We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel was the best! My husband and I traveled down the California coast in early May and this was our favorite...huge luxurious room, spacious modern bathroom, great hotel staff, perfect location...a short walk to the pier...refreshing outdoor pool. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Chris and the entire team at the hotel are kind, courteous and professional. My husband and I decided to drive down to Monterey for our anniversary last minute, booked a room for two nights and we were blown away by the outstanding customer service! Everyone that works at the hotel are happy and genuine people. The rooms are very clean and the beds and pillows are fluffy and comfortable. The restaurant is great, we enjoyed a hot breakfast and the servers were wonderful! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singforGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one noght with the family. The room was large and the hotel looks new. The hotel is located a couple of blocks from Alvarado Street and the fisherman's warf, where you can find various restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Aggiecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I were there for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

When we arrived, the check-in staff was professional and efficient. He gave us a king size bed (actually no, it was bigger than king). Our room was at the ground floor facing the main road. Monterey was a quiet town so it was fine. The room was big, the bed was really comfy and we had a very good night sleep.

The check-out staff was really lovely and cheerful. During our small chat, I explained to one of them the purpose of our trip. He mentioned that normally the hotel would provide wine and chocolate but we didn't receive it. But it wasn't their fault as our travel agency didn't inform them in the first place. Then he asked us if there was anything he could do to make our trip better. I requested if he could give us a free cup of tea each and he was more than happy to provide. My husband was particularly pleased about it because he always needs a cup of proper tea to wake him up.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk form the town centre but if you have a car, this is not an issue at all. I highly recommend to anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This property was clean, very convenient, and comfortable. The front desk personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Our room had two queens, a private terrace area and air conditioner. We were in town for a wedding and although another family member rented a vehicle, we were in convenient walking distance to the surrounding attractions. Buses & trolley's also roam the area. The only negative things I could report is the one male waitstaff who didn't wear the required name tag, brought out the wrong breakfast meals to our table and didn't realize that the couple arriving AFTER us were waited on and served well before our correct plates arrived. Breakfast was ample & delicious! Also, an indoor lounge area would have been nice as evenings are too chilly to sit outdoors in the hotel patio. The pool could have been warmer for my taste, but hot tub was divine!

Room Tip: The air conditioners are available in rooms by request, as not all rooms in all building have one. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cf21967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an attractive, clean, comfortable room, excellent, friendly service and a delicious hot breakfast served at our table. This is the best place we have stayed in Monterey Carmel area and is a value price. Imagine a beautifully served breakfast instead of some buffet. They kept our golf clubs in storage after we checked out because we were going hiking for half a day.

Wonderful choice within walking distance of the aquarium. Try the restaurant for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Excellent for ADA room for someone with a physical challenge. Bathroom was huge with lots of guard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really nice hotel. Huge room, excellent bathroom and all the comforts you need. Restaurant was good too although the menu was a little limited. Staff were helpful and helped book up the whale watching tour.

Room was clean, bright and airy. Location is a little out of the main tourist area but it's only a 5-10 min walk to old fishermans wharf and the free bus/trolley stop is about a 5 min walk which takes you around the town

Would stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neil-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £116 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing