We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Sleeper' boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #5 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The 50's look outside hide a beautiful gem inside. My wife and I just spent a lovely weekend in room 205 (fronting the street). We cannot say enough about the entire staff. Warm, friendly, and accommodating are just the start. The biggest surprise was the quality of the food. For the Friday 'happy hour' on the roof overlooking the Bay we ordered Salmon and with our complementary wine. We didn't need to go out to dinner - just crossed the street and took a walk along the beach. Breakfast each morning was delightful.
We did request a fan and that circulation made the room very comfortable in spite of no A/C.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This small hotel is in a great location in Monterey. It is excellent for staying a night or two while on road trips along HWY 101 and Big Sur.

Pros:
1. Great, friendly staff. They will do about everything to get you accommodated.
2. Delicious, hearty breakfast. They change it daily.
3. Good decoration. Each room has it own decoration (theme).
4. It probably the only B&B that has a rooftop deck (open 24 hrs). This little secret makes the hotel an ideal place for great panoramic photos of Monterey. The rooftop is beautifully decorated and they have a small bar open till around 11 pm.

Cons:
1. Rooms ( at least ours) do not have A/C... this should not be a problem during fall, winter or spring... but during the summer months, the temperature in Monterey could be high and then you which for A/C

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband I recently stayed at Hotel 1110 for a night while on a road trip. We would have liked to give them a 4 out of 5 instead of a 3 out of 5, but unfortunately we had too many cons to give that rating.

The pros:

1. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. when I told them I was allergic to down feathers they were able to give me two non-feathered pillows so I could sleep. Also when we had been incorrectly charged for food purchased at their upstair's bar, they immediately rectified it.

2. The bathroom in our second floor king room was fabulous and we loved the jet shower and jet tub.

3. They serve a lovely warm, freshly made breakfast every morning in their dining room with coffee and orange juice.

4. The hotel offers its guests a complimentary beverage during happy hour at the beginning of their stay and they have a wonderful roof top bar and eating area overlooking the bay.

Cons:

1. I am fine with a room that has no air conditioning, but our room had no fan and there were no screens on any of the windows to allow us to keep them open at night. This probably isn't an issue in the fall, spring and winter months, but in summer when it's hot, it would be nice to have at least one of these amenities (screens on windows or a fan).

2. After our night's sleep we woke up with bites all over our arms, legs and chests.


3. When we went up to the bar, we ordered their grilled potatoes aioli and while their grilled potatoes were delicious, they served them with ketchup and not with the aioli that was listed on their menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Looks very strange from the outside, but it changes once you are inside. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very nice. There was a "happy hour" with a free drink on the roof in the evening, which was very relaxing and they also had great food. The breakfast was cooked freshly when we were ready and was like being at home. The food and coffee was beautiful. Highly recommend Hotel 1110.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Micaela_j27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay. Beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff.
Hotel 1110 is a little gem! It doesn't look like much from the outside but once your through the front door you will not be let down!
Stunning roof top terrace, fantastic food and wine! Would return in a heart beat! Thank you!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hospitality of the staff was wonderful. A big shout out to the rooftop bartender Andrew who always had a smile on his face and was great to talk to. Tambien un saludo para mi compa Juan, quien cocina la mera onda! Translation...if Juan cooks it, you better eat it. Everything we tried was delicious and cooked to order. Lots of fresh and organic items and everything made in house, right down to the guacamole and pickled vegetables. Happy hour is free wine or beer and small appetizer. Premium spirits are are offered for cocktails at an extremely low rate. Literally, well prices for the good stuff! If you are a scotch drinker especially, the hotel bar has a very nice selection and you will not be disappointed. The bartender was so nice and though they are somewhat limited on equipment and mixers, he was not too flustered. We were happy to wait patiently in the comfy, oversized chairs around the firepit with an ocean view. He even allowed us to look through his drink-recipe book so we could try new concoctions. They offered bar snacks as well while we waited for our dishes.

The rooms were a bit awkward. They have an interesting configuration which is expected in a small hotel. There is no A/C in the rooms which being right on the ocean was not a bad thing but if there is ever a hot day there would be no relaxation. We thought that since there was no A/C there would at least be a ceiling fan to help circulate the air but there was none. A plug-in fan is available upon request. We had a corner unit so we had 4 windows which let in plenty of air but there were no screens on the windows so at night the only way to have ventilation is to leave the windows open. We did have the blinds closed to not let the light in but allow some air which helped but a ceiling fan would have been nice.But we would have gladly given up the electric fireplace, heated bathroom floor tiles and super fancy jet shower for A/C instead. Kind of strange, in order to promote "total relaxation" they keep extra "distractions" out of the room such as a microwave, coffee maker, utensils and advise that you don't eat in the room. But they still have a tv? Also, since there were no screens we noticed a couple of bug bites in the morning. There is a lake a block over so we think they were a couple of mosquitos. The bathroom light is not very bright and the curtains are extremely dark so it takes your eyes a few minutes to get used to the lighting in there.We booked this through a living social deal and we feel we got a great value for what we paid. Our 'value' rating on this review is for a regularly priced stay. Rooms stayed fairly cool with the windows open however, the hallway and lower lobby area was very hot and stuffy. There was one small window open during breakfast but with all the cooking, it didn't help. Was nice that the hall lights have motion sensors. So they are dark at night, I can't stand when hotel hall lights come into the room at night. They only came on with the sensors and at night, still fairly dim.

Breakfast is served every morning and is not just fruit, bread and coffee. This is a real breakfast which is made fresh for each guest and very delicious. Coffee, tea and orange juice plus 2 small courses. On real porcelain plates, teacups with saucers and real silverware.

We interacted with the female owner who is very hospitable and very friendly. We didn't interact much with the male owner but he was friendly when we did. For the services and hospitality, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the second or third floors. Many reviewers complain about the ground floor tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oskar_A356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Yes the rooms are tiny but we had a little balcony! It was fine for two friends to share; more European and more than made up for with the quality of service. Everyone we interacted with was lovely. The breakfasts were the best I had during our week long trip up the coast. Each morning was different and delicious. The owners were friendly and the bartender just delightful. It was close to a running trail near the water and a park. We did walk to go on our whale watching trip but had to drive down to cannery row. It is on a main road so it was easy to get around. The on site parking lot was rather small but we had no problems finding a spot on a side street vary close by. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#31 of 56 in Monterey
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £87 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing