We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There is a lovely little pool, the rooms were clean, and the decor throughout was just beautiful. We had a great breakfast in the morning at the hotel. Super location close to town. I would come back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms at the east side of the hotel would have a nice view out the back of the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    757
    242
    76
    33
See reviews for
637
1,092
85
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've stayed at Abrego 6 times since Nov. As many of you know the hotel/resort numbers can get quite astronomical in Monterey/Carmel unless you have Motel 6 or Best Western tastes or love B&B's. We've stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and I can't remember sleeping on a better bed....and the quality of the bedding is off the charts. The hotel is very stylish and the rooms are nicely appointed; big screen TV, fireplace, small fridge, free wi/fi, small but very adequate bathrooms with good amenities like shampoo, conditioner etc. One of the biggest pluses is the staff....friendly, knowledgeable, professional but relaxed.....again you'd think your staying at a place that would charge 2-5 times what they do. We've seen reviews that trash the food so we haven't dined there yet. But that may all be obsolete since they recently introduced a totally new 4 course fixed price menu ($23, look for it on the credenza in the room) with 2 different offerings each night. It really looks good and we can't wait to try it.....the burgers and pizza are still available too. Check out the web site, it looks exactly as it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveStarTravelers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Abrego for one night in March. The hotel is pretty easy to find and is just a short walk (15mins) from fishermans wharf. The parking is free and there were plenty of spaces when we were there. The hotel itself is very clean and quite impressive, the staff were all helpful and friendly. we checked in and were upgraded to a better room for free. we were then given a map of the town and got some recommendations for places to eat and bars. Our room was amazing, it was huge, it only had one queen bed in though(we were used to having 2 beds in each room) it had a lovely fireplace, flat screen tv and huge bathroom with massive shower. there was also free wifi. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth_ian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - it is always helpful to us to see our property and service from our guests' perspective.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here last year on a trip up the Coast from San Diego. The hotel is fantastic. It is a converted motel which someone with style obviously bought. The rooms are upscale and very nice. Parking is convenient but the lot gets full. The main building has a great place to eat breakfast and is very reasonable.

The hotel is off the beaten path a bit and is a few minute drive to Cannery row. But you get a great value for money by staying there. We stayed with our kids and had two queen beds. The room worked out perfectly and was very comfortable. We even had a fireplace in our room. We really enjoyed it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. We were in the far building and liked our room a lot. As a bonus t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The rooms are beautiful (on the small side, but the decor is great and I loved having 2 sinks and the fireplace is a great touch) and the property is just a short drive from everything. We could catch a taxi down the aquarium and drive to dinner in town. It's also right around the corner from a wonderful breakfast place, The Wild Plum Cafe, absolutely delicious coffee drinks, pastries, and eggs. The dinner at the restaurant was a very tasty prix fix menu, so we chose to go on a night where the menu suited us the best. We were the only diners and our service was great and the food was delicious. The pool is heated and has a spa pool so my husband frequented that after days of surfing. Overall is was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here as part of trip down coast. Lovely room with fireplace and very comfy bed. About 20 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf which has lovely bars and restaurants. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in a double queen bed room with fireplace across the parking lot from the main lobby. Caution for those physically impaired as there are no elevators on this side of the building. Also no air conditioning on this side so have to keep window open for ventilation which exposes you to outside noise. Can hear people in hallway and opening and closing their doors but overall pretty quiet as there was not much foot traffic. Room is very clean and spacious and wireless has good signal. Pool although staff said is heated to 80 degree is too cold to swim in this time of year as evidence by never seeing anyone in the pool. Bathroom is clean and modern but does not have counter space to place anything. Sink looks nice but is not functional as has barely enough space to get your hands under. Bed was okay but I prefer more firm mattress and comforter felt like had plastic covering. Staff was very responsive and helpful. Overall good to stay if looking for clean, spacious room. I don't know if it is the general area but the price was more than I would expect for this level- paid about $204 dollars per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing