We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT VIEWS!!!”

Jacks Peak County Park
Ranked #18 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“WHAT VIEWS!!!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We hiked here on a Saturday afternoon. The wind was strong and quite cold, but as we hiked off of the exposed ridge it was much more comfortable. We saw a beautiful view of Monterey Bay and then another great view of the Carmel Valley. Our hike took us about 2.6 miles, just a very pleasant afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The very best view of Monterey Bay!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

An easy hike on an easy trail, well-kept. Breathtaking views o the Bay! My hotel manager recommended it as his very favorite spot in the area. He's "right on"!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It feels like you are miles from civilazation”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a beautiful park - found a nice family friendly trail that entertained us for a few hours of hiking through tall trees and local vegetation. It felt like we were miles from everything...but we were just a short drive from our hotel. It didn't hurt that the weather was perfect either! Great time of year to hike in Monterey!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic lunch”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great place for a quiet picnic lunch and great views of the Monterey bay area very beautiful picnic area in a grove of evergreens. Nicely kept up.You may have to fight the Stellers jays for your table. A great rural area after a morning in Monterey. Bring your own lunch

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a nice hike, not to tough and views of both the Bay and the Valley. Wear layers because once you turn the corner from the Monterey side to the Carmel Valley side the temperature raises. Watch out for poision oak. Lots of it there. Dogs allowed on leash is nice too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RtLuvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacks Peak County Park also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Jacks Peak County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing