We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but smelly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Adequate but smelly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very dated feel in the room but seemed clean. Just an odour of age in the room put me off. The pool and Jacuzzi were attractive and I did use it. Couldn't have the balcony door open for air because anyone could walk right in off the joint balcony provided for the other rooms on the second floor I also could hear slight noise through the door to the adjoining room.The hotel is very handy to the waterfront and we had a nice reduced price breakfast provided by the hotel at the next door facility. We got two dollars off a nice meal. Nice park and lagoon across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    227
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
117
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room was clean en had everything we needed for our one night stay. It is situated in a walkingdistance to the harbor and restaurants. There is no breakf ast included, but you get a discount when you get breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel. There is enough parkingspace.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bjorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night at the start of September when passing through to San Francisco. It was cheap compared to other places in Monterey but it wasn't great. We expected a motel but there was no air con, room and bath room were dated, uncomfortable bed and to be honest I didn't feel 100% safe there! On a positive note ignore previous reviews about the location which is in easy walking distance of fishermans wharf (about 10 mins) which is great for dinner and drinks and the seafront (2 mins.)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissNicolaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Monterey Bay Lodge for 2 nights in August this year. We received a friendly welcome when we arrived and the receptionist was very helpful booking tickets to the aquarium for us. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. There was all you would expect; microwave, empty fridge (with complimentary bottles of water every day) and coffee making facilities. We were very impressed with the decaf coffee in the room, which was very nice indeed. The grounds of the hotel are lovely too. The only downsides we experienced were very poor wifi signal in the room and breakfast wasn't included in the rate. The hotel did give us discount vouchers for the adjacent restaurant though, which was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stopped there for one night in Monterey Bay in early-mid September because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. Guess I need to pay more attention to details. Although it was mid 60s outside it was mid 70s inside our tiny little motor lodge drive up to the door room. We like cooler temps for sleeping and inquired at the office about how to turn on the a/c. We were told that "nobody in Monterey has air conditioning. There is a fan in the closet, open the bathroom window and the sliding door to the patio and let in the night air." OK, well, we can't sleep with the door open so it was quite warm in the room. Somehow, I don't think we would have received that response from the Marriott down the street. $150 for one night in a Motel 6 without a/c just because it's in Monterey CA is unacceptable. I would give them 1 star except for the fact that it was clean, just not comfortable. And, while it was not a far drive to Fisherman's Wharf, nothing was within walking distance with the exception of a quaint local park that was nice for a morning jog. Breakfast was NOT complimentary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went down to Monterey for a music festival, so prices for the hotel were very expensive ($200 a night for that weekend). Normally I wouldn't pay that much, but they were one of the cheaper options available.

The reception desk folks were very nice and let us into our room extremely early, which was a pleasant surprise.

The rooms were very outdated, smelled a bit odd, and not the cleanest rooms I've set foot in. They weren't terrible, but it wasn't that nice. I would say the place is due for an upgrade at some point in the near future.

There was a pool, but I did not go in it. It looked nice.

I would stay there again, but only if the rates were under $100 a night. I guess that's cheap for Monterey.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the pool, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing