We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes this a 5”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The staff makes this a 5”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was in Monterey for work and they put me up here - I lucked out! Not only is this hotel lovely, it has some of the most helpful and accommodating workers I've ever met! If you're a biker they have ground floor rooms and it's a short downhill glide to the bike path. Walking distance to Trader Joe's and the Tues. night farmers market. Just ask and the staff will do their best to help you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    813
    256
    78
    35
See reviews for
701
1,156
86
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. A short walk to the coast and Main Street.
Very good service and nice to find a hotel that seems to genuinely value feedback.
Monterey is surprisingly small and easy to explore on foot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurugilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you Gurugilly for the great review! We are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Abrego and found our room very comfortable and clean. The room was very modern in style and looked as though it had recently been renovated - the bathroom especially was contemporary and stylish. The room was slightly smaller than expected but spacious enough for the two of us. MASSIVE flatscreen tv was a nice benefit too!

The location was pretty good, only a 5 minute walk from the main high street and about 20 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf - it is quite a bit further to Cannery Row, though, so if you are mainly planning to spend time around this area e.g. the Aquarium, consider public transportation or staying in a hotel closer by - it felt like a long walk back for us!

If you do stay here and have a car, make sure to take the 10 minute drive to Carmel - an absolutely gorgeous little town full of great restaurants, shops and galleries. We went at sunset to Carmel beach and then found a fantastic restaurant called The Treehouse Cafe - amazing place and one of our favourite evenings spent on the West coast!

Very nice hotel all in all and a great place from which to explore Monterey and beautiful Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you JulesO2013 for your fantastic review! It sounds as if you explored all Monterey has to offer! We hope you will keep us in mind for any future travels back to the Monterey area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We only stayed in Hotel Abrego for a short time as we arrived late in the afternoon from San francisco and left early the next day but for the time we were there we absolutely loved our stay.

Beautiful hotel, looks very grand as you arrive. Good location, 10 minutes walk to the fishermans wharf which is beautiful, lots of seals, otters and jellyfish. Plus beautiful shops and restaurants to enjoy.

We didn't stay in the main hotel so can't comment on it other than staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby was very welcoming. We stayed in the out building across the parking lot. Second floor, it's a motel feel from the outside but absolutely beautiful inside.

Huge room with twin double beds, even though there were only two of us. Beautiful bathroom. big gas fire in the room. Although it was hot outside we lit it anyway and it really made the rom cosy. Good wifi. The view was of a parking lot so that was very interesting.

We really enjoyed the use of outdoor pool and hot tub just across the parking lot. Although the pool was full of leaves and absolutely freezing so we only dipped our feet in. Bathrobes were availible in the room and towels beside pool.

The room keys were quite dodgy, we were locked out after 10pm and had to go get new ones, one still didn't work and the other stopped the next morning. Not sure what happened there but it was a bit inconvinent having to walk back and forth to the lobby.

We had a very relaxing stay, the whole place felt quite luxurious. Would definetly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambiwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you bambiwoo for your excellent review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our close proximity to Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I wanted to take a mini getaway and booked a room at hotel abrego. We entered the promo code upgrade when we booked and received a free upgraded room with chocolates and wine. I was a little surprised that we could not check into our room until after 4pm though. This was the first time I have ever had such a late check in somewhere. When we finally got into our room it was absolutely beautiful, clean, and upgraded. The fireplace in the room was such a nice touch. The bathroom was large and we even had a private patio. Which was great because it made potty breaks with my service dog so convenient. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well.

We did end up waking to a couple in the room next to us having a "frisky" morning. We could head the bed hitting the wall and the squeaks in the bed. We just laughed about it, but I can imagine that if it was a family it would have made it a little awkward. We could also hear people walking in the room above us.

I would stay here again. Only wish check in was earlier and the walls weren't as thin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you Kristen B for reviewing your stay at Hotel Abrego on Trip Advisor. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies you experienced difficulties checking in on time and some noise issues. We hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Upgraded to a lovely room thank you. Really clean and comfortable,easy walk into town. Swimming pool clean and welcoming, lovely boutique hotel. Breakfast was fine but not as upmarket as your hotel. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you C B for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Abrego with a fairly large group in town for a wedding. When we checked in, we were told we were being put in one of their most interesting rooms. Well the joke was on us! We were in the "basement" as we referred to it, in an area in the back of the hotel, building 4. I think this was a store/maintenance room that they decided to turn into a hotel room. It was extremely dark even with all of the lights on and curtains open. Our room was terrible. We had bugs in the room several times, including ants in the bathroom, spiders climbing the walls, and roaches crawling by the window. Disgusting! The hotel is older and could definitely use updating, at least the parts that we saw. Friends of ours were on the top floor and liked their room better until they had roaches in the bathroom on our final night. I wouldn't recommend staying here. Stay at the Marriott where the other half of our wedding group stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you CincinnatiTara for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. My sincere apologies you experienced several issues during your stay. The appropriate department managers have been notified of your issues. Please contact us directly if you wish to speak with management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing