We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by two very friendly employees behind the reception desk who gave us some great activity tips and cheaper parking options which was useful. Our room was spacious, very clean, and had a fireplace and second sink outside the bathroom which was very convenient. We probably could have walked to canary row but we opted to drive.

Breakfast is available on site but it is not complimentary.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you Hayley724 for sharing your stay with Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your kind words to our staff. We hope to see you in the near future back at Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abrego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a roadtrip across the USA and loved this hotel.
I had read some comments re the air conditioning before our stay and emailed the hotel to ask if we could have a room with air con if possible. I had also mentioned that we were on the trip to celebrate birthdays. The reception staff to the time to check our booking and we were wished happy birthday!
We we got to our room we did indeed have air con and there was also a lovely bottle of wine and happy birthday note which was a lovely touch and much appreciated.
The rooms are really nice and modern. We had a fridge and a lovely big bathroom. The room wasn't huge but more than large enough for a few nights.
We didn't use the pool but it looked nice and clean and we were told it was heated.
The breakfast was lovely. A little expensive but probably in line with a normal hotel breakfast to be fair.
The bay is in walking distance (15 min ish walk) which is great.
I would definately stay at the Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemstone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you gemstone20 for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back if you ever find yourself back in the Monterey area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My room was beautiful and super clean. It just happened to be unusually hot weather, and the staff told me to just open my window for fresh air. I did not feel safe doing that while sleeping at night, so that was a negative. But you can walk to almost everything Monterey has to offer from this hotel. If stairs are a problem, be sure to get one of the few ground level rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWRFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Abrego! Our central location makes everything easy to walk to, and it sounds like you did just that! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in Monterey. Room (1313) was very comfortable with a large bathroom. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Fireplace in room was a nice touch. Only con would be the restaurant -- only passable food for dinner (we did not try it for breakfast).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molou_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your "Great Stay in Monterey" with us on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you back again at Hotel Abrego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If we went banck to Monterey I would consider getting something nearer the water, perhaps more of a boutique B&B. This place is OK, it has a pool albeit it a small one. The service is efficient and the rooms decent.
They were not ready for us on arrival (1400) so had to wait for a room and the booking had been messed up by Booking.com (from the UK) so the hotel had to deal with that issue.

If was want a picnic shop there is a massive supermarket up the hill away from the road to the sea, which as a massive range of fruit, wine and picnic food. For those visiting from the UK its a massive Hypermarket far bigger than Tesco!

The bar staff are friendly and the local "ale" is worth a bash too.

I wouldnt go back, or book with booking.com - but not a reflection on the room itself or the service,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you furses for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Online travel websites are great for browsing mulitple hotels at once, but booking direct is always the best! Our check in time is 4:00pm (1600)-- we try to accommodate early arrivals as best as we can. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed one night on our drive from San Francisco to Santa Monica. The Hotel is in a good location with friendly staff. It was the room that impressed the most. The room was very spacious, accommodating our family of four and all our luggage. The room had a homely feel, with its nice decor, gas log fire, chaise. Wish we could have stayed one extra night as Monterey is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariC102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you MariC102013 for sharing your "pleasant surprise"! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you at Hotel Abrego in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Hotel appears to be in a great location, only a short walk to the pier and Fisherman's Wharf. We were en-route from San Francisco to LA along Highway 1, and wanted to visit Pebble Beach. We found the hotel only a short drive (approx. 5 miles) from the entrance to the 17 Mile Drive around the Pebble Beach estate, and despite it being dark we found it quite easily.
On arrival it looked a bit Motel like, but found the reception staff on arrival very friendly and helpful. It was quite chilly outside now, and found the fireplace within our room very welcoming and homely, we were very happy with the room. Spacious, Clean and fairly well equipped. The bathroom too was a good size with a huge shower, but no bath. The bed was very comfortable with a good selection of pillows.
As mentioned the staff were very helpful, and directed us the short 10 minute walk down to the Pier where there was a selection of restaurants to choose from. (There was too, a Chinese restaurant opposite the Hotel and a Denny's next to the garage opposite). The Hotel did offer a swimming pool, hot tub, bar and restaurant, but as we were only overnight we didn't get the chance to explore.
We wish we had more time here, as the area looked very interesting and the Hotel very acceptable, we will be keeping a note of this one.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Fireplace, it gets surprisingly cool in the evenings.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongPhooey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We love hearing from satisfied guests! Thank you for your great review of Hotel Abrego. It's great you took advantage of our central location and walked to Fisherman's Wharf. We look forward to your future return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing