We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the average food.”
Review of London Bridge

London Bridge
Ranked #69 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Fabulous fish ‘n chips. A great selection of beers. Best location on the quieter side of Fisherman’s Wharf overlooking Monterey harbor. What more could you expect from this established British pub?Try a welcoming staff and charming atmosphere replete with brick floors, stone covered walls, a magnificent grand bar – all designed to bring out the cockney in everyone. The light and airy interior is ringed with large windows for unbeatable views of the harbor. Outside, beautiful patios with fire pits invite relaxation as sea lions bark and sailboats glide by.
Crescent Ctiy, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the average food.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stopped here on our first night in Monterey, and wasn't impressed. The waitress suggested fish and chips as it was an "award winner". Couldn't have been much of a contest, as the one piece of fish they give you wasn't anything special, and highly overpriced for what you received, ( of coarse they don't tell you, you only get one piece of fish). Sat outside to try and enjoy the outdoors/fireplace seating, but with all the smokers, had to quickly eat and get out. The bathrooms looked like they hadn't been touched all day, over flowing trash cans and gross conditions. Will not be returning to this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frogfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at London Bridge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit here at LBP. Our fish and chips are an award winner and locally recognized by many as the best in Monterey. We apologize if you received a small portion size, but we will take this into consideration for the future! We apologize for the smokers outside, there is not usually as many as you had experience. We have taken care of the problems in the bathrooms but seeing as we have a lot of traffic in here each day sometimes they can become a bit untidy! We hope that you will return in the future in order to allow us to remedy your previous experience. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us become a better restaurant to serve our guests to the best of our ability. Best, John Eales (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    55
    26
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food & LIVE music”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed. Pub atmosphere with friendly staff. I had the bangers and mash... With a twist, mixed veggies instead of just peas. Great live music!
Bottom line,,,,, we will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at London Bridge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi! We are happy to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly staff working here at London Bridge Pub. Your meal choice does sound absolutely delicious and we are excited to have you back. We will have a lot more live performances throughout the summer! Hopefully see you soon! Best, John Eales (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Real good if you smoke”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A very nice place with a great view of the water. Food was real good, but very slow to serve. If you are a smoker you will love this place. If not, give it an average review and move onto a non-smoking venue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, Owner at London Bridge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review George! We are happy that you enjoyed your meal, and apologize about the sluggish service. We truly are dedicated to being attentive, friendly, and fun as a staff but we could have been understaffed during your visit. But, no excuses, next time we will be ready to serve your party the right way, as we always do! Best, John Eales (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Whenever I get a weekend in Monterey, I try to stop by for a beer and fish and chips. This visit I sat outside in the cool sun, overlooking the harbor, listening to the Sea Lions, enjoying, enjoying. The beer was cold, the fish and chips hot, the service was, as usual, timely. I could have had bangers and mash, or sheperd's pie as well as Ame.rican fare, so there are many items for most palates

The men's bathroom was a bit on the less-than-perfect side, which was not THAT important to be, but certainly could be to others.

On my next visit, I'll be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Casual Dining and Drinking”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stopped by the London Bridge on our first evening in Monterey. The Fish 'n Chips were very good. The fish was tender and flaky. The waitress said that their Fish 'n Chips won an award last year for Monterey's Best, and I would have to agree. My husband and son had the burgers and Guinness. The wait staff are friendly and prompt. It's a great casual restaurant on the wharf in Monterey. There is patio seating available. After dinner, we walked the Monterey Trail around the harbor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunedinkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Bridge also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing