We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, free breakfast. Flat screen tv in room, very nice bathroom with vanity. Clean shower, comfy bed. Would definitely stay again next time I'm in Monterey. Not gonna find a better place for that price. Great coffee too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomhudson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Surf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Overpriced bare bones motel.! Small dark room with dark rugs and older bed covers. No coffee pot, bathroom very tiny with shower and toilet; sink was in room. No extras, just a couple of bars of soap. Room was clean but had strong odor. Moldy tile on floor by shower. Overhead lighting only, no lamps, Could barely walk around. With bed so close to air conditioner, it became too cold to run and noisy. Although expected higher rate for summer, paid $412 for two nights (booking rate was $359). Outside surroundings nice. Did not use pool nor did it appear anyone else was. No breakfast and you have to go to office to get coffee - available for two hours. Beds were okay. Usually stay elsewhere in Monterey. Would never book this motel again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I like the hotel the service was good the inside of our room was clean its walking distance to the mall.there was no noise problems.the pool was not heated but clean.it's a good price hotel will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunnerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm exhausted writing this review. The motel itself is bare bones. Paid over $200 for one night for a hotel you would never expect to pay more than $75. Monterey is a beautiful place and obviously I paid to be here in the summer. The room had a strong odor of chemicals. The bed covers must be several years old and the carpet looks like it has been around a long time. The worst of it was the noise. People were outside partying until almost 4 in the morning. Management was unresponsive. Unfortunately I get to go through the day with little sleep. Truly my worst experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Cheap motel, nothing else.
The room stinked of pesticides and was not very tempting.
It stated breakfast included, which was untrue...
It is located close to a busy road, so the pace is quite noisy as well...
Avoid this motel if you have another choice.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked this due to online reviews but were not real impressed. The bed was comfortable but the room smelled of smoke (there was a large ashtray just outside our door and a constant gathering of "smokers") so we kept the (noisy) a/c on in an attempt to clear the smell. The room was clean - except for a bar of "used" soap in the shower - however the furnishings and bedspread could all use updating. We never used the microwave and the refrigerator is behind a cabinet door (that should have been hinged on the opposite side) making it awkward to open. We did see some "silverfish" on the floor as were as we were packing to come home ... Don't think we'll be returning ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynnfromsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am giving it 2 out of 5 because the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the shower was good. However it was on a very busy road, which made it difficult to sleep. The room smelled strongly of a disinfectant cleaning solution when we arrived. It was difficult to ventilate the room, especially since the fan in the bathroom was not working. The TV was not working either. I tried to alert the staff to these problems and get them fixed, but nobody ever answered the bell in reception. I booked the hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews, but found i did not agree with them. I was surprised it got such a good rating, especially for being "reasonably priced." I did not think it was reasonably priced at $150 a night, but maybe Monterey is very overpriced now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#48 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £44 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing