We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Hotel Abrego”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We enjoyed every part of our stay in Monterey, including the wonderful accommodations at Hotel Abrego.

Clean rooms, comfy bed, wonderful fireplace, friendly staff, perfect location for all we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYIFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you NYIFan for sharing your 'Wonderful stay at Hotel Abrego"! We hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,315 - 1,321 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here in December, 2012, and loved everything about it, so we planned another trip this year. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean, but instead of a nice Jacuzzi tub we had a pretty common tub-shower. After a day of hiking, those jets would have felt wonderful! The room's carpeting and that in the hallway looked worn and a little bit dirty. The person or persons above us seemed agitated and paced back and forth until quite late? It was a little bit disappointing. But Monterey was, as always, fun!

Room Tip: Wish I knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you SadSenior for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the bathroom amenities, however we do not offer jetted tubs in any of our guestrooms. For any future inquires about in room amenities offered, please contact us directly. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

You will be glad that you stayed here. The hotel and the rooms are decorated like no other that we have stayed in this price range. Great value and convenient to everything. The staff was very friendly and shared some of their apple cider on our way out after check out.

Room Tip: Floors are a little thin if you stay on the bottom floor of the main house, so you may hear your ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you Patrick A for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to have some hot apple cider on your way out! We hope to seey you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My bussiness trip to monterey area on sept 2013. I stayed one night at hotel abrego.
Staff were welcoming and good restaurant. Easy walk to downtown and harbor. My room was beautiful and comfortable, fireplace&pillow top mattress and quite!. I was very pleased with my stay at hotel abrego. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you xcreative for your nice review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your business trip stay at Hotel Abrego and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at Hotel Abrego on my Honeymoon.
Just loved everything.
Fast Check-in/out, friendly staff, very clean and spacious bedroom and bathroom. Stayed at the main building.
Once they knew about our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a king room with fireplace and left a card and a wine bottle for us.
Well located, with a terrific bakery just a few blocks down the street.
We don't have absolutely nothing bad to say abbout this hotel. Loved everything.
I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller20099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you traveller20099 for the "Amazing" review and congratulations on your nuptuals! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest a Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews of this property, we made a last minute reservation for our two day stay after Thanksgiving weekend on Expedia - and got a great rate. The property is very nicely maintained, with an attractive lobby and adjacent dining area. I used the gym - the normal selection of equipment - and the business center, which featured large screen PCs. Our room was spacious and quite clean. We didn't use the fireplace, but it was easy to operate. I'd have preferred a good chair to the chaise lounge, which I did not find comfortable.

The hotel was easy to find, with plentiful parking. Given that we were taking road trips to Carmel and Pebble Beach, it was unnecessary to spend more to stay closer to the attractions. Besides, Fisherman's Wharf was only a pleasant 10 minute walk, with Cannery Row another 15-20. Hint - we had a nice meal at a good price at the Chinese restaurant across the street.

We'll come back to Monterey in the next few years, and when we do, we'll stay again at the Hotel Abrego.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you KansanRover for your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! We offer different room types with different amenities. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our chaise lounge. Please call the hotel directly for your future reservations so we can put you in a room with a chair instead of the chaise. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After seeing the other motels on the way out to 101 on Abrego, this is definitely the best option. Lovely property, very nice room and friendly staff. I highly recommend it. It's an easy walk to downtown and the harbor (past the sketchy bus depot) and a long walk or short drive to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you AndiY for your review. We are pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you back at Hotel Abrego in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £116 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing