We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed at this hotel many times when we go to...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    367
    288
    133
    111
See reviews for
448
294
67
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The buildings were depressing and dated, it looked like an army barracks. The rooms were noisy, you could hear every sound from adjoining rooms (in my case it was one neighbor throwing up in his bathroom and one neighbor with a baby who didn't sleep). The shower was clean, but dark and cave-like. The room smelled like pine cleaner mixed with insecticide and the window had no screens so we couldn't leave it open to air the room out. Beds and linens were comparatively decent and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank LisaHOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for review . I am so sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It must be frustrating to expect a certain level of quality and be disappointed. We ARE in the process of a complete renovation, but unfortunately it does take time. I do apologize that your room was not one among the ones already updated. I think you would really like our changes. Pleas stay with us again in the future. I will personally make sure your stay with us is a great one. Thank you again for your feedback!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was great, nicely remodeled rooms, great view of the pool, not to far from attractions. Only difficulty we had was that our GPS took us around a weird way, and we got lost. The front desk lady was kind enough to navigate us. We were very surprised by the quality and service here. We will be returning again this summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comfort is so important to us, and we really appreciate the feedback! I am glad my staff was able to provide you with the service you deserve. Glad you made it to the hotel safely! Technology can be so frustrating :) We are currently in the process of remodeling our hotel, and I really think you will enjoy our new look! We look forward to hosting you again soon. It will absolutely be our pleasure. Thank you again for your feedback!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Drove over 3 hours to enjoy our Easter weekend in Monterey. Arrived in the evening, checked in and then went to the wharf for dinner. Later returned to go to sleep and we were kept awake by street noise from the traffic (traffic intersection at corner of hotel lot) and from the noise of the planes taking off from the nearby airport (flight path above us /unknown and undisclosed by check-in staff). We eventually fell asleep from exhaustion after further dealing with disturbing noises from kids and late arriving hotel guests. My husband left to go fishing with minimal sleep and I was awoken before 5:00 a.m. to the sounds of the traffic noise. I fell back to sleep again only to be awaken by a plane taking off nearby at 5:50 a.m. I Tried to sleep and kept being awaken by traffic, planes, and passing cars by our room. I ended up staying awake and opened the sliding glass window for some air (found out that this was the area were people let there pets poo and urinate). Completely disgusted and exhausted I then readied to leave the room. The total experience was bad enough without the uncaring attitude of the check-out clerk who only smirked and said "oh yeah, we are nearby the airport", even after I informed her about our horrible experience and the fact about the outside pet outdoor coming into the room.

I had paid for the room in advance and so her lack of compassion towards our experience was shocking with no customer satisfaction. I called and filed a complaint with my online booking service about this facility.

Room Tip: Check-in and Check-out staff uncaring and will place you anywhere without disclosing problem areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeMonterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Travelodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for our review. I am terribly sorry you did not sleep well during your stay with us. I understand the frustrations of stays away from home disturbing your sleep. My staff informed me of your frustrations, and they assure me they did not mean to sound unsympathetic. I hope despite noises disturbing your sleep, your room was clean and comfortable. I apologize for the pet area. We do our best to make sure our guests clean up after their pets. I will take measures to make sure we do a better job following up. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 56 in Monterey
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Property: Monterey Bay Travelodge
Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing