We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant but dated choice on the fringe of Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Oceanside Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“A pleasant but dated choice on the fringe of Monterey”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

It's strange when your almost 63 year old husband (a California native) remembers staying some place when he was in highschool. Even I recall this motel, with its roses outside, from my early Monterey days in 1974. The good news? It was easily $20 less than either of the other two we'd inquired about staying. The owners were pleasant (believe me, there were a couple this trip that were downright surly!), the rooms were updated and clean enough, and the breakfast was adaqate. The noise from the street wasn't anywhere near a problem, but then we were in about 6:30 p.m. and out again around 8 a.m. I honestly don't remember the rooms being dirty or the linens being tatty (i remember the hotel where they WERE, and this wasn not it). Bottom line: you could do a lot worse, even for $98, but several hotels we stayed in (this trip) in this price range were nicer or had better breakfasts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just to the left of the office (as you face the motel) and had no undue traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    24
    12
    22
See reviews for
15
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We spend last week in Monterey at this facility. The towels are small and paper thin, the bed is terrible, The fan in the bathroom is so loud you can not hear anything else espcet the fan in the next room which is just as loud as yours. The fornt door was very dirty on the inside and there is not safety lock on the door.
You are very close to the street and you hear cars all night long.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank WatchfulFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Vancouver, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The ivy and roses outside were lovely. The first room we saw was moldy, the second was better. Only some rooms had two keys. Towels were thin and small, sheets had holes. Walls were thin. The weekend price was exorbitant, breakfast was boring, Costco muffins and cornflakes, but the worst was the night I was sick and noticed the toilet hadn't been properly cleaned under the rim, in years. I requested that hey clean it, but they only cleaned the seat.
Outside our door was a bowl of cigarette butts, on top of the air con. was a bar of pink soap. It was conveniently located, that's the best I can say.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I was disappointed with what the motel offered for how much I paid to stay there. It is right on Del Monte Ave (a main, busy street) and we could hear the cars zipping by all night long. The beds were cheap and the walls were paper thin - we listened to our neighbor snoring away in between the speeding cars. The breakfast included with the room consisted of poor coffee, muffins cut into slices and dry cereal - not exactly what I was expecting. The only perk was that the place was clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthecalisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

So where to start.......

Holes in the non-fitted sheets
Mold all over shower curtain
Hole in door of bathroom
Office says open, but they won't let you inside for utensils/microwave
Bed was stained and uncomfortable... Really uncomfortable
Super thin walls.....

Bottom line: go somewhere else.




Bottom line

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straghtfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

we spent a happy enough evening here, based on a $50 price,it was good value, felt warm safe not too noisy, with internet too. Im fussy about beds, and it was pretty basic but only as you might expect for the price. The manager may have been slightly grumpy but the service was perfectly acceptable, eg bringing us extra pillows. A place to stay if passing through on route 1 and on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We only paid 50 bucks for a stay during the week. The room was new and relativeley big. Everything was okay except for the towels which had holes in them. Forget about the breakfast (terrible coffee) but we didnt mind that since the rate was so low. Nice place if you dont want to spend too much. I would always prefer it to a Motel 6. Also great location, we went jogging at the beach in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joberger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
592 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Oceanside Inn

Property: Monterey Oceanside Inn
Address: 2030 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3710
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Oceanside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Oceanside Inn offers spacious and newly renovated rooms, featuring granite or marble bathrooms with tubs and air condition in every room. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood where the beach is only 3 blocks away, the motel also lies right across the street from a recreational trail that stretches 7 miles along the coast. The Monterey Oceanside Inn is near Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey Fairgrounds, and Fisherman's Wharf. Monterey Oceanside Inn provides complimentary breakfast, a 24-hour front desk, complimentary parking, and express check-out. All guestrooms have cable television, free local calls, and air conditioning; bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Oceanside Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing