We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Motel”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Myself and boyfriend stayed in this motel for 1 night on our way down from San Fran. It is situated next to a beautiful lake. There is a lovely pool however it was too cold for us to enjoy it but in warmer weather it would be very welcome if you were staying there for a few days. Our room was very spacious and clean - we were very impressed with it. The check in was fast and the staff were very friendly. They also helped us to find a local doctors surgery as my boyfriend needed to get an antibiotic. Our stay was short but enjoyable and I would recommend the motel to anyone visiting the area. It was very reasonable in price also which is always a good thing! We got coupons for breakfast in Marilyns which is next door and the breakfasts were HUGE! I got the country skillet and could only manage half of it! Not a bad complaint.

Monterey is a very pretty area - the Wharf and Aquarium are worth a visit as is Carmel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2008

Dear sharc84,
Thank you so much for the kind words. I agree with the “Too chilly to swim even when the pool is heated to 80 degrees year around” The children can swim in anything but most of us go for the hot tub in cooler temps.” I didn’t get to say bye to you folks, so I hope your boyfriend is feeling better.
Manny from Marlyn’s American Grill say’s “Hi, and thank you too!”
All of us wish you “Happy Holiday’s” Please come back and visit next time you are in the states. You haven’t heard music until you hear the harbor seals across the street singing at the moon.
The entire staff from Monterey Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed at the Inn for two nights after driving down from san francisco. We had a warm and friendly welcome from the front desk and our room was lovely and bright and had good faclities; good sized fridge, iron and ironing board and two queen sized beds. We used the swimming pool and hot tub although pool was slight baltic!! We checked out the next day and the lady on the desk was very nice and throught chatting to her found out that big sur was closed half way down thanks for that. It was good value for money and was fine for the amount of time we spent there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jers3ygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager, Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2008

Thank you Jers3ygirl,
I enjoyed chatting with you too. I hope the rest of your trip was great fun.
Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon!

Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed for one night as part of our 26 day roadtrip. We arrived late afternoon and checkout early morning so did not have a long experience.

Found everything to be satisfactory. The room was pleasantly furnished, extremely clean, had free wi-fi, a fridge, coffee maker and safe.

Kids enjoyed the hot tub and pool after a long day in the car.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful in advising a reasonable place to eat and also where to park the car when visiting the aquarium.

Location was on a busy street, across from a park with a lake and also the beach. Did not find it noisy.

Intended eating breakfast at adjoining restaurant, however service was terrible (we were ignored for 15 minutes) so we walked out. The hotel would be well advised to include breakfast in their rate as all the other hotels we stayed in did and it was certainly convenient and a plus factor.

We would stay again if the price was right and there was nowhere else of better value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager, Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2008

Dear NZERS,
Wow! Sounds like a great road trip. We feel so privileged you chose us for a night of it and we sincerely hope your entire trip was great fun!
It is always so nice to know that the children had such a great time in our heated pool and hot tub.
I think value is one of the many great reasons for staying at Monterey Bay Lodge. We offer our guests reasonable rates with many complimentary benefits, as well as our location; which is so close to everything.
Regarding Marlyn’s American Grill, I won’t make any excuses, except to say that when I mentioned this to the owner of the restaurant, he was very sorry that you had to leave before they were able to provide you with the excellent service you deserve and we all strive to give. It is a shame because there have been many nice things written and said about their food.
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

This hotel is really excellent - it was the nicest place we stayed during a two week road trip and I wished we could've taken it with us!

The room was really luxurious and there were many little extras that make it special.

A really great place!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank css201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, Cindy Anderson, General Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2008

Dear CSS201

We thought you were pretty excellent too and we know that you are the extra that makes us special.

We enjoyed having you stay with us so much; please hurry back!

Cindy, Mike, Larry, Susan, Michelle and Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Booked 3 rooms for my wife's birthday. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to the wharf, downtown, and beach. Room was nice, clean, and quiet. Good size fridge. across the street from a gas station with a good selection of everything you might want or need.
We could hear the sea lions from our front door which was cool.
will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ericarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, Cindy Anderson General Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2008

Hi ericarrie,
Thank you for your kind words and please thank your wife for allowing us to be a part of her birthday.
I’m so glad you enjoyed the sea lions bellowing out a “Happy Birthday” song for your wife. I called in a favor.
Looking forward to your return…
Sincerely,
The crew of the singing Harbor Seals across the street….. and the entire staff and management of Monterey Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We were in August ,my wife and my two kids, only for one night in our way from LA to SF. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly.

Our story:

We left the hotel and we forgot a backpack with some items without value but...with our keys of or house in Madrid, Spain!!!

Michelle, the front office assistant, was several days trying to reach me, but it was impossible. When I saw her e-mails, I was departuring to Yosemite and was very difficult to find a way to get the keys...

We came back to Spain, and few days ago we got a letter with the keys inside: Absolutely incredible!!!

This issue tells by itself about the professionalism of the staff.

Thanks again MIchelle!!!,

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jesus_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager, Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2008

Dear Gato 66
Michelle here….. I am so glad to know you made it home safely and received your keys.
It was wonderful having you stay with us and we hope you travel our way again, soon.

From Michelle and the entire staff of Monterey Bay Lodge we wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We found the hotel in a travel book we bought in the UK. We booking for 1 night only over the phone (cos we needed a room), but after arriving we decided to stay for the full 5 days we were due to stay in Monterey.

The location is superb being near all the key attractions and points of interest, and the room was clean and attractive.

The real advantage this hotel has though is the people. The staff on reception were always happy to help, and were great for suggestions on where to eat and how to get around. They made our stay in Monterey a real pleasure.

If we return, we will stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DondyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager, Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2008

Dear Dondy,
The real pleasure was all ours… We were so happy that you decided to stay with us for the duration of your stay in Monterey. Michelle said to tell you “Hi.” and “Have a safe trip home.” Vince said the same and “It was great meeting you both and he enjoyed chatting with you.”
We all wish you the best and can’t wait for your return.
The gang,
Cindy, Mike, Larry, Susan, Michelle and Vince.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £78 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing