Cannery Row/Fisherman's Wharf. Walking distance to parks and beach areas.
2) Spa/heated pool

CONS
1) The family suite was pretty small. The beds are a bit hard and the room is stuffy.
2) The free WiFi is spotty. In our room, the connection was slow and we were repeatedly booted off the net.
3) The place allows dogs, but essentially this amounts to having your dog supervised in your room. The place does not allow you to leave the pet unattended, without permission and subject to other conditions (e.g. crating dog). We've travelled exstensively with our pet, and for a motel, there seemed to be many constraints.
4) The motel is in an OK area - apartments and some industrial areas surround the property.

If we decided to come back to this area, I am not sure I would stay here again. There are plenty of other dog friendly places with comparable rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#22 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing