We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Monterey!”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Monterey!”
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We were travelling down Highway 1 from San Francisco to Los Angeles on the classic PCH roadtrip. We drove through Monterey and decided we'd stay as it looked like a good place to spend some time. We found the Monterey Bay Lodge by accident using the Sat Nav to find the seafront road. As soon as we walked in it felt comfortable and Larry gave a friendly welcome so we decided to stay for two nights. The first impressions of the room were good - generous size, clean, tasteful decor and nice touches such as ribbons around the shower curtains and elaborately folded 'origami-style' towels! It seemed that the place is run with pride taken in its appearance. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and managed to take advantage of the pool and sun loungers for a few hours one afternoon. If we ever return to Monterey (which I would love to do one day as it is a great place and a favourite from our trip) I wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else - this would be the place I would stay. Clean, comfortable, friendly and in a great location - 5 minutes walk along the seafront path into town. Really enjoyed our stay - thank-you!

  • Liked — Comfortable, Clean & Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C-K_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, Cindy Anderson, General Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2008
Dear C-K-4
We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests and hope the rest of your trip down the coastline was great!
I see from your photos you met the ducks and geese across the street at Lake El Estero; on your next visit you must go across Del Monte to the beach and meet the harbor seals. They love to serenade us.
Best wishes,

Cindy, Mike, Larry, Susan,Michelle and Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    228
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
117
196
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We found the Monterey Bay Lodge to be a great place for a short stay. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated with lots of attention to detail. We appreciated the free bottles of water in the refrigerator and the hassle-free in room internet. The bathroom was a little small but worked fine for us. We weren't bothered by road noise. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My kids loved the saltwater pool and spa. I especially enjoyed the flowers everywhere - they gave the place a cottagey, homey feel. We didn't try the restaurant. Overall we found it a very good value for the money and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Room decor and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Slightly damp feel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, Cindy Anderson, General Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2008
Dear fraggle,
Thank you for your kind words. We loved having you.
We hope to be your home away from home and we await your next visit.
It is funny about the salt in the pool because we don’t add salt; it is actually from the air being that we are so close to the beach.
I am pleased you like the flowers. Many of them grow only to this region.
Come back this winter and see our winter flowers at bloom, they are beautiful!

Sincerely,
Cindy, Mike, Larry, Susan, Michelle and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

What a horrible motel. It is over-priced and totally over-rated, can't believe my eyes reading some of the reviews on this website. Check-in quick but once in our room we were straight on the phone / internet trying to find something else. We ended up staying only one night. Room smelled damp and musty, very dark, small, did not feel safe - to the rear of the room there is a glass sliding door leading to pool area, anyone could just walk past. On the street side, you are on a busy street overlooking the rear of a filling station. Bathroom tiny, bath the size of a shower cubicle. Also very thin walls, you could hear other guests moving about upstairs. Not a good experience.

  • Disliked — Did not feel safe
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkTravellingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, Cindy Anderson, General Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2008
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to right a review, even though it is a less than favorable one.
I was sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the sliding glass door with a locking screen that allows an easy walk to the heated pool and hot tub. Most of my guests love that convenience.
I’ll admit it can get a bit noisy from the kids playing in the pool fountain and the beach that is across the street but again that has always been a joy to be so close and hear the sea lions bark at night.
I was however glad to read that your check in /internet was speedy.
We wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were travelling down the coast and loved it. We had a fireplace room that opened on to the courtyard and pool. The pool area was lovely, clean and comfortable. I loved the rooms and all the little touches. The man on the front desk was very helpful and recommended a nice restaurant (Sandbar Grill)on the Wharf which was great. Good food and seals playing among the boats!
The breakfast in the Cafe on site(Marlyns) was plentiful and nice and we got a discount there.
I wish we could have stayed for a week.

  • Liked — Overall look of the place
  • Disliked — No sea view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

This is a reasonable motel near to Old Monterey downtown and the wharf, and a 10 min walk from the free trolley bus to the aquarium. The rooms are pretty standard motel rooms with a patio door out to the pool courtyard. The main road is nearby, so it is a little noisy. The staff were efficient and courteous and the Wireless internet worked fine.

Food is a bit hit or miss - lunch was Ok, but breakfast was cold, and the oatmeal my daughter had was vile.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mad_scotty_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed here with our three (young!) kids for two nights. The "family suite" was terrific. A normal size room with a queen bed and bathroom, plus a smaller bedroom with bunk beds, a desk, wall-mounted t.v. and nintendo game system. Our girls LOVED their room and it was a great arrangement for a large family, and very reasonably priced. Vincent, at the front desk, was friendly, informative and professional. We purchased our aquarium tickets at the front desk and received an extra days visit as a reward. The grounds at the hotel are lovely and very well landscaped and maintained. My kids were extremely disappointed that we didn't get a chance to swim, as it was too cold, but the pool looked inviting, albeit a little small. The location of the hotel is great. Right across the street from a large park with varied activities, and a two-minute drive to fisherman's whart, which you could actually see from our room. The restaurant on the property, Marlyn's, was pretty good, although the decor I felt did not match the rest of the hotel property. More like a coffee shop. We had dinner there one night, which was just ok, and breakfast another day, which was very good. The only imperfection in our stay was that our room was directly next door to the supply room for the cleaning crew, and they made considerable amounts of noise, a lot of banging on the walls and such. Our kids had to take a nap in the afternoon, and the banging carried on for so long that my husband felt compelled to ask them to stop. Then when I checked out and remarked on this to the employee, she was very defensive and didn't offer any apologies. My only complaint though! Overall a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return again!

  • Liked — family suite
  • Disliked — loud cleaning staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed for a night and already fell in love with the place!
The room was really clean and the bed was comfortable. The fireplace was a nice touch and gave a homely feel. And we really appreciated all the little touches that was in the bathroom, nice folded towels, ribbons around the toilet roll and curtains. And of coz, the breakfast at Marlyn's was the BEST!

  • Liked — The location and the homely feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billywoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing