We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Richland
2 reviews
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights July 2014. Rooms very small and dated. No AC which made the rooms hot and stuffy. No screens on sliding door so we didn't want to leave it open for airflow. Front desk was able to provide a fan which helped. After the first night, we went to the aquarium all day and returned at 2:30pm. Our room had not been serviced. I called the front desk and was informed that the housekeepers were on their lunch break and she would notify them when they returned. Took the kids to the very nice pool and returned to the room at 4:10 to find that the room had still not been serviced. I went to the front desk and spoke with the assistant manager who informed me that I had to request early service to have my room serviced in the morning. I didn't realize the 2:30 in the afternoon was considered early service. The assistant manager called the housekeeping supervisor and had the room cleaned within 30 minutes. She stated that they had 75 checkouts that day and had to clean those first. Apparently guests staying more than 1 night had to receive
inferior service because of that. Overall I was not pleased with my stay and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walk770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    374
    299
    139
    113
See reviews for
465
300
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I feel like Monterey isn't the place to get bang for your buck when it comes to hotels. This place is pretty average for its price considering the location. It's about up to par with most of the other budget hotels in the area, which is to say it's just ok. Clean enough...quiet enough...nothing special...nothing terrible. TV quality is pretty bad, although if you're in Monterey hopefully you aren't watching TV all day. No AC, but they did bring us a fan which was nice. Decent pool, OK bed, and not too far a drive from downtown and cannery row.

Free parking and free Internet is a plus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly I think people complain about the smallest things. I read the other reviews, decided to stay here, and glad I did. The pool is very nice and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are large, clean, and private. There was a free breakfast, free parking, and free wifi. The wifi was a little slow, but it was free so who can complain? If you put the price and the quality together, you got yourself a great hotel to stay at.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This review is for the Travelodge on Fremont Street, NOT the one without any parking in downtown Monterey. There was some confusion when first arriving in town. This Travelodge had plenty of parking and is conveniently located near downtown without being smack dab in the middle of it. Room was big, mini-fridge & microwave were convenient, TV was huge, all basic amenities met. A solid hotel, good deal on price, very nice staff, and rooms are undergoing upgrades that should make it even better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for one night only during the Big Sur Half Marathon weekend, and found the room to be quite comfortable. We didn't necessarily have high expectations of a Travelodge, but were pleasantly surprised at how clean and large the room was. Room was also located on the backside of the hotel so was quiet, which was a must for a good night’s rest prior to the race. Overall great value and would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I read all of the reviews before booking the deal to stay at this particular Travelodge. Although there were many mixed reviews, I thought the place was pleasant. The staff was entirely accommodating, very knowledgeable about what to do in the area and was able to provide 24 hour service. The room itself was surprisingly cozy, the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and fully stocked with everything I needed. My only complaint was the pressure of the shower was a little too harsh. Overall I had a good experience and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacaville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I checked in a little after 10 p.m. Front desk clerk was very nice, then told me after giving me my room key that the room phones and the Wi-fi were temporarily down, due to upgrades. I would have NEVER booked knowing this information alone. She said the Wi-fi only worked in the business center and the lobby, which explained the overly crowded lobby. Lol! The room... stain of some sort on one of the blankets on the bed. No air conditioner, super small bathroom, plumbing a little shady. Thought every time I flushed the toilet it would overflow. To conserve energy, the refrigerator was turned off, so no need in thinking I was going to keep our drinks cold. I was told when booking the room that I could have a late checkout (12pm). After using my cell phone to call the front desk to let them know, the man acted like I couldn't do it and sounded frustrated Asking me "well, what time did you want to check out?" I said, "12" and he said, "okay, it can't be any later than that" I replied, "Thank you" and he hung up on me. Nice. So, the room served its purpose in giving me a place to sleep but no, I wont come back. Breakfast=bagels, sliced muffins, bread, boiled eggs, cereal (non-sugar), bananas, apples, orange juice, and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzcross1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 56 in Monterey
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Property: Monterey Bay Travelodge
Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing