We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed in room 1307. very happy with pretty much everything. service was great, the front desk manager made me leave with a smile on my face and the lady who served us breakfast was very pleasant too.
only grizzles were that the shower is plumbed in at a strange height so that if you're 6ft or over you have to stoop to fit under it. also, the ventilation on the bistro isn't adequate so the whole of the main building of the hotel can smell of food.
as I say, just niggles. best place we've stayed at during our California holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reservoirpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    757
    242
    76
    33
See reviews for
637
1,092
85
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel/motel was very modern as far as rooms. No air conditioning and no fan. Requested lower floor or near elevator but hotel gave me second floor but after telling them I couldn't do stairs they "found" a first floor. Friendly staff. Good food. I didn't know they had a hotel elevator building in addition to the "motel" outside door bldg. Stuffy rooms and if you are on the first floor it is not really safe and it is loud to open the window. Pillows were not comfortable...bring your own. Little water pressure in bathroom sink and shower if you want to wash your hair. Maid forgot to put TP in bathroom. Room looks very nice and up-to-date with fireplace.

Room Tip: Ask to be in main building. If weather is hot forget this place no air conditioning. Call if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Our hotel consists of 93 guest rooms that are spread out amongst 4 buildings. Two of the buildings are strictly indoor entryways, while the other two have both indoor and outdoor entryways. We do offer A/C on property in select guest rooms. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as anticipated. We hope you will give us another chance to show you a true guest experience at Hotel Abrego next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked a basic room but were given a fantastic large room with a fireplace. The rooms were really nicely decorated.
The staff were also really helpful throughout our stay.
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from fishermen's wharf with plently of bars and restaurants.
It's excellent value so we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullChris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review Hotel Abrego. Its' great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and visit again next time you are in the Monterey area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Within walking distance from Fishemans Warf we fiund this nice hotel. Easy service an clean and spacious rooms.
The only downside is the breakfast. Its diffucult with à la carte orders with two glutenintolerant persons. Most of the things on the menu where with gluten. It´s much easier with a buffe table to pick from.
Except from this everything was very good during our stay and I can recommend the hotel for other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetterLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for recommending Hotel Abrego to our Trip Advisor readers! It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come and see us if you find yourself in Monterey again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 3 week tour of the western US. This was the last “hotel” on our tour and we were perhaps a little disappointed with it.

Firstly, we arrived at 4.15pm, after the check in time and were allocated a room by one of the male front desk staff in the 3 storey block. He had to check with housekeeping by walkie talkie which rooms were ready and allocated us a room. He did try to make out that we were early and that it was before 4pm, until he checked his watch! A second man who was on the desk, we found was rather over effusive and tried to over sell this room to us.

We went to our 1st floor Abrego room to find that housekeeping was still in the room and we were told it would be about another 10 minutes before we could go back. However, we did see that there was only one queen bed in the room. We returned to front desk and told them the room was not ready and as we had a “red eye” flight home in 2 days, we wanted to get a couple of good nights sleep and would prefer a room with a king bed. After he consulted with the “Reservations manager”, we were given a room in the 2 storey block with a king bed, on the third floor, overlooking the Best Western adjoining.

Whilst this hotel is advertised as a “hotel”, it is largely a motel. There are, according to the plan given to us, 29 rooms within the main hotel building. The remaining 64 rooms are within three separate blocks (one 2 storey and two 3 storey), with exterior corridor and walkways.

The construction is timber framed, though because we were in a top floor room, noise from people walking around in rooms above was not an issue but could have been with the first room we were allocated. However we were right by the stairs and had some noise from people walking up and down. There is no air con in the room, although it didn’t get overly hot if the window was kept open. However, we did have people smoking on the balcony below us from the adjoining block and had to close the window because the smoke was drifting into our room! There was a flat screen TV with many channels. Wi Fi was free in the room and was very good. The room itself was acceptable but we did have a few noise issues. We had noise from the street at the rear, during the early hours with a street cleaning machine and then refuse vehicles collecting trash! The room was also noisy from the plumbing and water running to other rooms in the block. The Ice making machine at the bottom of the stairs also made a number of loud noises during the night and did drop ice on its own! We also had noise from people in the corridor talking for some time outside our room at 6.30am until we asked them to move!

We ate two breakfasts in the restaurant and found these to be very good with a friendly server on both mornings.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk to the wharf where we had two very good evening meals at Domenicos on the Wharf, which the hotel literature suggested. We also found 17 mile drive well worth a visit.

It is very difficult to rate this hotel as “very good”. Probably could rate it as “good” but TA don’t give us a category for that, so have to stick with “average”!

Would return to this hotel, if we ever visited Monterey again? Debatable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego with us and others on TripAdvisor. It pleases me to hear you were accommodated with your request for a King size bed after a long vacation. We are a 93 room property spread throughout 4 separate buildings which range from 2 to 3 floors each. Most of our guest rooms have entrances from an inside hallway, as well as some rooms having entrances from the outside. I apologize you were troubled by smoke from a neighboring guest. California law prohibits smoking within 20 feet of any building entryway. We do our best to prevent this from happening and advise our guests we are a non-smoking property. We hope to see you in the future if your travels bring you back to the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hotel abrego is centrally located, a few minutes from Cannery Row. The decor is clean and modern, and we really liked that there were two sinks, one being outside of the bathroom. The coffee (Wolfgang Puck brand that we'd never had before) was tasty. The room itself was on the small side. Upon check-in, I was asked if we preferred a higher floor (there are only two levels), and I just replied that we wanted a quiet room. Well....we could hear every footstep from upstairs, and let me just say that I was woken up by my neighbors having sex, and I was the unfortunate person who heard it all!! This obviously is not how I want to be woken up.
Upon check-out, I was asked how the stay was. While I didn't give details, I did mention that it was a little loud. It was then that I was told there is a new building (where check in is) and old building (where I stayed). Didn't I ask for a quiet room?? *sigh* had it not been for all the noise, and especially the morning sex, this could have been a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulldog524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Abrego on TripAdvisor. I apologize about the noise issues you experienced during your stay with us. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed all other aspects of your experience at our hotel including our location and decor. We hope you will give us another try next time you find yourself in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We are fortunate to live just over an hour away from Monterey. Since there is so much to see and do there we sometimes spend a few nights rather than just do a day trip. For my hubby's birthday we wanted to enjoy a dinner at Restaurant 1833 and I picked Hotel Abrego for our two-night stay because we could walk to the restaurant. (Usually we stay closer to the water, or in Carmel Valley).

I am very happy we decided on Hotel Abrego. Our room in the main building where the front desk is located was HUGE. We had a fireplace and because we were on ground floor we had an outdoor patio. There was an icemaker nearby and easy access to the street from a door down the hall.

Hubby uses a wheelchair so we always wonder how truly accessible an alleged accessible room will be. Our room at Hotel Abrego was perfect. Because it was so large he could get around the furniture just fine. More importantly, the bathroom was well-designed. The roll-in shower had a fold-down padded bench and the controls for the shower were near the seat rather than across the shower stall like some goofy places.

Location rocked. Not only could we walk to the birthday dinner at 1833 but also to the Monterey Museum of Art and other places. Close to downtown. Many restaurants of all kinds in the area.

We only ate in the Hotel dining room once, for breakfast. The breakfast burrito and fruit bowl were excellent - we shared them, which was plenty.

Staff were very friendly. They also quickly found the jewelry I accidentally left in the safe (yikes!).

Other reviewers mentioned fleas. I did get one bite in our room which I assume was a flea bite as I am a flea magnet. Since our room is so large I assume it is one where pets are allowed (especially since some disabled travelers have service dogs along). But I only got one bite. I honestly don't know how a hotel can completely avoid this potential if you are in a room that allows pets. I lived.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Happy belated birthday to your husband! Thank you for stepping outside of your normal accommodations and trying our hotel. You are right--our downtown location is convenient to walk to anywhere you need. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing