We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place as a stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place as a stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were on a fly/drive trip to USA and Monterey was a one night stop over for us. The Monterey Bay Lodge was a nice little motel with clean rooms. We had free wifi, coffee, safe, toiletries and towels included. I would stay here again.

A nice place to eat nearby is Loulous or Sands Bar and Grill - both can be found on the boardwalk nearby with parking. If you ask reception they will tell you. Loulous was great for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyInez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    225
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
115
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights in September 2013 in a king fireplace room. I cannot comment on other rooms in this lodge. Our room was nice and clean. The bathroom was marble and tile and had a large marble shower. The king fireplace rooms are in a one story part of the property and were very quiet. These rooms also came with their own numbered parking space that was literally right in front of the room! We ate breakfast every day at the cafe on the property. The room rate was reasonably priced. The location in Monterey was great. The beach was across the street - maybe 300-400 feet from our door. It was a short, easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, and Cannery Row was a little farther, I estimate a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a king fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Chosen for its location and rates, this is a pretty good place for an overnight stay. It's an older motel that has had several upgrades so I expect some rooms are better than others. There's several room choices and they are clean and tidy. I booked online through their website and check in was quick and easy.
I had trouble logging into the wifi but this was partially due to my having an Ipad. We had a great breakfast at the attached Marlyn's Restaurant and if not going into Monterey for dinner it's probably a good choice. One word of warning though. It is near the Monterey Airport and there can be some noise from aircraft flying over the motel, the first was at 6.30am!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just sat down to point out the misleading picture of the Lodge and the Lake, and what should appear in the most recent review? Pretty much the same thing we planned to say! It is worth noting that there is an excellent view of the Lake from the on-property restaurant, which made for a fine start to the next leg of our trip. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet, and an easy walk to a fine restaurant, Domenico's On The Wharf. In addition to dinner, you can watch and listen to the seals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there for car week and it was within walking distance to the auctions, restaurants and Fisherman's Wharf. A park and the beach is across the street, so it's very convenient. We had a room facing the side street, so it was very quiet; it felt like a private bungalow. The bathroom was nicely updated. Although comfortable, the bed was too soft for me; I woke up each day with back pain. My husband was fine. But, that is not going to stop us from going next year, so we booked it!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is an older hotel in the northern part of Monterrey, but the hotel is kept up well and it is a short walk to the shore from here.

The picture is a bit deceiving because it makes it look like the hotel is right on the water, but it isn't. There is a small estuary/lake across a fairly busy street and part of a bigger park. The parks are nice around the area, but there are some homeless that live in the area so I would be careful about leaving things in your car and long walks after dark. Overall we felt safe in the hotel so don't get freaked out.

The other strange thing about the hotel was that in between you and the beach is a gas station and a carpet store. You should probably look at Google Maps and the video on Hovidre.com for a good look at how and where the property is located.

The rooms are in good shape and we slept well on the bed. No complaints here.

Like the title says, it is an older average hotel that is probably good for a couple nights.

Room Tip: Know that most all of the rooms look out on to the parking lot and some have a view beyond. 2nd stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussD7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very helpful staff...attentive to our needs....clean room...basic but good...fridge, microwave, TV! Nice pools and hot tubs....extremely clean all round the premises...good tips for dinner...had the best ever at the Sands Bar & Grill....good information about where to go the next day....and near the Fishermens Wharf....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandclane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#23 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing