We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a wonderful place. Our room was huge, modern and beautifully decorated and furnished - with a great bathroom. The staff were absolutely lovely, and we had a delicious, great-value breakfast in the small restaurant. I didn't partake, but I noticed they also had a great happy hour with beers (including local ones) for just $3.

The location is really good - just a 15-minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf for restaurants and whale-watching tours. Cannery Row and the Aquarium are a little further.

I booked this hotel because I liked the look of it from their website - but, if anything, it's even better in real life. I only wish we'd stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you MarkM2011 for your "lovely hotel" review! We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity welcome you back for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    756
    242
    76
    33
See reviews for
636
1,087
85
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Hotel Abrego is located close to downtown, and has all the amenities of the other bigger, name brand hotels in town, for a better rate. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and cozy and the property was very welcoming and well maintained. My colleague and I stayed here for a business trip and were very pleased. I would definitely recommend this for a business trip, family or friend trip or for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinakazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you katrinakazda for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your wonderful review and your great recommendation, as we accommodate all types of travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back as valued guest next time you are in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A good modern hotel is one where everything works and service is pleasant without being memorable. That sentence sums up the hotel. There were no foot striking from above rooms, tasteful decor, service received was fine. If I were to visit Monterey again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you BG_1980 for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and would return. We look forward to accommodating you once again on your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel Abrego is located downtown Monterey. Very nice rooms with fireplace. Very helpful staff, very accessible for those with mobility problems. Very quiet and relaxing in a beautiful part of California. Did not eat here because I had relatives in town, but the dining room looked very nice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you Beck105 for the great review! It's wonderful to hear from our satisfied guests. We invite you to try Bistro Abrego on your next return trip to Hotel Abrego and Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel with a good location - 10-15 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf. Friendly staff, and lovely to have a swimming pool and hot tub. Good value when booked in advance. We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again if we came back to Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you M K for choosing Hotel Abrego for your "relaxing stay in Monterey"! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the amenities we offer and would return as a loyal guest! We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is well situated and an easy walk to fishermans wharf. The room was pleasant. However we were disappointed that having requested a room with a view we had a basement room with a brick wall. Also we wanted a hotel with a pool - which it had - but it was unusable due to it's condition. However having said all this I completed the hotel's own customer survey and have had a very quick and nice response. The pool is due to be refurbished within a year according to the response - which is good, but perhaps people should be warned so as not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you Annette H for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. Being that our hotel is only 3 stories tall and located in downtown Monterey, we are not able to offer guest rooms with ocean views. However, we are just a few short blocks from the beach and Fisherman's Wharf. Our pool is cleaned on a daily basis and is very usable. We are always looking to improve our amenities at Hotel Abrego and we appreciate your comments. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Abrego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had booked this hotel in advance and made the decision to stay by reviews on trip advisor. The staff were very helpful and professional. Cannery row was just a nice walk away. The price of the room was reasonable and fair compared to other hotels closer to Cannery row.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you flyn h for the great review of your stay at Hotel Abrego! Doing research about hotels in Monterey can definitely help narrow down the many choices available; we're glad you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego next time you find your way to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing