We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #6 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What an unexpected surprise! We found this gem purely by chance. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but as soon as you step inside you can see it's something special. The bar/ lounge and dining area have been decorated with great taste. The complimentary arrival drink is a treat, especially when you enjoy it on the rooftop on the 4th floor, which has various lounge areas to relax in and take in the views of the bay a block away. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was home cooked and delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only a few minutes drive to Fisherman's Wharf and the Cannery. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    101
    43
    26
    50
See reviews for
23
232
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I traveled to Monterey for a conference a few weeks ago. The conference was held at a hotel on Cannery Row. Since I try to avoid chain "cookie cutter" hotels I decided to stay at Hotel 1110 after doing a little on-line research and it was the best decision ever! Hotel 1110 was only a quick 5 minute drive to the conference (cannery row) and very central in general. It was within walking distance to the Old Fisherman's Wharf where I walked over to have lunch almost every day. I loved the 1930's architecture with its old fire escape so typical of buildings of this era. Initially, it appeared to be "out of place" since it is randomly located in a slightly industrial area. The parking lot is behind the hotel with only a few spaces available and pulling in and out of the small lot required a bit of technique. The outside of the building is simple and elegant and once you walk in, the hotel oozes chic sophistication and comfort. I felt like I was staying at a bed and breakfast in Paris. Keep in mind that this is a boutique hotel so don't expect the typical amenities of larger chain hotel such as a pool, gym, valet, etc. Instead expect warm hospitality, attention to detail, an amazing homemade breakfast, and a breathtaking view of Monterey Bay from their roof top lounge. The hotel is a family run business and the owners/innkeepers were so welcoming. They made me feel at home and like part of the family. I enjoyed chit-chatting with them and the nice concierge/bartender at the bar during cocktail hour. I stayed in their second floor king. I personally felt the room was spacious enough (from reading some of the reviews that stated otherwise). Sure, the room itself may not be as large as your chain hotel room, but this is typical of boutique hotels where the quality of the amenities more than make up for this. The room and bathroom were luxuriously appointed. I felt like I was in my own personal oasis. I loved that my room opened up to a private outdoor patio and allowed fresh air in. If you plan on staying in for the night, the hotel also offers a large variety of movies on DVD at no extra charge! I especially loved their rooftop lounge. It was the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine while watching the sun set behind Monterey Bay. I hope that your stay is as enjoyable as mine was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthego617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice boutique hotel. The hotel has nice boutique furniture in its reception area.The bedrooms are very small although the bed is vert comfy. It was perfect for a nights stay but if I was to stay longer I would prefer a room that has more space. The room had a nice television and electric fire. The breakfast was fabulous. Fresh fruit, pancakes and yogurt.
This hotel is very clean with very nice staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 127holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We would never stay here again. We booked through Hotels.com, had poor communication through them and decided to call the hotel direct to confirm our reservation, since we were traveling, only staying one night. The hotel is in industrial area, an automotive repair shop next door. The rooms are noisy, could here someone clearly through our bathroom window. Street noise is terrible. Only 4 tiny parking spaces in rear, only fite smaller cars. The room is TINY, the "fireplace" is a tv-type screen below the television which was very hard to change channels. The only good thing was the breakfast, the rest is 1.5 star quality....imagine that you are backpacking in Europe and are staying at the type of euro hotel that you would be able to afford. Never-ever again.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The service was outstanding, the room was adorable, we had room 201 which had an ocean view but the street was noisy. We didn't mind the noise of the street as long as the windows were shut. At night we were able to walk to the beach safely and enjoy a bottle of wine! ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It was difficult to spot this hotel as it doesn't look like a hotel and even the parking behind the building is hard to find, but don't judge this hotel by its outside appearance. It is a delight inside. The proprietor is so nice and thoughtful. Checking in was fast and easy. Our room was small, but comfortable with many amenities. We had luxurious robes to use, an electric fireplace to warm the room at night, a large TV, free internet, plenty of thick towels and closet space. This is not a cookie cutter hotel and that is the charm. We enjoyed a glass of wine during happy hour each evening during our two night stay. The bartender was friendly, attentive and helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful! The service and friendly atmosphere was something really special that you will never find in a chain hotel. This hotel is a great value and was a wonderful experience. Frankly, I wasn't so sure when we first saw the hotel, but we were absolutely delighted. One tip: ask for a room toward the back of the hotel, away from the street. At times, the street noise can be a bit loud. It didn't keep us awake, but a room toward the back would be very quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are looking for a small, family owned hotel with excellent customer service, unique design, clean and comfortable furnishings in a great central location, this is your best bet in Monterey. It is right on Del Monte Ave, which runs along the beach and through downtown, a block from the El Estero Park, and five blocks from the central business district and Monterey Conference Center. You can walk to everything. We left our car in the parking lot for four days. Across the street is the linear park along the waterfront with a great paved walking/biking trail that takes you south to the harbor and beyond to Cannery Row or north to the beach dunes. One afternoon we walked along the trail all the way to the Monterey Aquarium (about a mile).

The hotel is more like a big bed and breakfast. The owner and two staff are there every day 7:00 am-10:00 pm. The lobby is essentially a living room with a private bar. Comfy chairs to lounge in (see photos below), good wireless Internet service, and pleasant conversation with the assistant manager Lance Staub and caretaker Nashua. The breakfast was unbelievable. Guests are served a full complementary gourmet breakfast every morning with a menu that changes daily. You don't choose from the menu, they just bring you the day's fare. One day we got yoghurt and fresh fruit followed by Belgian french toast with strawberries and whipped cream. Coffee, tea, and orange juice, too. Another morning we got a delectable Spanish frittata with homemade sausages and toast with the hotel's homemade jams and preserves.

There are only three floors and a handful of rooms on each floor. Rooms are very nicely furnished and the beds super comfortable with unusually spacious bathrooms. Ours had a jacuzzi tub. A special amenity is that the fourth floor is a full outdoor roof patio overlooking the city with enough tables and chairs scattered about for probably 40 people. You can order beer or wine and tapas or a cheese plate from the small bar in the lobby and they will deliver it to the roof where you can relax, talk, sip, and nibble admiring the view. I was up there one evening with my wife and two friends enjoying a beer at sunset when a young couple arrived with a bottle of wine and a tapas plate. They reclined into a cushy love seat next to a table with a gas fire set in its center. Nashua brought them blankets to snuggle under. After sunset, the ocean breeze was a little cool for us (March) so we asked the staff to turn on the overhead heater above our table. It kept us toasty for hours. Another nice amenity is that every hotel guest gets a free drink between 5-7 pm. Guests wander down to the lobby bar after 5:00 for a drink (wine or beer mostly) and chat with each other and with Lance. We had a nice conversation with a couple from the UK one evening.

This hotel is like something you would find in a small city in Europe: family owned, unpretentious but very tastefully designed, maintained with pride, and focused on customer satisfaction. If you aren't on a tight budget, I highly recommend this hotel. It is not especially expensive--its prices are comparable to other nice hotels in Monterey...with taxes you are normally looking at $150/night. But keep in mind that this includes about 18% tax and every guest gets a wonderful breakfast and a free drink each evening. If you are parking for free in the back lot that's another savings. So $150 starts looking like a pretty good deal with all that added in. If you can pay that much, then you should give it a try as opposed to staying in one of the other standard three star hotels where nothing will be particularly unique or memorable.

In the interest of full disclosure I would like to mention a couple downsides. The tiny parking lot the hotel maintains in a rear courtyard only holds about five vehicles and negotiating the entrance and the lot are tricky--very close quarters. You can reserve a spot there but it will cost you $10/day. Otherwise it is first come, first served. There is, however, ample street parking nearby. There is no place to pull up in front of the hotel and unload. You have to pull into the back or park around the corner on Park Ave (I recommend the latter). The staff gladly helped us bring our luggage into the hotel from the car. Also, Del Monte Street is the one busy thoroughfare in Monterey. You can hear traffic noise in the rooms, especially if you open a window. Ask for a room away from Del Monte Street to reduce that noise. The hotel is a historic building and there is little insulation between the floors. We heard the people above us walking around every morning at 7:00 am. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the third floor where no one will be above you. Finally, the wireless Internet service on the 2nd and 3rd floors was often unavailable. The owner knew about the problem and was trying to fix it. For three of our four days there, we had to be on the first floor to get Internet access (lobby and breakfast room). Other people who have rated this hotel have mentioned the Internet problem, too.

In short, this is a place with far more assets than drawbacks that offers a unique experience for its guests. Best for those who are staying two or more nights. Great for couples and foreign travelers. Perfect for anyone going to Monterey for a conference or convention but who doesn't want to stay in the big conference hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and away from Del Monte Street if you are sensitive to ambient noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Property: Hotel 1110
Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing