We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Abrego for 4 nights while we ran the Big Sur marathon this year. The room was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

We spent the first two nights in the main building, but because we needed to get up at 3am for the race on Sunday morning, we asked to move to a quieter room (we were going to bed at 9pm and there was a bit of noise from the lobby.) The staff made the change and moved our luggage quite quickly.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review GregMilligan, and for choosing Hotel Abrego for your lodging needs. We understand the needs of our marathon guests, and are happy to accommodate any special requests. We look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff at the Hotel Abrego is amazing. They were extremely accommodating before and during our stay. Their level of customer service is outstanding. The rooms were very modern and clean. Loved it and will stay again every time we go back to Monterey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you Natalie P for you great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Abrego with fellow Trip Advisor readers. We look forward to welcoming you back as a continued patron at Hotel Abrego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We originally were in a Best Western in Monterey, but moved from there because of construction at that hotel. We were overwhelmed at first sight with the décor of Hotel Abrego. The staff was VERY friendly. They always went out of their way to help us; they even printed out our boarding passes for us. We loved our room! The fireplace in the room was a very nice touch, as well as a mini couch, robes and a very updated bathroom. We wanted a hotel with a nice pool, and this pool was warm and clean and never crowded. The hot tub was also a very nice addition to the pool area. Our first night, we had some very loud neighbors downstairs, and we called the front desk and they had security take care of the situation right away. We requested a room change for our second night, because of the loud neighbors. The staff really helped us out, and our bags were moved to the new room for us by the time we got back from our day of sightseeing. We liked our second room very much, although it was not as updated, but it was nicer than most hotels we've stayed at, and it was extremely quiet. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice, and it was great each time. The service was friendly, and the food was exceptional, especially the buttermilk pancakes. I would recommend this restaurant to even the pickiest of eaters. We loved the Hotel Abrego, would recommend it to anyone, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you Maximina B for the great review! We are thrilled to hear you chose Hotel Abrego and thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wow, what a great hotel within easy walking distance to downtown Monterey, the Wharf, historic sites and parks. The staff was very friendly, efficient, and helpful with restaurant suggestions. My room was a little small but very clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom, in-room safe, big screen TV, refrigerator, and a peek-of-the-bay view. The heated pool was a big enough for swimming laps.

Room Tip: The rooms above the lobby are newer and more secure due to no direct outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD21704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you SJD21704 for reviewing Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. We appreciate comments such as yours, which helps TA readers make informed decisions for their lodging needs in Monterey. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The people that work here are great. I stayed here for four nights and it was nice and clean. The bed and the pillows were really comfy which for me I can be pretty particular. It is off a somewhat busy street and can here some street noise, but not bad. The front desk people were very accommodating. They had a gym that was small but everything worked and was clean. They take dogs in some rooms which is a plus. I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you Elizabeth L for your great review! Our staff is dedicated to making sure our guests get the most out of their stay with us. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed there for the weekend, Staff was very nice, our room was very clean an neat. Only ate once from there menu, breakfast burrito, really good, room was really large, price was great, Fire place was romantic.Thank you to my Lady, we where celebrating our first Anniversary...Love you honey.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you Thomas I, and Happy Anniversary to you both! We are thrilled to hear you had a great celebration with us at Hotel Abrego. We look forward to seeing you return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was the third hotel of our trip. Finally, some decent pillows! The bed was comfortable enough. There were two sinks, which I love. For some reason the trash wasn't emptied by our housekeeper, weird. The room was quiet enough, until 7 am when the children next door started yelling and crying. The staff was friendly. Breakfast is not included. The location is good, and they offer free parking and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JED53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you JED53 for your review! We are happy to hear you enoyed your stay with us! I apologize about the trash--I can assure you this will not happen again. We look forward to your return to Hotel Abrego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £116 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing