We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foggy days, rainy days even sunny days”

Monterey County Youth Museum
Ranked #36 of 103 things to do in Monterey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now open at 425 Washington Street, located in Downtown Monterey, conveniently by the Monterey Sports Center and Dennis the Menace Park, the Monterey County Youth Museum provides an environment unique to any other in Monterey County. This 8,500 square foot museum is packed with a variety of hands on exhibits, making each visit unique and exciting. It compliments any visit to the Monterey area or makes a good day into a great day for those who are fortunate to visit us on a regular basis.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Foggy days, rainy days even sunny days”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We just love Monterey County Youth Museum. It's a great place to bring the kids and know they are safe to play and engage with all the exhibits. Great staff that gets the kids involved, too. Live music on Thursdays 10-10:30am that is totally interactive and fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pgsongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to explore with little ones”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a great indoor place to take little ones. Tons of different areas with lots of intereactive themes...They have lots of climbing structures, a mini ambulance and operating room with a full size operation game. A theathre with costumes. Our 2 and half year old loved it. Inexpensive fun in a clean indoor area. They even have a craft area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KIKI95632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This place is for younger kids. Kids over 7 will probably be bored. My kids love playing in the tree house and practicing their gold swings. Two hours is more than enough time to explore MY Museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank AERJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great kids' destination”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It was nice to get out of the sun for a bit and go to a very nice children's museum. Small, but tons of activities for my preschooler. I especially loved all the costumes that children could play in, the ball apparatus, and the boat. My 3.5 year old spent most of the afternoon here and my 9 month old daughter got to crawl around in some padded spaces. Perfect!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryUNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for little ones!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first visit after looking for an affordable activity for our little girls. The Aquarium is very costly for a family of four, but this was a great alternative! Our little girls loved all of the many exhibits. The staff was very friendly. The craft station was nice and big with lots of supplies. I think their favorite station was the stage & dress-up area and the bubble wand stand. My kids had such a blast, they asked to go back the next day. We'll definitely return the next time we visit the Monterey area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monterey County Youth Museum also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey County Youth Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing