We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Lodge Motel”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in a King Fireplace room facing the pool. Our room was a beautiful renovated spacious surprise! Located on the outskirts of Monterey, but close enough to walk about 15-30 minutes to the pier and the downtown hub to shop. We walked home from the pier at 11pm and felt very safe. Lots of tourists out and about. Piece of advise: look at a real map to get to this hotel. Google maps and map app on my Iphone took us to somewhere else! You won't be disappointed staying at this place! Grounds and flowers were in full bloom in June.

Room Tip: Book a King Fireplace Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jazzcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect located close to the beach and not so far away from the pier. It took about 10 min to walk down to the pier where you will find a lot of restaurants, bars. There are also the boats who takes you out on the wale safaris. An amazing experience, once in a lifetime.
Back to the hotel, it is very nice, clean. The rooms are spacious and well equipped.
Next to the hotel there is a breakfast & lunch restaurant, good food and excellent service.
I can warmly recommend it to you.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bettan_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is not a fancy place by any means, but it was clean and neat and had all the amenities we needed. The gas fireplace functioned well. Plenty of hot water for showers. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The parking is actually really good (at least on the side we stayed on) - you get an assigned space and it is roomy (in case you're like my husband and afraid of getting his car dinged by inconsiderate people parking next to you). There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel for breakfast and lunch. We received coupons for a nice discount there and the food was very good, with generous portions and good service.

The neighborhood isn't great, but we didn't feel like we were in danger or anything. There's a mini-mart right next door. It's right next to Dennis the Menace park, if you're so inclined. We chose this place because it's walking distance to the Wharf & the Aquarium but not as expensive as the hotels on the Row. It's a couple of miles though, so if you're not in the habit of walking, be careful. We even walked back late at night and nobody mugged us (ha ha). The people in the room next to us had their TV on too loud all night, so the walls are a little thin, but it didn't keep us from sleeping, just made us want to punch those people.

If you're looking to save some money to spend on other things in Monterey, this is a good place to stay. Like I said, nothing fancy but a very nice, cute, comfortable room. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelcat420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were travelling with our small dog. The room we stayed in smelled super doggy and did not seem clean. The carpet was damp. It was kind of disgusting. I mean, the smell kept me awake. Never again.

Well, TripAdvisor says my review needs 35 more characters, so OK. For those travelling with dogs: there is a tiny, fenced-in dog run in walking distance. There are separate runs for large and small dogs. It's near the cemetery, and not easy to see from the road. Look for the mausoleum -- the dog run is right next to that. We were grateful to find it, since although much of the Monterey Peninsula is dog-friendly-ish, there are few places to let your dog run off-leash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BirdHikeSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our second visit to Monterey and this time we wanted to be closer to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery row. We chose Monterey Bay Lodge mostly because of the location but the price was also reasonable. About $175 for a weekend night. The first night we did not have hot water and took cool showers. We found out they were having heating issues, but by the time we returned from dinner, we had hot water. No other issues to report. Room and shower was clean, noise level was low. Here is some minor stuff I always notice when staying at hotels. The bed was not firm enough. For those who like a soft bed, then you are in luck. Sheets and comforter was cozy. Bath towels were thin and cheap. I like thick, luxurious soft bath towels. Mini-fridge had bottled water. And it was free. I don't care if I have to pay, but I like bottled water readily available. I also really liked that we were able to walk to the coffee shop, beach, park and McDonald's.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs to avoid hearing footsteps of neighbors walking around the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliMich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Parking horrendous. First room so small. We upgraded.. Big bucks. I couldn't sleep because the lights reflecting on the mirrors. But, obviously, I'm a poor sleeper On the other hand, staff was. Wonderful, great location, very dog friendly. Coffee shop is convenient for quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one of their smallest rooms. Two of us and dog were in each others au co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

If you have kids, and/or pets this place is wonderful!
Location: Walkable to fisherman's warf, with a stroller if they are small. Prob a 15 min walk. Denis the Menace park, pond, trail, dog park, skate park and baseball feilds all across street. Beach is a block away.
Neighborhood surrounding was okay, no problems and I felt comfortable walking around at nite but I wouldn't let my kids play without a parent watching them.
Room: rooms were clean, bed and linens were vary clean. Shower curtain looked like it was changed between stays, and the cover on the bed had a zipper so that it could be washed. Beds were very soft and comfortable. Small fridge and microwave was a +. TV had hdmi option so we netflixed from our phone for the kids. Pool and hot tub was great for the kids and us after a long day of touring.
Staff was very friendly. Grounds were clean and kept up. The rooms that were dog friendly rooms smelled clean and there was no evidence of animals being there. Also there was a balcony with pool view that was nice to have. Price was resonable.
We look forward to returning here and recommend this place to our friends/family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cristal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £62 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing