We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had requested a quiet room and was given keys to a room right near a really noisy ice machine. They upgraded us to another room which didn't seem much different but it was quiet. There are many hotels in this area but it is not where the restaurants are. As it was quite cool in the evenings we had to drive out for our meal. The room was a good size but a bit dark. The special feature was a fire which lit automatically in the morning. Parking was easy. The breakfast was the worst we had on our trip. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visi2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you Visi2rs for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I apologize our breakfast did not live up to your expectations, but am happy to hear you were accommodated with your request for a quiet room. We hope you will change your mind if you ever find yourself back in Monterey in need of a place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    726
    231
    73
    32
See reviews for
596
1,053
83
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great hotel with plenty of facilities at a very good price. Large well equipped room with two big double beds. Nice fire but not required as Monterey was still warm. About 5 mins drive from Fisherman's Wharf. Plenty of parking spaces at hotel. Pool was big enough and hot tub lovely. Fitness room was a little small but all the right equipment. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Bar is OK if a little small and open plan with reception and dining room. Happy Hour from 4 - 6:30 meant wine and beer at half price - good selection of both. Pizza, Chinese and other restaurants all close by if you don't fancy eating at restaurant. Staff happy to recommend and give directions. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fire and on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spmedcalf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, spmedcalf01! We love hearing from our satisfied guests and look forward to having you return to Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while heading south. We arrived an hour ahead of their advertised check-in time, and just after another 2 parties had checked in. The room we had booked was not available then, and so the manager upgraded us to a room with a fireplace for no extra charge. This room was spacious, and the fireplace was a nice touch - I turned it on briefly in the evening. The bathroom was small but adequate. There is another sick and bench area just outside the bathroom, but no fridge in the room. Beds were very comfortable. Free Wifi is available. We were very pleased with the room and service and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you ozannie for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your upgraded fireplace room. Some of our rooms have a separate sink and vanity area outside of the bathroom. All of our guestrooms offer a mini-fridge. We look forward to your return in the future to Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
305 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

In Monterey for wedding and reserved four rooms at this hotel. Very good location with downtown Monterey very walkable. Rooms are comfortable, beds are super. Great touch with the rooms having fireplaces. The staff, (everyone that we encountered) were friendly and helpful. Easy free parking. Located close to major shopping center for those things you forgot. Denny's across the street for 24 hour meals.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank twaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with Hotel Abrego, twaone. We agree--our central location makes for easy walking distance to many attractions in Monterey. We hope you will consider Hotel Abrego for a future stay if you ever find yourself back in the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just stayed one night on our way down the coast. Lovely room with a fireplace and a very comfortable bed. The hallways had an "old building smell", but we didn't notice that smell in our room. Easy to find location, and within walking distance of Fisherman's wharf.
Breakfast was not available to us, as there was a "special function" going on-
Loved the hot tub and the bakery just down the street.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main floor, second building. Close to parking and the pool/spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay docmom2013! Here at Hotel Abrego, we occasionally host groups or large parties in our restaurant--I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to welcoming you back as a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Abrego for 2 nights as part of our Highway 1 tour.
We were in the main building in a large ground floor room. Our daughter had a smaller room on the first floor, and she said ours was much better.
The breakfast was very good, as is the location - 5 minutes walk to Alvarado Street and 15 to Fishermans Wharf.
Lots of free parking and free wifi.
If we find ourselves in the area in the future, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you IanCol for your great review! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent 5 nights and had a lovely stay. Clean & spacious enough, loved the fireplace. Free parking and wi-fi was great. A nice five minute walk to a lovely bakery and only a few minutes more to Fisherman's wharf. Took cabs to Cannery row, about $10 w/tip. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions & dining suggestions. Jose at the bar was amazing, and the homemade chocolate brownie was yummy. If offered, we would have taken advantage of a breakfast meal plan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Five nights in beautiful Monterey is a great way to spend a vacation. We are happy to hear you chose us as a part of your trip and were more than satisfied. We hope you will consider staying at Hotel Abrego again when you return to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing