We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had booked this hotel in advance and made the decision to stay by reviews on trip advisor. The staff were very helpful and professional. Cannery row was just a nice walk away. The price of the room was reasonable and fair compared to other hotels closer to Cannery row.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you flyn h for the great review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! Doing research about hotels in Monterey can definitely help narrow down the many choices available; we're glad you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you find your way to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abrego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful from arrival. The front desk was very helpful and check-in and check-out was very efficient. Alden at the desk was especially very welcoming and eager to help in any way. It's location is very central and an easy walk to nice restaurants and a quick drive to the aquarium! Room was very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant had an amazing breakfast. I would definitely recommend the crab cakes eggs benedict and the oatmeal creme brulee! It was truly a great stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Premier Fireplace King rooms are amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiacapello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you maiacapello for the wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location, and our breakfast! Bistro Abrego serves some great dishes for both breakfast and dinner. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice, comfortable hotel with well-appointed, newly-renovated rooms. Located near Fisherman's Wharf in the downtown Monterey area, it was easy to drive to. It's not walking distance to Cannery Row or the Aquarium, however. We will stay here again on our next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you drmcdon! We are located just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and 1.5 miles (approx 1/2 hour walk) to Cannery Row. We look forward to your continued patronage at Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice one stay. We stayed here last week for one night and we booked it as a walk in. The front desk agents are very professional and courteous. We decided to eat in the the restaurant because of the happy hour special and when we checked in the front desk agent offered us a coupon for a free appetizer. Our food was very good. My husband ordered the ribeye and I had the ratatouille. The dining room was very relaxing with the fireplace. The bldg we were in nearest to the front lobby did not have airconditioning and was getting a little warm so I called the front desk to ask about it and with in a couple of minutes someone had brought us a fan. We opened the door to help cool it off but it was a little noisy so prefered using the fan. I would imagine in the summer this could be a problem staying in this building. This hotel is also a block away from San Carlos Cathdral the oldest stone building in California and the second mission. It is absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutmegan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you Nutmegan01 for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Abrego with our fellow Trip Advisor readers. It's great to hear of guests coming to enjoy the historic aspects Monterey has to offer. Regarding warm weather, we do not offer A/C in all of our guest rooms. With temperatures quickly rising, we are looking into options which will allow us to improve the guest experience. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay! I was blown away by the wonderful staff and clean rooms. Just a short walk to downtown Monterey. There is a small workout room and a business center which is free. Even a nice happy hour at the bar. I have stayed in Monterey many times and this is now my favorite spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteelerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you SteelerJeff for your fantastic review! We are glad you found Hotel Abrego to suit your traveling needs. We look forward to your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very clean and comfortable, modern rooms. We stayed there in January 2014, in four people - with wo kids. We are surprised by how comfortable and modern the rooms are.
Very happy to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaDondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you AnaDondon for sharing Hotel Abrego as a "Great Hotel" destination in Monterey. Keep us in mind for your future travels back to the states!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our hotel room was exceptionally clean, large, comfortable and modern. We didn't miss a fireplace. We were so impressed and will certainly return to this hotel. Thank you to the entire staff, who made our stay a wonderful and exceptional experience. This hotel should be rated as a 5 Star hotel.

Room Tip: We recommend room #1301, corner room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you Agnes W for the fantastic review of Hotel Abrego! We love our guests, and love when our guests love us back! It makes our day to hear of great experiences, such as yours, at Hotel Abrego. Thank you again for taking the time to share your stay with Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing