We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

In summer last year, during a trip on around California, we stayed at this motel for a one-night stop. The room wasn't huge, but reasonably sized for three people, and it was clean. Due to the weather, we didn't have the chance to try the pool, but the free-breakfast in the morning was definitely a good day-starter. Considering that the price was around $60, it was surely worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    157
    86
    27
    30
See reviews for
81
176
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

After staying at a bad hotel we decided to try this one. It had good marks on here so it was worth a try. The cost was the top thing about it that also made us try it. We thought the room was good, a bit small but adequate. It looked recently renovated. New can lights in the ceilings, new TV, new beds, paint, crown molding, etc… I think the owners son or relative did the remodel though since the sink barely worked and the door to the bathroom opened all cock-eyed. But other than that it was a great room especially since we didn’t pay that much. So it gets a big thumbs up from us. If you want a room and don’t need a view of the ocean, etc, then this place is great. Great service too. Very nice people.

Room Tip: Try to get a room farther from the road, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plnrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Late last year on our trip along the Californian coasty we stayed at this property. we looked it up online the day we arrived into Monterey and i believe we got it for around $50 for the night!!!! OUTSTANDING value for money as we wanted a nice clean bed and cot for our 11 month old son. Its exactly whet we needed on our Road Trip!!!! They do offer Breakfast but we hit the road early and got going before it was avaiable. Great Spot!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikhutch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in late August on the third leg of our trip to Calf. Coast. We read the reviews and it seemed "safe" to stay for 2 days. We got there and our room was not ready, nowhere near ready. We left and returned later and it was still not ready. When we finally checked in the cleaning woman was just leaving. The room was clean but very dated. Don't believe the pics, the pool is a mess, the office was dingy with a few doughnuts and coffee for a continental breakfast. The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny, and the carpet was worn. The location was good. We were right off the highway(RT.1) and the waterfront was easily accessible. We enjoyed the wharf, and Cannery Row. El Torito has a bangin appetizer and drink special each evening. Access to Rt. 1 was fantastic. The ride to Pebble Beach is definitely worth the seven clams it cost us. The views and scenery were amazing. We drove the coast down Rt. 1 to Big Sur and beyond. The views are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddyg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I risk to say this is one of the best motels I have ever stayed so far. The room was clean, smelled good, there was no dust behind the bed side table (oh yes, I am picky!) and there was a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer and - ladies, look at this - a little mirror for make-up, which many 5 star hotels don't have!
The bathroom smelled like sanitizer and looked extremely clean. The shower had a lot of pressure, which seemed more like the Niagara falls! Great for a massage!
The breakfast is simple, but the ingredients are fresh and keep being refilled even until it's over, by 9am. The mini muffins are delicious. There are no chairs or tables, but there are trays that you may use to take the food to your room.
There's a heated swimming pool which we didn't use, but it looks nice, surrounded by flowers.
I would definately stay here again and I recommend you not to look anywhere else! This place is amazing and we also must take into account its price, very cheap for everything it offers.
Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was concerned that with the price that was offered meant the hotel was a dump...BUT for what I got the price was amazing and I was pleasantly surprised!!!! The staff was friendly and answered all of my questions. It is about 1.3 miles from Fisherman's Wharf and about 3.5 miles from Carmel...perfectly located and priced. The king size room has a HUGE jacuzzi tub in the room, there are hardwood floors, the water pressure was great, and bathroom was well lite. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desiree f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

All the basics are there, location is good. Near to the shoppingmall and highway. Water pressure was high!
There is breakfast, but there is no space for four persons. We went to Subway in the shoppingmall to buy some sandwiches.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#29 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing