We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first motel stop on our Highway 1 road trip.

First things first. If arriving courtesy of a sat nav, it will direct you past the motel and onto a side road which takes you round the back to the rear entrance, because for some reason you can't turn left off Abrego Street into the motel car park.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful. We checked into our room which was small but clean and well appointed. The bed was comfy.

However, the motel is on the edge of town and I wouldn't recommend that you walk to the Cannery from there as you may become lost. We decided to call for a taxi. We cannot comment on the evening meals as we didn't eat there, but stopping at the bar before 9 on our return (beer and wine only btw), there was no one else there and the kitchen closed early.

Breakfast was busier and the food was good with a reasonable choice.

It was popular judging by the car park being full.

The motel is ok, but if you are expecting it to be close to the Cannery it may disappoint. On a related note, we could not find a single taxi for the return journey. However there is a free trolley bus which goes within a couple of blocks walk. Just ask to be dropped off as close to the motel as possible. Don't worry if you think that you are getting lost on the bus as it does meander before arriving at the stop you need. It takes 10-15 minutes to get there.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abrego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

we stayed in this hotel for one night on the way down the pacific highway. I was disappointed with the room as the side window was next to walkway where everyone had to pass to get to our section of hotel. Walls were very thin and we could hear noise all night. The rooms were very dark and more lighting would be nice. It was difficult to find room as the directions given by reception were unclear and we took a while trying to locate it. I wasn't sorry to be moving on

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, fireplace is a nice touch, free parking, free wifi, walking distance to everything, shopping, restaurants nearby...good for a short stay...family or business but more so business

Room Tip: Two floors...accessible by stairs..free parking located in front of room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marisol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here with my family (including two young kids) during a 2-week Californian road trip. It was definitely my favourite hotel during the trip. It's beautifully maintained, the rooms feel very luxurious for the price, bathrooms are lush and the pool is lovely. I didn't try the on-site restaurant but the reception staff were very helpful and there was free coffee and biscotti in reception every morning. If you are traveling to Monterey for the first time you may wonder if the location is okay as it's not right on the coast. However, I think the location is super. It's a very short walk to the historical downtown area of Monterey, which is calmer and has more character than the now slightly-tacky Cannery Row. In the summer months, and at weekends all year (I think), there is also a frequent free trolly that runs from close-by the hotel to the wonderful Monterey Bay Aquarium.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Muireann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night during a road trip up the coast. It's a quiet, quaint little motel. The rooms have recently been renovated, and the bathrooms are nice. The rooms are decently large, and ours had a working gas fireplace - which gave it a romantic touch. We checked in late, so the hotel's restaurant was already close. However, the gentlemen at the front desk was very friendly and after checking us in, he recommended another restaurant close by that was good. The hotel is pet friendly, which is always helpful when you travel with your dog. All in all, it's a destination type hotel, but it was lovely enough for the price. We didn't have a chance to try breakfast in the morning. The location is convenient to shops and restaurants close by, less than a mile.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel was the best! My husband and I traveled down the California coast in early May and this was our favorite...huge luxurious room, spacious modern bathroom, great hotel staff, perfect location...a short walk to the pier...refreshing outdoor pool. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Chris and the entire team at the hotel are kind, courteous and professional. My husband and I decided to drive down to Monterey for our anniversary last minute, booked a room for two nights and we were blown away by the outstanding customer service! Everyone that works at the hotel are happy and genuine people. The rooms are very clean and the beds and pillows are fluffy and comfortable. The restaurant is great, we enjoyed a hot breakfast and the servers were wonderful! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singforGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £117 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing