We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!”

Dennis the Menace Park
Ranked #5 of 103 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the creator of Dennis the Menace, this park has all sorts of unique attractions.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a bike ride and stumbled upon on the park. Having a toddler and preschooler in our group made this stop a no brainer. This is a large playground with plenty to do. Lots of slides, swings, rock walls, and other equipment for any child to use up a bit of their energy. Adults and children enjoyed themselves, as I witnessed several parents using the slides. The park is clean and well maintained.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    153
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My kids had a blast. My oldest son at first claimed he was too old at 11. However, he was playing with his sister after watching for a few minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveinLACa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It is a little old park”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It is where I grew up... nothing fancy. Spend hundreds of days there as a kid and have dropped by there many times over the past forty years when I visit my old home town. It has changed some over the years, but still has a similar feel to it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJ2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids Running Wild”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was the first place we stopped after our 2 hour drive to Monterey. Our 4 children couldn't wait to get out and run wild. They were so sad when it was time to go and eat lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great public park, almost as good as it was when I was a kid!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a must visit spot if you have small children. It is one of the best public parks that I've been to over the years. I must say that I'm probably a little biased because I went there in the 60's and it was such a fun place to visit as a kid. I just visited it with my 3 yr. old and he thought the same thing. He & I were both disappointed that we couldn't play on the old real locomotive engine that is there. I told him that I played on it as a kid, but I'm sure for liability reasons that they put a fence around it and you can't play on it anymore. They have added quite a bit of playground equipment, since I played there, so in many ways it is even better than it was, except for the train. I know, I'm whining a bit, but it was a lot of fun and my best memories of the park's attractions. Do yourself a favor and make a visit to this charming park!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dennis the Menace Park also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Dennis the Menace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing