We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A good modern hotel is one where everything works and service is pleasant without being memorable. That sentence sums up the hotel. There were no foot striking from above rooms, tasteful decor, service received was fine. If I were to visit Monterey again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you BG_1980 for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and would return. We look forward to accommodating you once again on your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel Abrego is located downtown Monterey. Very nice rooms with fireplace. Very helpful staff, very accessible for those with mobility problems. Very quiet and relaxing in a beautiful part of California. Did not eat here because I had relatives in town, but the dining room looked very nice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you Beck105 for the great review! It's wonderful to hear from our satisfied guests. We invite you to try Bistro Abrego on your next return trip to Hotel Abrego and Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel with a good location - 10-15 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf. Friendly staff, and lovely to have a swimming pool and hot tub. Good value when booked in advance. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again if we came back to Monterey.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you M K for choosing Hotel Abrego for your "relaxing stay in Monterey"! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the amenities we offer and would return as a loyal guest! We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is well situated and an easy walk to fishermans wharf. The room was pleasant. However we were disappointed that having requested a room with a view we had a basement room with a brick wall. Also we wanted a hotel with a pool - which it had - but it was unusable due to it's condition. However having said all this I completed the hotel's own customer survey and have had a very quick and nice response. The pool is due to be refurbished within a year according to the response - which is good, but perhaps people should be warned so as not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you Annette H for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Being that our hotel is only 3 stories tall and located in downtown Monterey, we are not able to offer guest rooms with ocean views. However, we are just a few short blocks from the beach and Fisherman's Wharf. Our pool is cleaned on a daily basis and is very usable. We are always looking to improve our amenities at Hotel Abrego and we appreciate your comments. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had booked this hotel in advance and made the decision to stay by reviews on trip advisor. The staff were very helpful and professional. Cannery row was just a nice walk away. The price of the room was reasonable and fair compared to other hotels closer to Cannery row.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you flyn h for the great review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! Doing research about hotels in Monterey can definitely help narrow down the many choices available; we're glad you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you find your way to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful from arrival. The front desk was very helpful and check-in and check-out was very efficient. Alden at the desk was especially very welcoming and eager to help in any way. It's location is very central and an easy walk to nice restaurants and a quick drive to the aquarium! Room was very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant had an amazing breakfast. I would definitely recommend the crab cakes eggs benedict and the oatmeal creme brulee! It was truly a great stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Premier Fireplace King rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiacapello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you maiacapello for the wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location, and our breakfast! Bistro Abrego serves some great dishes for both breakfast and dinner. We look forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice, comfortable hotel with well-appointed, newly-renovated rooms. Located near Fisherman's Wharf in the downtown Monterey area, it was easy to drive to. It's not walking distance to Cannery Row or the Aquarium, however. We will stay here again on our next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you drmcdon! We are located just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and 1.5 miles (approx 1/2 hour walk) to Cannery Row. We look forward to your continued patronage at Hotel Abrego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £117 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing