We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great stay”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Great stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Our check in was quick and easy. The room was amazingly clean. Little noise from other rooms or the street. We had 2 issues that were taken care of promptly and cheerfully. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The price was reasonable, and the location was very convenient to the freeway and the downtown. I can say with a 100% certainty, we will book a stay there again when we are in Monterey.

Room Tip: Room 28 with in room bath jacuzzi was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    87
    29
    30
See reviews for
82
184
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I would stay here again. The room is clean, kind of old but clean. These are like small cottages that are pressed together with a thin piece of drywall. My microwave didn't work, stuck on pause, weird. I stayed two days and overall it was a bland experience, this isn't somewhere I would take a date, but for someone riding solo, go for it, it's a good deal for mild accommodations. But, the parking is atrocious. Get insurance you rental before parking here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I've done a cancel on it's website but no confirmation by email was received.

One day latter I called them, someone from M.S.I was very kind giving me quickly my cancellation number , by phone.

Some improvement on it's website would be better.

Reservation Number : 69223 / Cancellation Number : 29700

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights it is in a good position for the motorway to take you to LA.
It is a small place but is good value for money and the breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 123doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The positive factors were that it has a good location and a fair price....however, the hotel is waaaay too noisy. Got very little sleep because of the plumbing---every time a neighbor turns on the water, it drowns out a conversation or wakes you up. The doors creak so loud it sounds like someone is coming into your room. My wife sat up in bed one night because it scared her.Plus when people shut their car doors or lock their cars from a remote, the cars beep.So thats up to 20 cars beeping all night.Plus conversations outside your window. The room stunk like an aquarium. The lobby stunk. The breakfast was very basic, enough to keep you from starving. Some of the staff was friendly, others not. Oh and did i mention the wi-fi is unreliable? Had to go the Starbucks to check on important e-mail. They will start vaccuuming at 8am, so hope you got some sleep the night before...not us. The motel would be okay for a heavy sleeper for a quick stay, the room itself was okay, not dirty but not squeaky clean. The road noise contributed to the problem. NOT recommended !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenS245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is small..maybe 28 rooms, but comes with free parking and light breakfast. The rooms are excellent and priced right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Clean rooms, poor breakfast with not enough places to sit.
Front desk not friendly

Room Tip: We spent 2 nights, clean rooms but poor breakfast and not friendly front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
0.4 mi away
Villa Franca Inn
Villa Franca Inn
#32 of 56 in Monterey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing