We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for visiting Monterey and Carmel”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel for visiting Monterey and Carmel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon in October after making a last minute booking as we had to change our plans due to the Government shutdown.

The staff were really friendly, offering us a discount in the restaurant as we were on honeymoon. They also gave us information on what to do locally.

The room we stayed in was a good size, very clean and modern. We also visited the swimming pool for a couple of hours and used the washing facilities which were handy.

The hotel is walking distance to Monterey harbour/pier and easy to drive to Carmel and the big sur from.

We would recommend staying here if you are travelling the West Coast and want a clean and modern hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you emwynne for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear you your travel plans were disrupted, but glad you discovered us last minute. Taking advantage of our downtown location by walking to local attractions can save on parking and also give visitors a more intimate look at what makes Monterey special. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    792
    250
    77
    35
See reviews for
681
1,141
85
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hotel Abrego was a nice surprise. Our room was so tastefully decorated. All the comforts you could want. The bed was so comfortable. The fireplace was very relaxing.to.watch at night. While we didn't use the on site Bistro it was nice to have that option.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you peteysgrandma for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and all the decor. We want our guests to feel at home during their stay with us. Make sure to take some time and stop into Bistro Abrego for dinner or breakfast next time you are our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

In Monterey on business and I found this hotel online. I was very pleased. The check in was quick and easy. Staff was friendly and I was give a complimentary upgrade. Got an excellent AARP rate. I only stayed one night, but would definitely return on my next trip to Monterey.

Room Tip: Loved the fireplace in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfGirlSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you GolfGirlSFO for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. We cater to every type of traveler, and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on your business trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This property has the look and feel of a recently renovated property. Their rooms are large and very comfortable - ours had a fire place. They have a pool and a hot tub that is fun for all. I would like to commend their staff - great service from the time I made the reservation all the way through our stay. Angela, one of their reservation agents was very helpful and even checked in with me before our visit for any special requests. She additionally provided recommendations for local area restaurants upon request. Again, very attentive staff, great location. Only downsides are: very small work out room and not much of a lobby/lounge area. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Their corner rooms may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you Ketan D for sharing your great review of Hotel Abrego. We are pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our staff wants our guests enjoy their stay, down to the last detail. We look forward to your continued patronage in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Cozy, comfy, CLEAN, friendly all rolled up in one. Great location. The front desk staff was very accommodating when we asked to change our room from a king to a double. We were able to change to anywhere we desired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you Lonnie R for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your wonderful review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you return to Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here with my good lady and two children. I'm going to keep it brief, I thought I did my homework, good photos, good reviews, what could go wrong.

Found the hotel pretty easily and just managed to get a parking space in a busy car park. Check in was fine and we were given our room in the middle block (to right of main building). I don't have anything against motels, but I would pay accordingly for one. Big disappointment, this is where the photos are misleading.

Stairwell was unkempt with rubbish bags lying out, it just had a dirty feel to it. The room itself was nicely decorated, but smaller than average.

Unfortunately, we visited in a hot spell, this is the first hotel in America that I have stayed in that doesn't have A/C. Receptions take on the no A/C, was that it isn't usually hot on the coast. That didn't really help as it was like a sauna in the room, even through the evening. I now understand that small things like A/C make so much of a difference. We did get a fan from reception, but this just blew the hot air about.

The only good thing about this hotel was that it is within walking distance of the pier.

Really don't know how this hotel is so high up in the ratings. You can probably guess that I would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank On1ythetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you PeterFraser for sharing your concerns on Trip Advisor. Our apologies we did not live up to your expectations. Monterey typically has mild weather year round, but we have been experiencing record high temperatures. Some of our rooms offer A/C, but not all. The photos posted on our website and Trip Advisor are very recent and true to what Hotel Abrego has to offer. We hope you will give us another chance to show you a pleasurable stay should you find yourself back in Monterey in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My mother and I recently spent 2 weeks driving the California coast from San Francisco to Los Angeles and back. When preparing for this trip I spent many hours on this site reviewing accommodations knowing that tripadvisor never steers me wrong. I can honestly say that the reviewers have once again come through for me - every single hotel/motel/inn I booked was amazing.

A couple of points about Hotel Abrego:

Booking: We booked online; process was quick and simple.

Check-in/Check out: Checking in and checking out was a little bit slower than other places we stayed at. Not sure why as we were the only guests at the desk at the time.

Lobby: Very clean; nicely decorated. Beverages available.

Restaurant: We ate in the restaurant once during our 2 night stay. Food was good; staff was very nice. There are also dining options within walking distance.

Rooms: We had a double queen room. It was very spacious and clean; beds were comfy. Fireplace was nice touch - instructions are given to you when you check in. Loved the bathroom - it was very roomy. Shower pressure was a bit low but tolerable.

Parking: Lots of FREE parking available in their lot.

Miscellaneous: Staff was very helpful and accommodating. If you buy your Aquarium tickets here you can skip the line and you get 2 days for the price of one. Came in handy - when we showed up at the Aquarium the line to buy tickets was very long. We were able to walk right in.

Overall, would recommend to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nml1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you nml1971 for your great review and recommendation of Hotel Abrego! We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. Our local water agency requires low flow shower heads to conserve water; a precious resource on our peninsula. We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego next time you are in the Monterey area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing