We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European style Inn in Monterey”
Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #5 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Bay Area CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“European style Inn in Monterey”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Not sure what Stevew or Russell N were looking for or expecting, but we've stayed at this inn several times and find it delightful. While the rooms are on the small side and it is on the street, it feels miles away from a typical chain hotel and is exactly the type of place I look for when traveling. The innkeeper Nick and his assistants are accomodating and friendly and even brought us our breakfast one morning up to the rooftop. It's a perfect place for an after dinner drink, or a morning chat with friends. And the views are beautiful. The beach is right across the street and easy to walk to. The beautiful interiors and dining area feel very European or possibly Middle Eastern. A fun change of pace when we're in the Monterey area and a great value as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiejane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    102
    44
    26
    51
See reviews for
23
236
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked the inn last minute after deciding to stop at Monterey on the way down Highway 1. First impressions were good, we liked the area, parking in the street was fine and the room (superior room) was lovely. Room was fairly small but beautifully decorated, with a jacuzzi nestled at the window. Overall we liked the room but it wasn't as clean as it could have been, with lots of crumbs down the side of the bed. Other downside was that the hairdryer didn't work and only 1 of the power sockets worked. We asked the manager to come and see us and eventually we got 1 socket to work, we managed with just 1 socket but they didn't seem desperately concerned that we had no hairdryer available and limited power. Breakfast was good, but some of the pancakes were raw in the middle. Overall we enjoyed our stay but I think there is probably better value out there.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LBRBNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Hotel's website home page states that the hotel is "Across the street from The Inn you’ll find the sand and surf of Monterey's beautiful Del Monte Beach", and shows a beautiful beach photo. THIS IS A COMPLETE AND UTTER LIE! What it really looks like across the street are a number of small businesses in rundown buildings. The beach is at least one and one-half blocks away from the Hotel and NOT ACROSS THE STREET. This place is a dump and on a VERY busy noisy street. We told the owners we could not stay because it was so dirty and dark and all a lie and they said "ok." Now they are claiming a ONE WEEK cancellation policy and trying to charge us anyway.

Room Tip: Read teh bad reviews on YELP and elsewhere, they are all true---a rear dump. Depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stevew2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Room was tiny and dirty. Hotel manager was rude and they refused to refund our money when we did not accept their substandard accommodations. Unless you're looking for dingy old accommodations with terrible customer service, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: try another hotel if you want to enjoy Monterey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here 3 nights over the annual car-oriented week in August. After reading some of the reviews prior to our stay I was a bit concerned since the reason for our annual visit is to drive and display our Italian sports car. Yes, it’s not in the usual touristy area of Monterey; Yes, parking on premises is limited; Yes, some of the rooms were on the small side. However, everything about our experience negated these areas of concern. There is plenty of street parking in the residential neighborhood, but we were able to make prior arrangements to reserve one of the 5 spaces available and the innkeeprs had cones with our name to mark the spot. We were assured of having a space to park each time we returned to the inn. The only thing I would change next year is to bring the car cover so that the leaves from the trees don’t drop directly onto the car. The room was cozy, but clean and charmingly decorated. Our room was on the first floor on the street side and we could hear street traffic, but that didn’t prevent us from sleeping well in the comfortable bed. Between the borrowed DVDs from the library and the compliementary wi-fi, we kept ourselves entertained for the few hours we spent in the room. Being away from the mainstream tourist areas meant that we didn’t encounter any traffic getting to/from the highways. We were able to walk to Fisherman’s Wharf in about 10 minutes, to Cannery Row in about 30 following the bike path. There is also a free trolley making a loop between the wharf and the aquarium so a car isn’t needed to enjoy your stay in downtown Monterey. The rooftop garden is gorgeous. Wish the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed it. Breakfast was delicious and well presented. Even the afternoon cocktail service featured great pre-dinner appetizers. The innkeepers were attentive and accommodating and provided great service. Given that many of the other lodging in and around the area from Carmel Valley to Seaside increase their rates and have a 3 night minimum for this event, we got a GREAT value. We have already made reservations for next year’s visit and heard other guests doing the same! Uh oh, maybe I should've kept this a secret...

Room Tip: Upper floors may be quieter and a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konghaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayd at the Inn at Dal Monte beach for two nights, we were on our way home to San Francisco and we couldn't pick a better place!
The hotel is located just few blocks from downtown and fisherman's wharf. Also, the beach is right across the street.
The room (we opted for a basic one) was not too spacious but charming and well furnished. The bathroom was clean and very very comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing! It consisted of a first course (something sweet such as youghurt or a piece of cake) and the classic toasted bread with scrumbled eggs. I have to tell you, I'm italian and I'm not a big fun of the american-style breakfast, but They made me enjoy it!
Therefore, every guest can experience a wine-tasting moment around 5 o'clock.. nice wines and nice company.

If I came back to Monterey, I would definitely stay again at the Inn at Dal Monte Beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabravery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed there for a night in July and at first had difficulty finding it. Very little
signage and at first we thought it was a run-down building. However, once inside, the rooms are exquisitely furnished and the Inn has a real "boutique" feel. The owners were very helpful and friendly and all fixtures and fittings are modern and of a good quality. The rooftop patio is fantastic. Breakfast was a delight featuring a couple of home made courses served by the friendly staff. The only down side is that it is on a very busy street/junction with a lot of traffic noise - even during the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Property: Hotel 1110
Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing