We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasurable experience-to say the least.”
Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #6 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unpleasurable experience-to say the least.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We would never stay here again. We booked through Hotels.com, had poor communication through them and decided to call the hotel direct to confirm our reservation, since we were traveling, only staying one night. The hotel is in industrial area, an automotive repair shop next door. The rooms are noisy, could here someone clearly through our bathroom window. Street noise is terrible. Only 4 tiny parking spaces in rear, only fite smaller cars. The room is TINY, the "fireplace" is a tv-type screen below the television which was very hard to change channels. The only good thing was the breakfast, the rest is 1.5 star quality....imagine that you are backpacking in Europe and are staying at the type of euro hotel that you would be able to afford. Never-ever again.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    102
    44
    26
    51
See reviews for
23
236
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The service was outstanding, the room was adorable, we had room 201 which had an ocean view but the street was noisy. We didn't mind the noise of the street as long as the windows were shut. At night we were able to walk to the beach safely and enjoy a bottle of wine! ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It was difficult to spot this hotel as it doesn't look like a hotel and even the parking behind the building is hard to find, but don't judge this hotel by its outside appearance. It is a delight inside. The proprietor is so nice and thoughtful. Checking in was fast and easy. Our room was small, but comfortable with many amenities. We had luxurious robes to use, an electric fireplace to warm the room at night, a large TV, free internet, plenty of thick towels and closet space. This is not a cookie cutter hotel and that is the charm. We enjoyed a glass of wine during happy hour each evening during our two night stay. The bartender was friendly, attentive and helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful! The service and friendly atmosphere was something really special that you will never find in a chain hotel. This hotel is a great value and was a wonderful experience. Frankly, I wasn't so sure when we first saw the hotel, but we were absolutely delighted. One tip: ask for a room toward the back of the hotel, away from the street. At times, the street noise can be a bit loud. It didn't keep us awake, but a room toward the back would be very quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are looking for a small, family owned hotel with excellent customer service, unique design, clean and comfortable furnishings in a great central location, this is your best bet in Monterey. It is right on Del Monte Ave, which runs along the beach and through downtown, a block from the El Estero Park, and five blocks from the central business district and Monterey Conference Center. You can walk to everything. We left our car in the parking lot for four days. Across the street is the linear park along the waterfront with a great paved walking/biking trail that takes you south to the harbor and beyond to Cannery Row or north to the beach dunes. One afternoon we walked along the trail all the way to the Monterey Aquarium (about a mile).

The hotel is more like a big bed and breakfast. The owner and two staff are there every day 7:00 am-10:00 pm. The lobby is essentially a living room with a private bar. Comfy chairs to lounge in (see photos below), good wireless Internet service, and pleasant conversation with the assistant manager Lance Staub and caretaker Nashua. The breakfast was unbelievable. Guests are served a full complementary gourmet breakfast every morning with a menu that changes daily. You don't choose from the menu, they just bring you the day's fare. One day we got yoghurt and fresh fruit followed by Belgian french toast with strawberries and whipped cream. Coffee, tea, and orange juice, too. Another morning we got a delectable Spanish frittata with homemade sausages and toast with the hotel's homemade jams and preserves.

There are only three floors and a handful of rooms on each floor. Rooms are very nicely furnished and the beds super comfortable with unusually spacious bathrooms. Ours had a jacuzzi tub. A special amenity is that the fourth floor is a full outdoor roof patio overlooking the city with enough tables and chairs scattered about for probably 40 people. You can order beer or wine and tapas or a cheese plate from the small bar in the lobby and they will deliver it to the roof where you can relax, talk, sip, and nibble admiring the view. I was up there one evening with my wife and two friends enjoying a beer at sunset when a young couple arrived with a bottle of wine and a tapas plate. They reclined into a cushy love seat next to a table with a gas fire set in its center. Nashua brought them blankets to snuggle under. After sunset, the ocean breeze was a little cool for us (March) so we asked the staff to turn on the overhead heater above our table. It kept us toasty for hours. Another nice amenity is that every hotel guest gets a free drink between 5-7 pm. Guests wander down to the lobby bar after 5:00 for a drink (wine or beer mostly) and chat with each other and with Lance. We had a nice conversation with a couple from the UK one evening.

This hotel is like something you would find in a small city in Europe: family owned, unpretentious but very tastefully designed, maintained with pride, and focused on customer satisfaction. If you aren't on a tight budget, I highly recommend this hotel. It is not especially expensive--its prices are comparable to other nice hotels in Monterey...with taxes you are normally looking at $150/night. But keep in mind that this includes about 18% tax and every guest gets a wonderful breakfast and a free drink each evening. If you are parking for free in the back lot that's another savings. So $150 starts looking like a pretty good deal with all that added in. If you can pay that much, then you should give it a try as opposed to staying in one of the other standard three star hotels where nothing will be particularly unique or memorable.

In the interest of full disclosure I would like to mention a couple downsides. The tiny parking lot the hotel maintains in a rear courtyard only holds about five vehicles and negotiating the entrance and the lot are tricky--very close quarters. You can reserve a spot there but it will cost you $10/day. Otherwise it is first come, first served. There is, however, ample street parking nearby. There is no place to pull up in front of the hotel and unload. You have to pull into the back or park around the corner on Park Ave (I recommend the latter). The staff gladly helped us bring our luggage into the hotel from the car. Also, Del Monte Street is the one busy thoroughfare in Monterey. You can hear traffic noise in the rooms, especially if you open a window. Ask for a room away from Del Monte Street to reduce that noise. The hotel is a historic building and there is little insulation between the floors. We heard the people above us walking around every morning at 7:00 am. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the third floor where no one will be above you. Finally, the wireless Internet service on the 2nd and 3rd floors was often unavailable. The owner knew about the problem and was trying to fix it. For three of our four days there, we had to be on the first floor to get Internet access (lobby and breakfast room). Other people who have rated this hotel have mentioned the Internet problem, too.

In short, this is a place with far more assets than drawbacks that offers a unique experience for its guests. Best for those who are staying two or more nights. Great for couples and foreign travelers. Perfect for anyone going to Monterey for a conference or convention but who doesn't want to stay in the big conference hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and away from Del Monte Street if you are sensitive to ambient noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a delightful stay at Hotel 1110. We loved the friendly attentiveness of the owners and the staff and the decor was quirky and charming. Our room, while it was small (we knew this going in), was comfortable, romantic and charming. The electric fireplace kept us more than warm in the evenings and I loved having windows that opened. The bath also had a retro charm as well as a two-person Jacuzzi tub. The homemade breakfasts were delicious. The rooftop patio provided a great view of Monterey Bay -- a great place to enjoy a cigar and our complementary late afternoon wine. Since this was a romantic getaway for us, having this be a no-children facility was a plus.

We're big fans of B&Bs and we were aware of some of the "misses" some people have complained about -- small rooms (this is a vintage hotel not built to modern-day standards) and parking (there are only five spots in the back but street parking around the corner wasn't that all that inconvenient). It's not within walking distance of nearby attractions, but I considered that a plus. The personal attention of the owners and staff and the character of the building and decor more than made up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: Have a realistic expectation of a B&B/boutique hotel in an older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDW586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel was a spur of the moment decision, well worth the price. Had problems with credit card booking through bookings.com but the reservation was held and the room ready on our arrival. Staff were cheerful and attentive. Complimentary beer and wine each on arrival and hors d'oeuvres with happy hour also pleasant. We had a standard double room on the ground floor which suited with our baggage. Parking is limited and first come first served, a tight entrance and small spaces could be a challenge for larger vehicles. Breakfast is a set menu different each day with no clue as to what is coming out. Our natural yoghurt with honey and walnuts starter and French toast with Forrest berries and Golden syrup was great. There is a great rooftop terrace garden though there is no service there the lobby bar is open to obtain your refreshment of choice. Close to the fisherman's wharf a comfortable walk back after dinner to settle your meal. Staff were of great help in sourcing meal and entertainment options.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter and ground floor rooms ideal if you have bags or trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmar, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I just spent two nights at this hotel over Valentines Day weekend. The room we had was on the first floor and it was pretty cramped, it needed some kind of table and a couple of chairs, if both of us wanted to sit at the same time one had to sit on the bed, which was not very confy. That being said, the breakfast was awesome, something different each morning, the wine reception was nice and the owners were very friendly. One thing I would change for sure if we stayed there again would be to ask for a room with a king size bed and a window that you can open to let in the breeze.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel1110, Manager at Hotel 1110, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review, our designer is working to address your concerns about the room lay out and your suggestions are helpful. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Property: Hotel 1110
Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing