We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    343
    272
    123
    103
See reviews for
410
276
63
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this hotel, but it sounded at least decent, especially considering we were traveling with a dog, but this hotel was pretty bad. The sheets had holes in them and were of a rubbery consistency, which was pretty disgusting. The heater was creaking all night long, as its an old fashioned coil heater rather than an in-room AC/heating unit. Also, this hotel is right by the airport, so there were private flights coming in right over the room at all times of the night. We barely slept while we were there. The breakfast was decent: hard-boiled eggs, cereal, toast, bananas, etc. When I checked out the lady at the front desk had a terrible attitude and was very rude to someone on the phone.

Overall, I was disappointed with the hotel and don't understand why it has such high ratings on this website. I will never be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil9687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize that your experience with us was not a positive one. I know it can be frustrating not having your expectations met. It is disappointing to hear when our customers did not enjoy their stay, as it is our personal goal to provide our guests with the best quality possible. Please know that your concerns and feedback will not go unheard, and I will take appropriate action so that others weren't as disappointed as you. I absolutely will follow up with the issues and get them fixed right away. Again, I apologize for your disappointment in your stay. We are going through some major updates now, so we hope you will give us another chance to prove our dedication to your comfort. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed one night. Front desk very busy, just one person, yet friendly, professional. Rooms clean, fridge, micro, hair dryer and iron in room. Beds comfy. Slept great. Air planes flying low was actually kinda cool. Didn't keep us awake at all. Good water pressure. Heated pool right out side, very nice. patio right out the sliding glass door of the room. Great!!
Restaurant on-site. Cereal, breads, juice and fruit provided at free breakfast. Lots of free parking right out side our room. Nice landscaping with plants. No complaints. Great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am so pleased we were able to provide you with the quality and service you deserve as our customer. It is always nice to hear that our customers enjoyed their stay! We are doing some updating through out our entire property that I am pretty excited about. So we hope you will stay with us again in the future and tell us what you think! Please let me know if I can be of service to you on your next stay. Thank you again for your kind words, and see you soon!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

It was very good night in this hotel. The break fast was good and the shower was good. Have a pool that. Open very nice plaice. The staff was very nice to us. Have near to hotel many restaurant that can eat there , we eat in Italiano cosina very good food and the staff very nice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pachimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are always working to improve our service and quality, and your comments are much appreciated. We want our customers to be happy with their stay, and it is good to hear that you were happy with yours. Please do not hesitate to call us for any of your future lodging needs. It will be our pleasure having you. Thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

After a three week road trip around the canyon lands and California and staying at numerous hotels of different standards this hotel turned out to be the worst but the most expensive during our trip!! We paid through an agent £357 for one night for 4 people! Previously we had stayed at the mgm grand in Las Vegas for £70 a night for 4 people!! We arrived late after driving 4 hours from Yosemite. The staff were friendly, outside was very run down and dated! Checked in in reception to find a couple complaining about the chlorine smell of their room. Got to our room, which was away from the main block right out the back on the second floor with no loft access. The stairs and walkways had paint peeling off and felt unstable. The room was dated with chipped furniture and peeling wallpaper and worn carpet. The beds were covered in nylon throws out of the 70s ! Complete with pulled threads and cigarette burn holes in them. Although the beds were comfortable we felt we couldn't touch the bedlinen - luckily the sheets were clean! Amongst this the smell of chlorine was overpowering and we weren't even near the pool! We couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I would like to personally apologize that your room and our property did not meet your standards. It is our goal to provide each customer with an exceptional experience, and I apologize you did not feel this was provided to you. I absolutely value your feedback, and you can be sure I will follow up with every one of your concerns. We are going through some major updates, so I hope you will give us a chance to show you our dedication to your comfort. Please accept my sincerest apologizes.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before whale watching in Monterey bay. Staff were super helpful and friendly .room was large with king size bed and plenty space. Breakfast was included and was okay considering we paid a bargain $49 for the room, including breakfast,parking and wifi, some of which had been extras at previous hotels in California . All in all a bargain and cannot praise the lady on the front desk enough on arrival for her local advice and knowledge and the manager at check out , again friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woolie2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words of our property! It is always nice to hear that our customers enjoyed their stay, and it's even nicer when they share it with other travelers! It makes us feel that we were able to provide you with the best possible experience. I am pleased to hear that my staff was able to assist you during your stay. In the future, should you need any assistance with lodging, we hope you will give us a call! Thank you for choosing the Monterey Bay Travelodge!

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Property: Monterey Bay Travelodge
Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing