We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value option for Monterey stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Half Moon Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value option for Monterey stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed one night at the lodge during our trip along the coast. I would probably classify the lodge as an hotel/motel rather than bed&breakfast as it is quite large, run as a normal scale business and as breakfast is actually not included.

The Monterey Bay Lodge is located just at the north-eastern entrance of Monterrey, facing the sea. The location is great for walks on the beach. For restaurants and downtown activities you would probably however go for a short drive.

Check-in took place without problem and parking was complimentary, as well as internet. A pool was also available for guests.

The room was clean and comfortable but missed a bit of charm or home touch. The bed was good and we slept well, not being disturbed by the coastal road (apparently quiet at night).

For breakfast we got from the hotel a $2 discount voucher that could be used at the restaurant next door for purchases of breakfast dishes exceeding $5. The two of us ate together several smaller dishes for a total of $18 but our second voucher was rejected with the argument that only one single dish exceeded $5. This did not really make sense to me and we left a bit irritated from the restaurant after what had otherwise been a quite nice stay... I'd recommend the lodge to modify their agreement with the restaurant on this point: it is not worth making a customer displeased for $2.

Overall this would be a 3.5/5 rating - better than average and reasonably priced considering the market in Monterey. For a stay in this town, the lodge is a good choice if you are not looking for luxury. On a future trip, I'd probably stay somewhere else than Monterey in order to get a more charming hotel at the same price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alias34632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    225
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
115
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

My daughter, twin 7 year old granddaughters and myself stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to go to the Aquarium. Larry, in the office, was an absolute sweetheart to me on the telephone while making my reservation and answering ALL my MANY questions. He was just as nice in person when we checked in too. The place is adorable and afforable! We had a very cute (yellow & blue fresh decor) room with 2 queen beds, and the room was not huge with the two beds, but it worked out fine for the little time we spent sleeping there. The beds were comfortable, there was a small refrigerator, micro, coffee maker, TV on top of a dresser, a little writing desk with a chair, and the bathroom/separate vanity area which was fresh and clean (not huge either, but how much room do you need?). We had a sliding patio door which we could just walk out onto a little sitting patio or out to the pool. Very convenient for swimming which we all did. The pool is beautiful and clean (not super warm, but kids don't mind) with a pretty little fountain in the shallow end. If you get chilly just get into the hot tub, which we all did, and it was very clean and nice. Towels were provided. The grounds are immaculate and colorful with lots of blooming flowers everywhere. We did not eat at the restaurant as there are so many wonderful places in town, which is just a short (less than 5 minute) drive. There is a beautiful white sandy beach just across the street which we went to one afternoon. What more can I say...I would go back in a heartbeat! Donna from Novato, CA

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

I stayed at this property in late January 2009 while visitng CU-Monterey Bay with my daughter. Although we didn't care for the university, we had a fun one night stay at the Monterey Bay Lodge. The hotel is very basic, and the rooms rather small, but for a budget option in an expensive area, it was perfect. I don't think I'd spend more than a few nights here as the bathroom was tiny with a poor shower and we heard much traffic noise from our room. For our needs this trip, however, it was fine. We had breakfast at the restaurant next door and it was wonderful ... best choc. chip pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandnsun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

I can't say enough good things about this wonderful lodge. I've never met a more kind and helpful staff. We were there for our anniversary and were looking for special places to go, and they helped us out and made some really great suggestions. The jacuzzi room was very romantic and quiet. The hotel is a block away from the beach and across the street from a beautiful park. You know what they say . . . LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. This will be our destination of choice when we go back, and it should be yours too. Thanks again to the wonderful staff. You are the best.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reallymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
You are so kind, but the truth of the matter is...it is you that REALLY makes it worth while and fabulous for us.

Take care and return soon!

Cindy, Larry, Susan, Michelle and Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

We were looking for a clean, safe, and budget friendly place to stay while visiting Monterey. We found it! The location is perfect for a family with children. There is a great park and pond right across the street. The beach is 1 block away. The Aquarium and Wharf could be within walking distance, but we drove and were there in a few minutes. The rooms were on the smaller side, but very cute, clean and quiet. The staff were all super friendly. My kids loved the kiddie part of the pool with a fountain. My only complaint would be no continental breakfast. But they do offer a $2 coupon off each person at thier restaurant. The restaurant is good, nothing fancy, but no complaints. We have stayed in Monterey many times, from farther away cheaper hotels to fancy hotels on the water. This place definintely is right in the middle and perfect for a family with kids! It is our new place to stay when visiting Monterey!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BsyTrvlnFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

I just returned from one night at the Monterey Bay Lodge. The hotel grounds are nice, right across the street from Lake Estero (we rented paddle boats which was fun $15/ 30 min) and across from the beach. They pool and courtyard are nicely landscaped and the front desk check in clerk was very helpful and nice. We received 2 coupons for $2 off breakfast at the on site restaurant, Marlyn's, which we used the next day.

Sincer we arrived on Saturday around 1pm, our room wasn't ready yet, so we went to have lunch at Fisherman's Wharf (3 minute drive or 10 minute walk away). By the time we got back our room (king bed, second floor, #220) was ready and we settled in. The bed was huge and comfortable and covered in nice pillows. The tv was a flat screen inside the armoire which was really nice. The bathroom was compact but clean and the sink/mirror area was outside the bathroom. There was even a make up mirror in the sink area- nice touch! Inside the closet was a mini fridge (with 2 free bottles of water) and a microwave. Our room had patio doors opening toward the pool, with 2 chairs and a table for sitting out side which was great.

The area is nice, though Del Monte Ave is a main thoroughfare so during the day there was some traffic noise but not much and it was quiet at night. We had dinner at Rocky Point Restaurant 10 miles south of Carmel and the views were to die for. Upon returning back to Monterey Bay Lodge, we had a night cap drink at a restaurant on the Wharf. It was a quick 10 minute walk to and from the hotel - and the area was quiet and we felt safe walking at night. (I also recommend Chris' Whale Watching Tours on Fisherman's Wharf. That was alot of fun.) Cannery Row is only 10 minutes away by car and staying at Monterey Bay Lodge is a great, affordable choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
You are the best. Thanks for giving travelers so much information on us and the area; Im sure it is so appreciated' I know it is by us. One more thing to mention for those who love the seals barking at night; it is a great way to spend an evening.

Please come back soon!
All of us at MBL and the surrounding area say "Thank you."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We choose to stay at this place because their prices were about the same as Motel 6 & because the reviews from Trip Advisor were so good. We had a King Bed Room with a Fireplace. The room was too cute, it was a little small, but for staying one or two nights, it was perfect. The room was clean, comfortable & very quaint. The patio area over looks the courtyard which is nicely landscaped. Their is a pool & jacuzzi in an enclosed glass area. The staff was very nice & helpful. The little restaurant located on the corner was a perfect breakfast spot & very well priced. You can walk about a block across the street & you are at the beach! Or if you have kids, a great park is next door! This is a nice little lodge, great price & quality!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
Hey thanks so much for the great review. We thought you were pretty great too.
We have now added microwaves to all of our rooms to add to your comfort.

Come back soon!

Cindy, Larry Susan, Michelle and Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#22 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing