We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stage Coach Lodge
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My 12 year old son and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was very clean and very quiet (I LOVED the quiet). The location is convenient to the highway, right off of Rt 1 and close to the fisherman pier. Although they do include a breakfast it's important to note it's only served 8-9:30. I usually choose hotels that have breakfast to save us some time and a bit of money. We were never able to try the breakfast as both mornings we had to be on the road before 8:00a.m. It was not a big deal, we just had to grab something somewhere else, but I did want to point it out for those of you who plan on it. I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel that started breakfast so late...but since I'm not a morning person myself I can understand..LOL!

Aside from that the place was great and so was the price! I fell in love with Monterey, what a beautiful area so hopefully will be back again in the future. I'd recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendypics6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    360
    107
    27
    16
See reviews for
207
417
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was perfect for us. We stayed for ten days in April, visiting family. Clean, quiet, spacious room, great price. Staff was very accommodating. We had a 1:00 am arrival so staff made arrangements that we let ourselves into the room, then checked us in the morning. Bathroom was a surprise, solid granite. Convenient location, walking distance to wharf etc. We'll stay again, and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMitt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Mitt:

I wanted to thank you for your review and also for staying with us for 10 days! Your review is neat because readers will get a great taste of what our real hospitality is considering you stayed for such a long term. We aim to make The Stage Coach Lodge the place to stay when visiting Monterey for folks who look for the comforts of home at a budget, and your review certainly highlights this.

Please do spread the word. Come back and see us again and next time book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com.

Thanks,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel was clean, nice bathroom, and room fairly spacious, but it was the small things that let it down.
Uncomfortable pillows
Worn bedspreads, one was stained with, what looked like nail varnish?
Very watery coffee, was undrinkable, and using paper plates and plastic cutlery at breakfast seemed cheap, though food on offer was ok.
Staff on the desk seemed a little indifferent to us, no offer of help on what to see or do in the area etc
The walk to Monterey bay was around 15 mins, another 15 mins to Cannery row, hotel is in a quiet residential location, so no issues with noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorksTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest:

I wanted to take the time to thank you for your stay and review and address your concerns with an apology. We've gotten a few complaints about our bedding and we're listening. We are replacing all of our furnishings in the coming weeks. The next time you come stay with us you are going to be astonished with our new bedding.

Please do visit us again this Summer so we can demonstrate the true value of staying at The Stage Coach Lodge. Book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates.

Thank You!

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were in a "double double" room and I thought the overall size of the room was quite large (for a hotel). The bathroom was also a good size (the tub/shower did not feel cramped at all). The property looked well-maintained and the rooms were clean. I think the actual room looked like the pictures on the website. The in-room refrigerator was a good size and the little freezer compartment actually worked well enough to keep our blue-ice packs frozen. The mattresses and pillows were about what I expected from a hotel (not very comfortable but I slept well enough). The continental breakfast ran from 8-10 AM and was pretty good. It's set up in the front office, next to the check-in counter. They had everything set up and opened the door promptly at 8:00 AM both mornings we were there. They offered apples, oranges, white and wheat bread for toasting, 4 varieties of danish (cheese, apple, lemon, and cherry), 3 or 4 varieties of smaller muffins (blueberry, cinnamon-sugar, banana-nut, and I think there may have been a bran muffin), 2 types of cereal (Cap'n Crunch, and Raisin Bran), milk (I think it was 2%), coffee, and 3 or 4 kinds of juice (apple, orange, cranberry, and another one I can't remember because my kids just wanted apple and orange anyway). The seating area was quite small and it was difficult to move around once people started showing up, but they provide trays so we took our food back to our room. They did a good job at keeping the food stocked and the food itself was good (no better or worse in quality to what you may find in the bakery at Safeway or similar grocery store). It was a very short drive to the aquarium and Cannery Row.

Green Features: They had a trash can and a separate can for recycling in the rooms, which was nice. They did have the signs saying to hang up towels you'll be using again and leave towels you want replaced on the floor. However, we hung up our towels and they replaced them all anyway.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Lauren:

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for leaving such a strong review. i wish I could do a high five AND a fist bump! We appreciate the frank positive review. We work really hard to set The Stage Coach Lodge apart from the fray in Monterey. As you can see from our top ten ranking amongst the Big Boys in town, we like to believe that we are battling on value, quality and service and you really helped highlight this in your review, so Thank You!

We would love to host you again. Book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and use the promo code: TripAdvisor to save a handful of pings. See you again.

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked this place because it offered a better value and we did not want to stay on the midst of all the tourist places. Frankly it was very clean and fairly quiet. As an older building it did not have the space to put on a top level breakfast with room to eat, but trays were provided and we just took our stuff up to the room. Bathrooms were in good shape and it had a nice powerful showerhead..

I could easily prate this place a 4 or even a 5 but for one thing---the pillows.
The beds were equipped with two of the cheapest excuses for pillows known to man. Use two of them and it was like sleeping on a 4x12. Use one and it was like sleeping on a 2x12.

My total bad night of sleep and subsequent sore neck the next day were completely at the fault of these Oero thick excuses for pillows.

HEY! RAISE THE RATES $5 BUCKS A NIGHT AND BUY SOME DECENT ONES!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Bribear:

Shucks! I'm so disappointed that we missed another 4 or 5 score review! I get what you are saying and I am sorry. We are actually replacing all of our furniture in the coming weeks to really take our hotel to the next level, so I hope you come back to enjoy the new furniture, and yes, we are replacing some of our bedding, too. The Stage Coach Lodge is going to be The Place to Stay in Monterey, I promise you this and next time we will have a King Sized Bed and Fluffy Pillows fit for a King!

Do come visit us again this Summer and book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com. Use the promo code: tripadvisor to book your stay at the lowest rates online.

Thanks,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked this hotel to save a little money on our vacation to CA. It's a simple hotel near Fisherman's Wharf, but we walk everywhere, so it may not be walkable to most. We walked to the Presidio, Cannery Row and all around. The hotel is simple and the old motel style. The room was fine and looked to be somewhat updated. The bathroom was nice, there was a fridge, and a microwave. We didn't try the breakfast, as there wasn't much there. My only complaint was the bedspread should be replaced and the coffee made stronger--it was very, very watery.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that faced the backs of houses, which was nice, since most of the rooms seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raeumlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a clean, comfortable and spacious room. Motel is close to highway - easy to find but surprisingly little noise. Ideal accommodation for us; best bathroom we've encountered. Very happy we could book an extra night! 15 min. level and very pleasant walk into Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Roger:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your candid positive review. To be highly recommended is very flattering. We're working hard to create the ideal place to stay in Monterey--a quaint, affordable, hotel that offers a great location and memorable experience.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, book direct with us on own website to find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.7 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Property: Stage Coach Lodge
Address: 1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing