We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise, Large Clean Rooms”
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise, Large Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Stage Coach and were very impressed how clean and updated everything was. The room was large and other than some carpet that needed cleaning by the door, it was very nicely updated and had everything we needed. The bathroom was large and must have just been completely remodeled with nice materials. The room had a king bed, a table with 2 chairs and a desk with chair.... and two artificial green plants :). The bed did not feel real soft, but we both slept well. The AC/heat worked well and was not loud. Don't plan on breakfast here unless you are into the most basic of continental breakfasts and they start it late. You can have the best breakfast in town and probably lunch with the money you will save by staying here. There are no restaurants real close to the hotel. The have a fenced parking lot and a very small pool. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the Wharf and a little longer to Cannery Row or a 5 minute drive. The clerk will show you how to walk there, the cartoon maps that are everywhere are a little misleading.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    382
    115
    28
    16
See reviews for
235
439
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This motel is everything the reviews I read prior to booking said it would be. We were met by a friendly helpful staff member at check in, the room was large and immaculate, the bathroom was possibly the cleanest most updated of any motel I've ever stayed in, at any price and appeared to be freshly remodeled. The office/lobby/breakfast room was newly updated and nicely decorated and welcoming. There's a clean pool. The room also includes a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. The TV was nice and there's a bedside clock. We barely heard any neighbors, parking lot or traffic noise, the location of the room was perfect, even with the window open all we noticed was a gentle breeze. The location couldn't be better, it's walking distance to downtown Monterey, and only a quick 5 minutes by car. I liked that it was off the main "motel row", much quieter and less trafficked. All together, would never stay elsewhere on a future visit now that we've discovered this treasure.

Room Tip: We had #11, upstairs in the back corner where the two wings come together. The only room that doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herpoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for one night and found the whole place to be clean and well maintained. This is definitely VFM compared with other motels we stayed at. The proprietors are friendly, the bed comfortable and the towels fairly new. Would recommend for overnight stops or short stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Hugh:

Thank you for choosing the Monterey Stage Coach Lodge for your visit to the Monterey Bay Peninsula.

We’re glad you found us to be a good value lodge and comfortable stay.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Look forward to seeing you again!
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed two nights on the weekend in March. Proprietors were very friendly, helpful and joked with us at check in.

Kudos for a clean room! The beds were comfortable. Coffeemaker, mini fridge/freezer and microwave all came in handy. We didn't need to use the iron/board but it was available. The rooms have A/C and heating in the unit located under the windows.

The continental breakfast was fresh and very tidy from 8:00 - 9:30 AM. The entire motel appears to have been recently remodeled, new windows, exterior paint, interior paint and trim, etc. The pool was full and clean, although we did not use it.

Toilets have a quick power flush. Shower has adjustable head and we had plenty of hot/warm water while showering. Ice maker and laundry are on site in a designated room. We conveniently parked right outside our first floor room 103.

I stayed with a sister for a girl's meet up. She snores so I wore ear plugs and never heard her or any other noise for that matter. Slept well. Our room had two double beds and one side chair by the round table. Another sister stayed in room 109 down the hall, which was equally as nice as ours. Hers had a king bed and two chairs by the table.

Typical motel pillows are "dense," but I brought one of my own from home, which helped my shoulder/neck region. An extra bath towel or two would have been beneficial for wet hair after a shower.

Room Tip: No elevator for rooms upstairs. Also, we noticed pizza delivery that came to a guest room. Cool, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHPHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us on you “girl’s meet up”. We were happy to host you.

We appreciate your thorough review that you have left. It helps others plan their trips to our area.

I always bring my own pillow too, I’m only disappointed when I leave it behind :(

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor and save even more!

Look forward to seeing you on your next retreat!

Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Daytona, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean, convenient to everything, extremely affordable! We were pleasantly surprised for a budget motel. About the only sort-of thing I can say about the room was that the blanket on the bed was wearing thin in several places...but it was clean! We stayed 2 nights on our trip down the PCH. Although nicely updated, this an older motel, and the walls and floors are paper thin. Fortunately, they didn't seem to be completely booked, so we had no one next door. But the first night, we did have someone above us, and while they may not have felt they were talking loudly or that their walking and dropping of things would cause such a disturbance, it really did. But a quick call to the owner, plus a holler up from my husband, had them quieted down quickly. No noise the second night. Maybe opt for an upstairs room if you can handle a flight of stairs. We did not do breakfast there, as it started a bit late for us...but that was just fine as there are good breakfast options in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsEasterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

the pictures don't look like the room we stayed in at all! the wifi was pretty good but cut out a lot. location was good especially if you have a car everything is pretty much within 5 minutes of you. monterey is beautiful and really nice stop for a night if you are driving to LAX or from LAX to San Fran. This place had everything we needed a comfy bed and TV to watch the olympics at night (just the relaxing night we wanted)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Georgia:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

We’re pleased to hear that you were comfortable and relaxed! Hope you enjoyed your visit to Monterey and hope to see you again.

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We took a mini vaca midweek in Monterey, and were on a budget. This place was one of the cheapest we could find here, and due to the already good reviews, we decided to try it. We are VERY pleased! It has been recently renovated, is very clean and the rooms are pretty spacious. The bathroom is big and all nicely tiled and finished. The bed was not the most comfortable, but that's just personal taste. We only paid $65 a night for a standard King room. Seeing some of the other hotels and their prices, I feel like we found a great deal. It's not right on the water, but we could easily walk to Fisherman's Wharf (10 mins) and Cannery Row (20 mins). As other reviews mention, their continental breakfast leaves much to be desired, but for the price we paid for the room, I have no complaints. The property is very nicely landscaped, and I really didn't feel like I was staying in some cheap motel. We didn't deal much with staff other than at check - in and out, but they were friendly. This place wasn't real close to any restaurants or shopping, but we had a car, so that was a non issue for us. I would absolutely recommend Stagecoach Inn to friends and family. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amalamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest:

We’re glad you stayed with us on your mini vacation to Monterey. We look forward to having you back again.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay at Monterey Stage Coach Lodge.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family! We welcome them too!

Next time book direct with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter Promo Code: tripadvisor to find our lowest rates and save even more!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.3 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Property: Stage Coach Lodge
Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing