We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy couple :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy couple :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We took a mini vaca midweek in Monterey, and were on a budget. This place was one of the cheapest we could find here, and due to the already good reviews, we decided to try it. We are VERY pleased! It has been recently renovated, is very clean and the rooms are pretty spacious. The bathroom is big and all nicely tiled and finished. The bed was not the most comfortable, but that's just personal taste. We only paid $65 a night for a standard King room. Seeing some of the other hotels and their prices, I feel like we found a great deal. It's not right on the water, but we could easily walk to Fisherman's Wharf (10 mins) and Cannery Row (20 mins). As other reviews mention, their continental breakfast leaves much to be desired, but for the price we paid for the room, I have no complaints. The property is very nicely landscaped, and I really didn't feel like I was staying in some cheap motel. We didn't deal much with staff other than at check - in and out, but they were friendly. This place wasn't real close to any restaurants or shopping, but we had a car, so that was a non issue for us. I would absolutely recommend Stagecoach Inn to friends and family. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amalamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest:

We’re glad you stayed with us on your mini vacation to Monterey. We look forward to having you back again.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family! We welcome them too!

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    359
    107
    27
    16
See reviews for
207
415
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found this hotel through reviews on Trip Advisor. You can't beat the price of the hotel given the rooms provided. The rooms are big and very clean with a fridge, microwave, free internet, safe, newly renovated bathroom in a relatively quiet residential area.

It was at most a 25 minute walk to The Wharf (restaurants and shops). And we found getting elsewhere in Monterey was straightforward (a Garmin in use).

Front desk staff was welcoming and helpful.

Some reviews have mentioned the limited breakfast. For us, it was just fine. Cereal, coffee/tea, toast, muffins, juices, apples and oranges. The breakfast area has two tables and a breakfast bar -- they also provide trays if you want to take breakfast back to your room.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room on the 2nd floor and away from the road to ensure a quieter night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

I’m glad that what you found on tripadvisor was accurate and we met your expectations!
Hope you enjoyed your visit to Monterey and hope to see you again.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

There's really nothing to complain about this hotel. Considering the price you would expect a motel that's a little rundown, but that is not the case. Our room was large, clean and recently remodeled. Staff was fine too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest:

I’m so happy you wrote us with no complaints. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula. The Stage Coach Lodge offers easy access to the various tourist attractions located in and around the Peninsula with newly remodeled air-conditioned hotel rooms

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had a hard time finding it but once we did we loved the place!! Very clean and looked like it was remodeled and was decorated nice!! TV on the wall too! Was quiet and had no problems. Close to the warf which we love to go to I would stay there again. Make sure you try the sand which shop down the street. Good food!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Classyladymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest:

We’re glad you found us and enjoyed your stay here. I’m glad our hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a perfect review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge!

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

We look forward to seeing you again,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We got here thru booking. Com
Great place, clean, good value for money. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the hot water. It was warm but not warm enough. Also the continental breakfast was mediocre. We would still stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitznaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge

I hope that you notified our staff of your water issue. Guests deserve a nice hot shower in the morning!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked the hotel based on reviews and I am glad I did. This hotel is great. We stayed in the King Suite for 1 night and I can not complain about one thing. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, noise level was low. It is close to fishermans wharf and all the main attractions. They have breakfast in the morning which consist of orange juice, coffee, muffins, cereal, the basics. The eating area which is located at the front desk is really small but we went out for breakfast so that did not bother us. The management were friendly did not make a lot of conversation but they were sweet. Overall we had a nice stay and we will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vee_B1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest:

We are so glad you stayed with us. We are excited to receive your perfect review.

We here at the Stage Coach look forward to your many returns.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I found this hotel on Booking.com. It was a little far (I thought) from everything but the price was fantastic for a Saturday night. We loved everything about this place except the breakfast. The room was clean, the front desk guy was very nice and friendly, and it is very close to everything. Anywhere we needed to be was less that 10 min away by car but also, if you have the time, a lot of it was also withing walking distance.

The breakfast was very ordinary but that's okay, there is a nice cafe right down the street.

Great place to stay and we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: This hotel in on Tenth Street and can be tricky. It is an immediate left once you get to Camino Agu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handtalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Come see us again soon!

Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.7 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Property: Stage Coach Lodge
Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing