We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so pleasant”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so pleasant”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband & I drove 6-7 hours up the coast of California via route 1 through Big Sur celebrating our anniversary. When we arrived the staff was very kind. Patrick checked us in & was every nice! Upon entering our room, the carpet was damp in an area by the desk. It was uncomfortable to walk on those spots. We had to put towels down.

We called the front desk & spoke to Adnon. He was very accommodating & offered a room move. We were so tired & had already unpacked so we didn't want to move but thanked Adnon for his offer. His manager did not offer any other form of compensation other than $50 off our next stay?

During the night my husband and & I woke up at 1:30am extremely uncomfortable & hot! Even with the window open, there was NO breeze or air circulating. We called down to the front desk at 1:30am & found out from Chris at the front desk that there was airconditioning. We didn't know how to work it. When we figured out how to use it, it constantly ran loudly.

We woke up again @ 6:30am from horrible sleep due to our room being right over the Main Street. I informed the hotel we wanted a quiet room away from people, noise, since we were celebrating our anniversary. Why would you put guests celebrating a special occasion who want a quiet room directly in front of the street?

Overall, Adnon, Chris, Partick were very kind & understanding. Chris especially. They allowed is to check out early & waived the early checkout fee for us. The service Chris gave us was exceptional! I was shocked how understanding, & empathetic Chris was. Wow! Due to their customer service I would consider giving them another chance in the future.

Just a heads up, the rooms are small. My husband is 6'5" & I'm 5'3". We were feeling cramped. If you want great customer service, I highly recommend this hotel. But if you want larger, comfortable rooms, maybe not.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room in person first. They tend to be on the small side. Do not take a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlfromCulverCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you GirlfromCulverCity for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. My sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. It pleases me to hear that our management handled your situation with exceptional service. I hope you will give us another chance and allow us to show you a truly memorable Hotel Abrego experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    757
    242
    76
    33
See reviews for
636
1,089
85
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Hotel Abrego is quite modern and the room was very clean. The pool and hot tub area were nice and a good place to relax. The reception seems a little isolated compared to other hotels we have stayed in as it's in a separate block from the rooms but the staff were helpful enough.
The location is good and its a pleasant walk to the harbour and the wharf. The Aquarium area is a little further and probably need to drive to it.
Overall we enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mand77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you mand77 for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our close proximity to downtown and Fisherman's Wharf. Keep us in mind for your next Monterey vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The room was well appointed. We especially liked the fireplace in our room. The shower was large. The staff was very friendly. The location is walking distance to a number of restaurants. I definitely recommend this hotel. After we visited the aquarium, our youngest son asked to go back to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovegoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you ilovegoogle for your excellent review! We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with our fellow Trip Advisor readers. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego for another excellent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I heard about the great reviews here and we decided to give it a shot. We stayed here one night during Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking. There was a fireplace with a somewhat comfy bed. We stayed on the first floor with our car right outside which was very convenient. We thought that it would be a great stay until the time we had to fall asleep. LET ME TELL YOU. Since we stayed on the first floor, we heard every single foot step going up the stairs and into their rooms. The walkway for the second floor was right above our bedroom. We didn't sleep the entire night. Mind you, I am a heavy sleeper. I can sleep anywhere! I am not sure where the other reviewers had their rooms, but for us, it was not a good night whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dknaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you dknaps409 for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor. My sincere apologies you encountered some noise issues and were unable to sleep during your stay with us. We would like to invite you back to show you a truly enjoyable Hotel Abrego guest experience you read about in our reviews. Please contact hotel management for further details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A nice room with plenty of space, extra sink outside the bath area is also a plus. Clean and neat. Nice that they had a pool and a hot tub (although we didn't take advantage of them). The staff was helpful finding us a place to eat after we got in. Within good walking distance of Old Fisherman's wharf and other attractions. It would have been nice to have had a free breakfast included for the price of the stay but there were plenty of other breakfast places to choose from in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms2thdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you Ms2thdr for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Abrego. We are happy to hear you took advantage of our close proximity to Fisherman's Wharf and had a nice stroll through town. We invite you back to enjoy our pool and hot tub on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I picked Hotel Abrego off HotelTonight at the last minute, and was very pleased with my stay. The rooms were clean and comfy. My room was in a noisy stairwell, but the great view made up for it entirely. That evening, I was able to choose from 10 different restaurants within walking distance and had a spectacular dinner at Restaurant 1833. In the morning, I prefer a free breakfast when I pay this much for one night, but the bistro made delicious Breakfast Burritos and Ranch Eggs, so it was worth eating at the hotel. Then it was an easy drive down to the Monterey Bay Aquarium!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you Rachel H for sharing your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel Abrego. We are glad you chose to stay with us for your last minute getaway. Consider us again for your next Monterey trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We checked in late, around 11pm after the lobby had locked up, but it was no problem for the staff to let us in and check us in as usual. They even gave us take out menus for places where we could still order from. The front desk staff also made great recommendations when we asked for wine tasting in the local area.
The issue came when we had hauled all our luggage to our room and our room keys wouldn't work, we had to go all the way back to the lobby to get them replaced and they still didn't work again. So the manager had to let us in, and returned with working keys for us (by this time it was after midnight and we just wanted to sleep!).
The room was nice, small, but clean and comfy (apart from a nasty bug in the corner of the room my boyfriend had to remove, but I suppose that can't be helped).
The pool is also quite small and we were lucky we used it when it was empty. But we noticed later the next day that once there was around 5 people in it, it looked crowded.
We didn't use the cafe here, but note that they don't serve lunch. If you are looking to stay close to the hotel around lunch time there is a great place just around the corner called The Wild Plum.
Overall, we were thankful to the staff despite the technical hitch with the room key, and we were happy enough here for two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Harriet K for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. My apologies you experienced some issues with your keys upon your arrival. I am glad to hear it was resolved in a timely matter and didn't give you any more problems. Our hotel offers 7 different room types, all ranging in size; some are cozy, while others might have a little more room. Again, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with fellow Trip Advisor readers. We hope to be able to accommodate you, should you choose to return to the Monterey area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing