We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #5 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hospitality of the staff was wonderful. A big shout out to the rooftop bartender Andrew who always had a smile on his face and was great to talk to. Tambien un saludo para mi compa Juan, quien cocina la mera onda! Translation...if Juan cooks it, you better eat it. Everything we tried was delicious and cooked to order. Lots of fresh and organic items and everything made in house, right down to the guacamole and pickled vegetables. Happy hour is free wine or beer and small appetizer. Premium spirits are are offered for cocktails at an extremely low rate. Literally, well prices for the good stuff! If you are a scotch drinker especially, the hotel bar has a very nice selection and you will not be disappointed. The bartender was so nice and though they are somewhat limited on equipment and mixers, he was not too flustered. We were happy to wait patiently in the comfy, oversized chairs around the firepit with an ocean view. He even allowed us to look through his drink-recipe book so we could try new concoctions. They offered bar snacks as well while we waited for our dishes.

The rooms were a bit awkward. They have an interesting configuration which is expected in a small hotel. There is no A/C in the rooms which being right on the ocean was not a bad thing but if there is ever a hot day there would be no relaxation. We thought that since there was no A/C there would at least be a ceiling fan to help circulate the air but there was none. A plug-in fan is available upon request. We had a corner unit so we had 4 windows which let in plenty of air but there were no screens on the windows so at night the only way to have ventilation is to leave the windows open. We did have the blinds closed to not let the light in but allow some air which helped but a ceiling fan would have been nice.But we would have gladly given up the electric fireplace, heated bathroom floor tiles and super fancy jet shower for A/C instead. Kind of strange, in order to promote "total relaxation" they keep extra "distractions" out of the room such as a microwave, coffee maker, utensils and advise that you don't eat in the room. But they still have a tv? Also, since there were no screens we noticed a couple of bug bites in the morning. There is a lake a block over so we think they were a couple of mosquitos. The bathroom light is not very bright and the curtains are extremely dark so it takes your eyes a few minutes to get used to the lighting in there.We booked this through a living social deal and we feel we got a great value for what we paid. Our 'value' rating on this review is for a regularly priced stay. Rooms stayed fairly cool with the windows open however, the hallway and lower lobby area was very hot and stuffy. There was one small window open during breakfast but with all the cooking, it didn't help. Was nice that the hall lights have motion sensors. So they are dark at night, I can't stand when hotel hall lights come into the room at night. They only came on with the sensors and at night, still fairly dim.

Breakfast is served every morning and is not just fruit, bread and coffee. This is a real breakfast which is made fresh for each guest and very delicious. Coffee, tea and orange juice plus 2 small courses. On real porcelain plates, teacups with saucers and real silverware.

We interacted with the female owner who is very hospitable and very friendly. We didn't interact much with the male owner but he was friendly when we did. For the services and hospitality, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the second or third floors. Many reviewers complain about the ground floor tra...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oskar_A356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1110
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Yes the rooms are tiny but we had a little balcony! It was fine for two friends to share; more European and more than made up for with the quality of service. Everyone we interacted with was lovely. The breakfasts were the best I had during our week long trip up the coast. Each morning was different and delicious. The owners were friendly and the bartender just delightful. It was close to a running trail near the water and a park. We did walk to go on our whale watching trip but had to drive down to cannery row. It is on a main road so it was easy to get around. The on site parking lot was rather small but we had no problems finding a spot on a side street vary close by. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this room on the recommendation of the reviews. Most of the reviews were accurate...quaint, boutique-like, unexpected. We took the SLOW elevator to the third floor and were unpleasantly surprised by the size. It was uber tiny with only inches of space between the bed and the wall/window area and inches between the bed/armoire. There were no chairs and no luggage stands, only a couple of small box-style benches under the "picture-frame fireplace" to hold one suitcase. The bathroom was nice with a fabulous Kohler body shower unit. However, it had a pedestal stand sink with no counter space and no fan. The only air flow came from the open window which was on the alley near the busy street. We had to shut our window at night to block out some of the noise. The very best part of our stay was the delicious breakfast (included in room price) served in the beautiful dining room. Overall, it was an interesting experience but one we will not have again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacations4us2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband booked us a room for the night to have a special, romantic weekend away. The hotel called us mid-day to let us know there was a problem with our room and that they had booked us a room in another hotel called Hofsas House in Carmel. This was the first lie since we were informed secretly that they had overbooked the room which happens to be illegal.

We checked in at Hofsas House and during check-in my husband noticed that on the invoice it read $134 which was roughly $150 shy of what we were paying Hotel 1110 for a comparable room. When we got to our room it was not what we were expecting for a special weekend away. I want to mention up front that Hofsas House was nice and the staff was excellent but not what we wanted for our special weekend. We called the hotel right away to inform them of the issue.

After trying to explain to the front desk what the issue was they insisted that we just got put in the wrong room. They claimed that we should have been put in a much larger room. We made it very clear we don't want or need a bigger room for just the two of us. We wanted to be compensated with a discount or refund. My husband had to repeat himself so many times I began to wonder about the competency of the staff.

After getting off the phone they called the staff at Hofsas House and tried to move us into a larger room. We let them know that's not what we wanted nor what we discussed. Keep in mind this is all going on during the time we were meant to be having a romantic dinner. We immediately called the hotel back and requested the manager. The front desk person who we had just been speaking with now claimed to be the manager. This was the second lie.

My husband asked for her name but instead she asked him to hold and put the real manager on who we informed that we wanted them to cancel our booking and that we would just pay for Hofsas House directly. To this they seemed to be at a loss for words and tried to say that it couldn't be done but that they would look into it and call us back, third lie.

My husband immediately called booking.com which explained that was simply untrue. They requested that we pay for our room at Hofsas House and that they would cancel the booking for us which they did immediately.

The hotel never called back and never apologized for such gross mismanagement. We will never book a room again with such unprofessional scammers, best of luck to you if you do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was to be our last stop of a 3 week road trip and was a gem we uncovered. I'd search hi and low looking for the perfect place to stay at a reasonable price in Monterey and I'm more than happy with what we came up with. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, the manageress showed us where to park and checked us in swiftly she then invited us back down for happy hour first drink was on the house which was nice. We sat around chatting to the staff who advised us of places to go visit the big sur was one of them and what a lovely drive it was. We were Hungary so we asked for a recommendation as to where to eat. We said we have been wanting fresh sea food all holiday and asked if there was a place on fisher and wharf they recommend. We was advised to take a right out of the hotel and walk about 1 mile to a little place called Monterey fish house this is away from the hustle and bussel but the food would be the best. They weren't wrong best seafood I have ever tasted. That good we booked to go back the second night. Upon returning to the hotel the temperature had dropped so we picked up a jacket before walking across to the beach to watch the sun set and see the sea lions that had come close to shore. You couldn't get any closer to the beach. It was perfect location and so peaceful.
Upon returning to the hotel we decided to order a packed lunch for the following day $15 dollars each it would cost we were on holiday so we didn't mind the price. When we got round to opening the packed lunch it was worth every cent. The sandwich was one of the best I've ever had. The lunch was packed away in a nice rucksack with cool packs and cutlery. We were offered blankets to take with us to the beach for our trip. I'm not going to spoil the surprise if what comes with the packed lunch. But it was worth every cent thanks so much it was great.
Breakfast - wow so much pride is taken at the hotel with all the little details. 2 course breakfast and it honestly blew me away. The breakfast changes daily and the smile on the ladies face when serving us shows how much it meant to her.
The terraced bar upstairs is a sun trap. Plenty of seats and amazing views of Monterey.
Cocktails are pretty good too and very reasonable in price.
Don't hesitate give this place ago.....fisher and wharf is a lovely 10 mins walk and only a 3-4 min drive to the aquarium and cannery row. Thanks so much for the hospitality you really did go above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3m1ly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing place! Very quaint. It took me back to Europe. Great service. Clean rooms and beautiful bathroom. They have happy hour 5-7 every day. The breakfast in the morning was a full one with everything home made. Don't be scare for how it looks from outside. Go in, you will love it! We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizette3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What an unexpected surprise! We found this gem purely by chance. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but as soon as you step inside you can see it's something special. The bar/ lounge and dining area have been decorated with great taste. The complimentary arrival drink is a treat, especially when you enjoy it on the rooftop on the 4th floor, which has various lounge areas to relax in and take in the views of the bay a block away. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was home cooked and delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only a few minutes drive to Fisherman's Wharf and the Cannery. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £91 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing