We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I paid $45 a night for 2 nights, need I say more? I'm a little OCD about hotel cleanliness, the room was fine. It was no frills, no soaps/shampoos, very simple but clean and for that price can you ask for more? There was a fridge and microwave in the room, they had a small breakfast of cereal/coffee in the morning. It was a 10 minute drive from Cannery Row/Monterey Aquarium. The lady at the desk wasn't super helpful, but we didn't need much from her after check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    157
    82
    26
    28
See reviews for
81
172
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Locate in the heart of the monterey peninsula, this hotel has a good cost benefit and can be a great choice either to get to monterey, carmel or santa cruz. Has good confort in its rooms and a spacious parking lot. Breakfest is simple but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielfcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night on a Saturday. The location was not too far from downtown. Check in was quick and easy. The room was nice - flat screen tv, comfortable bed, soft sheets. Everything was clean and the furniture seemed new. The continental breakfast in the morning was convenient and just enough for a quick snack before checking out. We'll stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krstymsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great budget motel. We stayed for 1 night passing through Monterey. it is located on the main road but no problems with noise. The price was cheap, room & bathroom basic but large and clean. Free parking. if you are looking for a cheap place for a night or 2 and aren't too fussed for anything fancy.. this is great. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I booked this hotel for a Saturday night for 2 queen beds and later changed my booking to a room with a single king. In the process I inadvertently changed the date to Friday. I was shocked and concerned when I came into town late Saturday night to find I had no room on a holiday weekend. I contacted the desk who was unable to assist at the time as the manager was out until 9pm. I later received a voicemail stating I had indeed booked for the wrong night, I was being charged for the no-show and to call back so they could assist with one of their sister properties in the area. I called back and nobody answered so I was forced to take the first room I could find anywhere else in town. Booking.com later contacted them and they apparently refused to refund the no show fee rather than credit it towards another night.

Needless to say I'm dissatisfied and will avoid them in the future out of principal. I hope they enjoy the no-show fee as it's the last dollar they'll get from me.

Room Tip: Don't make a mistake when booking, they're unwilling to compromise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

After a trip from San Francisco down Highway 1 to Monterey, we stayed here on December 25th. No hassles what-so-ever, very helpful and courteous service. Extremely cheap for what you receive. Comfy beds in a decent sized room. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was refreshing. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. For the price, you absolutely cannot beat this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyesfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereysurfinn, Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

In summer last year, during a trip on around California, we stayed at this motel for a one-night stop. The room wasn't huge, but reasonably sized for three people, and it was clean. Due to the weather, we didn't have the chance to try the pool, but the free-breakfast in the morning was definitely a good day-starter. Considering that the price was around $60, it was surely worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#48 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing