We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Space and Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Space and Excellent Value”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here in conjunction with visit to wine country. This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at, including those at several times the price. It is warm and welcoming, has a nice bar, and great staff. While you are here, you may wish to dine at the Monterey Fish House. Plan to make reservations well ahead of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you Harvey G for sharing your experience at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passes along to our staff. We look forward to seeing you back upon your future return to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    813
    256
    78
    35
See reviews for
701
1,156
86
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in Monterey. We drove down from the Bay area and picked Hotel Abrego. The hotel is close to the tourist areas of Monterey. The staff greeted us with a smile and checked us in very quickly. The fireplace in our room was a godsend. The room itself was comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel has plenty of parking for those driving into Monterey and very close to the 17 mile drive and the highway to Carmel and Pebble Beach.
In short, the hotel is a great value and very comfortable. We will stay here again whenever we are back in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pupasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you Pupasaurus for your glowing review! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you as a continued patron at Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely and luxurious this hotel was. Beautiful, comfortable room w/fireplace. Easy walk to the wharf. Had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. All very nice. Even got a good price through Montery Bay Whale Watch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you Martie S for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you were able to go whale watching and see some whales! We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed there for only one night in my Route 1 South in December 2013. I have reserved a room with a fireplace which was not properly working, but I was offered promptly a free upgrade.

The room was clean, the bed and pillows were ultra comfy and staff was very friendly.

The breakfast (not complimentary) was good but not outstanding.

When again Monterey, I will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace if it's cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reanodevitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you reanodevitto for sharing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry about your fireplace not working properly, but I am happy to hear your issue was resolved quickly. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We enjoyed every part of our stay in Monterey, including the wonderful accommodations at Hotel Abrego.

Clean rooms, comfy bed, wonderful fireplace, friendly staff, perfect location for all we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYIFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you NYIFan for sharing your 'Wonderful stay at Hotel Abrego"! We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here in December, 2012, and loved everything about it, so we planned another trip this year. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean, but instead of a nice Jacuzzi tub we had a pretty common tub-shower. After a day of hiking, those jets would have felt wonderful! The room's carpeting and that in the hallway looked worn and a little bit dirty. The person or persons above us seemed agitated and paced back and forth until quite late? It was a little bit disappointing. But Monterey was, as always, fun!

Room Tip: Wish I knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you SadSenior for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the bathroom amenities, however we do not offer jetted tubs in any of our guestrooms. For any future inquires about in room amenities offered, please contact us directly. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

You will be glad that you stayed here. The hotel and the rooms are decorated like no other that we have stayed in this price range. Great value and convenient to everything. The staff was very friendly and shared some of their apple cider on our way out after check out.

Room Tip: Floors are a little thin if you stay on the bottom floor of the main house, so you may hear your ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you Patrick A for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to have some hot apple cider on your way out! We hope to seey you back at Hotel Abrego on your next trip to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing