We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing clean well run”
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing clean well run”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a well run and modern small inn in monterey. Very well run and located close to everything the owners are on site and are very pleasant and helpful. You will enjoy you stay here. This is very close to the beach lots of restaurants and downtown

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra Rocio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sandra:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    375
    109
    28
    16
See reviews for
222
430
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here after a wedding and went downtown after, only a mile from downtown! This hotel was very quite and in a perfect location. The bedding was very nice and comfortable, best pillows I've slept on!! Bathroom is all granite which is really nice and they had a flat screen TV and mini fridge and microwave. Overall really great hotel at a really great price!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97kelseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Kelsey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed twice this summer and fall. All consideration to guests are evident in their approach to managing the motel consistent with the profitability for the owners. While there in the fall renovations centered around rebuilding the parking area and repainting. Not one time during our visit was there any inconvenience to us or other guests. planning, conducting renovation and overseeing it was evident.
The facility itself is clean, well decorated, furnished and maintained. The beds were comfortable. We liked the safe in the room, having updated refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The motel is so close to all the attractions in Monterey and environs, but without the congestion of other motel locations. Basic breakfast included a good start on the day. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get near the dispensers on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Jack:

Thank you for your positive review. A Double Thank You and a Fist Bump for staying with us again! And a High Five for leaving us a Perfect Score Review! You Rock! Well, we are very honored with your kindness and would love to host you again.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston salem
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Booked at a good rate for a personal visit to Monterey. Room was clean and looked recently updated. Everything worked and beds were comfortable. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. While we were there we saw maintenance people renovating other rooms. Property is well taken care of by the owners. We will stay there again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This motel is very clean and well maintained. For a OK price, we got a quiet room. We wanted to extend the stay but couldn't because it was fully booked next day, so the place is quite successful. Anyhow the staff said that the price next day would have been around $140, which I found outrageous. This is good option for a overnight stay, as long as the price don;t creep over $80.

The location is near the highway, but not a bit of noise in the hotel. The surroundings are neither interesting nor beautiful, but in a few minutes straight driving you get to downtown Monterey.

Breakfast could be improved. Very small eating area, and not a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our journey down Highway 1. Great value, everything we needed - clean room, comfy bed, wireless and walking distance to Fisherman's wharf/Cannery row (10-15 minutes which suited us after a day in and out of the car). Basic breakfast included in the price. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My fiance and I stayed here last night as a part of our 2 1/2 week road trip of the US. Stagecoach Lodge is clean and conveniently located near downtown. Yes, you do have to walk 15-20 minutes to get to downtown/fisherman's wharf, but come on.. it's a nice walk! Also, you can pass through the neighborhoods and see the cute little houses. The staff were friendly. The breakfast might not be anything special, but I guess that's to be expected for the type of lodging that it is.Otherwise, this place does the trick and is very reasonable in terms of price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_gupta731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Property: Stage Coach Lodge
Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing