We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Cameron Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds. They have hardwood flooring in the rooms that make it much cleaner. This is an old motel that has been fixed up. for the price, I would stay again!
There is no coffee in the rooms, but the have some in the lobby in the am.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank janelleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    162
    88
    29
    30
See reviews for
83
185
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We paid $100 for one night at at this motel and this was least expensive that I could find as everything else was sold out. Motel has lovely grounds, nice pool, owners are super friendly and accommodating and property is well taken care of. Our room had 2 beds, fridge and microwave, it was nicely decorated and clean. It's right by the road so it's a bit noisy but we didn't hear anything during the night, we slept like babies. In the morning I asked the owner if he could refill my water bottles and he gave me 2 bottles of water for free. That was nice of him.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeletoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We paid a little more because it was the holiday weekend, but it looks like the rates are a great deal for off peak times. And as others have reviewed, you will be pleasantly surprised with what you get for the money. Our room was small which was a king without the in room spa tub. Those rooms may be a bigger. The refrigerator was a good size, but was turned off, so make sure to turn it on when you get there if you're going to use it. We tried to switch to a different room so my mother-in-law could come with us, but they were sold out and they told us if we showed up with a third person they wouldn't honor our reservation. Glad I asked! But I wouldn't have tried to share a king room with my MIL, even though she's great. I think they try to avoid the partiers by imposing that rule. It's worth the money - especially if you're not going to be in the room that much, but instead out enjoying beautiful Monterey!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travelinmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porters Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The rooms are very clean, updated, and provide all the essentials and even some non-essentials, i.e. refrigerator, microwave and hair dryer. We had booked through Orbitz and had selected a room with 2 double beds, we neglected to check our confirmation which did say King. When we saw the room had a king and there were 3 of us in the room, the owners graciously provided a nice thick pad and extra sheets, blanket and towel for a comfortable sleeping spot on the floor. All was well. The owners could not have been more gracious and accommodating. We haven't stayed in this style of "motel" for decades and it was all it needed to be.

Room Tip: It is one of many "motels" along a main road into downtown Monterey, so there is street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSKBWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ssf
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked a reservation through booking.com and called an hour before the check in to find out if they possibly had a room available already so I could drop off my stuff and head to big sur for the rest of the day. The "owner" as he said he was and don't believe that can be true was beyond rude and started yelling on the phone that that was not the check in time and hang up the phone on me. What? Seriously what just happened? I have never been through such experience. I travel quite often and never was treated this rudely. I'm horrified and embarrassed! Never should have been treated this way for asking if they had a room available. Shame on you Monterey Surf INN!!! The hotel looks nothing like the pictures also. It looks nasty to say the least which explains this kind of treatment. Avoid yourself a headache and stay some place else. There's tons of little nice hotels around.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good location situated just off Route 1 on way into Monterey - about 5 minutes from the Bay area.. The room was clean and modern with fridge, coffee making facilities and microwave. Big flat screen TV and the bed was very comfortable.

Water pressure a bit low at the hand basin. We were charged twice which we noticed when we returned home, but this was refunded without any problems. For a comfortable, clean budget accommodation, this is excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the worst hotel I have seen. The service was terrible. First of all there was never anyone at the front desk until we rang the bell. Secondly we were over-charged by their mistake even though they had the correct record of our reservation. The person was either totally absent-minded or trying to trick us. Thirdly the refrigerator in the room did not work at all. When we called for help, the lady answering our call refused to do anything to help. What was even worse was her attitude. She did not care and was rude. In the next morning when we complained about the refrigerator again, she insisted that we did not know how to use it, totally ignoring what we said about why we were sure that it did not work. (If she really believed that we did not know how to use it, she could have showed it to us the day before.) In addition, the wifi signal was very weak and extremely slow. We had to go to a particular corner in the room to get any signal. When we mentioned this problem to the lady at the front desk, she just said OK, like it was none of her business. There were many other minor problems. For instance the towels in our room were not in complete sets and folded in a sloppy way. The mirror in the restroom looked like it could fall off any minute. We must have tried over 50 hotels/motels in the past and this is the worst.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pei-Ming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
178 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#24 of 56 in Monterey
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing